We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent steak; shame about the service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Keg Steakhouse & Bar

The Keg Steakhouse & Bar
927 Dixon Road, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
416-675-2311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 6,548 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Near the Toronto Airport (Pearson).
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent steak; shame about the service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

My colleagues highly recommended this restaurant and they know their steak! The scallops in bacon were good, the shrimp cocktail apparently better, but my prime rib was fabulous. I had it with a lobster tail and thoroughly enjoyed it. The service was okay in delivery with a pleasant waitress but she served from the passageway leading my colleagues to have to receive their plates themselves, rather than more properly serving at the table. The prime rib, however, could redeem anything!!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    74
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrying Place
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very ordinary Keg”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Food was fine but the decor is looking pretty tired. This Keg could use a makeover. Service was good and friendly. Convenient if you are staying at one of the airport hotels.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Keg experience to date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Staying at the Holiday Inn just down the road it was an easy 5 minute walk to this Keg.
It was refreshing to go to a restaurant that is not staffed by 20 somethings that have no clue how to treat a customer. Our server was friendly and efficient, top marks for her all around.
Myself and my collegues have been to several Keg's around the country. We were all in agreement that this was the best meal we had ever had at any Keg. We all had something different but it was all cooked to perfection...even the cocktails were excellent.
Judging from the reviews I think they hit the mark quite often. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Very popular - on a Monday night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Just across the road from the hotel, we dropped in without a reservation and were seated immediately, then the place just filled up completely, the pre-meal drink bar area was packed as were all the tables.
Good steaks and wine, no complaints there.
I thought the interior of the place itself was looking a bit worn, dark and dirty and needed a freshen up, but maybe this was due to the amount of diners that pass through.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Park, Washington
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great Experience - by recommendation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

There were eight of us and we all had excellent meals with very pleasant and efficient service throughout.

The steaks were awesome!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Keg Steakhouse & Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Keg Steakhouse & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Keg Steakhouse & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.