We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hospitality ever!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Tenoch

Tenoch
933 Saint Clair Avenue West, Toronto, Ontario M6C 1C7 , Canada
(647)345-0165
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,833 of 6,781 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Worst hospitality ever!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Restaurant was packed and there were no tables. We were just told to leave as they were really busy. Poor manners and we felt very unwelcomed. Didn't even offer to put us on a wait list!! Not worth the trip to this spot! Rincon Mexicano is a better place with more friendly staff

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port colborne
1 review
“amazing authentic Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

I had the chorizo con huevo torta and my friend enjoyed enchiladas verdes. Mine was so good and huge thatt I got more than one meal out of it. They were out of horchata but that goes to speak for how popular it was. I could not find authentic horchata in all of Kensington market. Well worth the trip and worth every penny.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Tasty, authentic and affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had sort of a hard time finding a decent Mexican restaurant in Toronto. We didn't want the typical tex-mex-americanized menu. Several restaurants were recommended, we decided for Tenoch. What a nice surprise. The food was fresh and very tasty. Portions are generous and everything taste super fresh. Try the tamales, yummy. And the guacamole with chips, to die for. This place is a hidden gem

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best Authentic Mexican Restaurant in Toronto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

If you really want to have authentic tasty Mexican food in Toronto, you should definitely try Tenoch at St. Clair West and Oakwood.
Tenoch is a family run restaurant that at first sight does not have the greatest appearance but have some faith and wait to taste the food. Also be patience since the service is a bit slow, but the fact is that all the food is prepared fresh when order.
A good clue to assess that this is a great authentic Mexican restaurant is to look around at who's already seated and you'll find out that is almost all Mexicans. So, who's better to judge if a Mexican restaurant is good and authentic than a Mexican?
My self as a Mexican living in Toronto for the past 7 years have been looking for a good authentic Mexican Restaurant and got tired of being disappointed, until now!
You should try the tortas (huge Mexican sandwiches with lost of tasty ingredients), the carnitas (slow roasted pork), the pozole (corn and pork soup) and my favorite, the Chicharon Quesadilla. Believe me even if you are Mexican, you'll be surprised!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Real Mexican food on St. Clair West”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

I had dinner here solo at the bar. Tenoch is a small, family-run Mexican restaurant with a bar at St. Clair and Oakwood. The decor is classic Mexican neighbourhood restaurant that you would see in Phoenix, LA, etc. and this may turn off some Torontonians. Don't let the authentic environment stop you. The food is great and service friendly and attentive. I had the caldo de pollo, a tasty chicken soup loaded with real chicken breast meat and plenty of veggies. It was absolutely delicious. Then I had three carnitas: small tacos with slow roasted pork, a soft tortilla and ingredients on the side like chopped onion, cilantro, green chili salsa and red chili sauce. What a great meal! The service was very good at the bar, the same as at a table. I'll definitely be back to satisfy my next craving for authentic Mexican food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tenoch also viewed

 

Been to Tenoch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenoch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.