We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Japanese Style” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Guu SakaBar

Guu SakaBar
559 Bloor Street W, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #936 of 6,548 Restaurants in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Fun Japanese Style”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I happened to be at Guu SakaBaron Bloor St. West around lunch last week. The place is intriguing - it's really a Japanese bar, wooden tables and stools in the back, bar area and a typical Japanese seating dining room (low tables) in front. I had furai, mixed fried seafood, with condiments (katsu sauce, sweet mayonnaise, pink tartare), plus vegie miso soup. The food was excellent, very nicely done, and the atmosphere was pretty upbeat. One thing I wasn't keen on were the stools - they're small and rather narrow. It was a little difficult getting comfortable. GUU Saka Bar stands out Bloor West because it doesn't serve the same standard combo meals, same sushi plates as the half a dozen other Japanese restaurants in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    27
    5
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nassau, New Providence Island
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fun times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Guu is a really fun place to eat. The décor and general feeling is very trendy and modern and the food was excellent. The music is loud and it feels like you're eating in the middle of a rave party. My advice is just to roll with it and enjoy the vibrant atmosphere with some sake. You won't be able to have to much of an in depth conversation with your fellow diners. The wait staff are very friendly and attentive and you feel like you've walked into a Tokyo sushi restaurant and lively bar as soon as you step in.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
695 reviews 695 reviews
414 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
1,388 helpful votes 1,388 helpful votes
“Really great food.....good beers.... but VERY loud.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I came here with some coworkers. They raved about this place and admittedly the place has really great food. However, like some of the other reviews noted it's on the loud side. I don't mind the employees screaming hello and good bye in Japanese to guests. However, the music was really loud. You could barely hear someone sitting across talking.

We asked them to turn it down a bit and they did. To be honest, the great food made it worth putting up with. If the food wasn't so good I couldn't recommend this place but wow we tried about 6 different dishes and they were all really great.

Fried chicken pieces, died fried prawns, green bean tempera, deep fried brie cheese, seared BC tuna, seared beef sashimi and 2 or other things I can't remember but it was ALL great. There was 6 of us and we ate like pigs.

I noticed they had several locations throughout Canada. I'd come here again in a heart beat although I'd love it if they turned the volume down a bit. I guess I'm getting old... LOL.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great overall experience for guy's night out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

5pm Saturday night dinner and we got seated immediately. Our group had beers to start with. Seems like the staff are authentic Japanese chefs/waitresses. My first time there and the food was fantastic. Loud but great atmosphere!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It's about the conversation, not the food...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

And for this reason, it is EXTREMELY LOUD... Servers yell to welcome you, and to wish you off. For me personally, it's a little too much noise, and quite difficult to carry on any form of conversation, but the food makes up for it. The baked brie and spinach oysters were absolutely phenomenal! You'll find that some dishes are so good that you'll want to order an entree EACH!

Also, expect to be waiting from 40mins to an hour for dinner seating... it's quite a popular place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Guu SakaBar also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Guu SakaBar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Guu SakaBar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.