We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'ouvrier Kitchenbar

L'ouvrier Kitchenbar
791 Dundas St. West, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1V2, Canada
416-901-9581
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #360 of 6,548 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

On an unassuming strip on Dundas street, far better than the snooty neighbours, La Compangnia and Bent, this restaurant is excellent. It's a bit like wandering into a place in Paris, only the slightly goofy looking Canadian hostess is the real deal, thoughtful, not snooty, sincere and not up herself! We love the food, it's a real find. Our server was excellent, the food is healthy, reasonable and really, most delicious. I'm a foodie and have to say we LOVED it here, third time. Very much worth a trip.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“delicious food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We had a delicious meal at this restaurant and they happily accomodated our group and despite it being a very busy night we were not rushed out or expected to leave for another sitting. The food from start to finish was excellent - some new things to try.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“best dining experience in toronto, in a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

every dish we ordered was fantastic. our table was ready as soon as we walked in. the tables in the restaurant are spread out so even though it was full - it didn't seem cramped at all. the service was outstanding. our waitress was knowledgeable, sweet and really on the ball. her recommendations on food and wine were both great. food came after a reasonable amount of time and when it arrived - it was DELICIOUS. we ordered the roasted chicken soup, steak tartare, butternut squash love letters (with pumpkin seeds, Parmesan etc) and the roasted salmon - each, while different was AMAZING. we are already planning when we can go back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Love The Vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

the food was awesome but the concept of the bar - the working man; unpretentious fine dining, was really cool.
The tuna tartar was delish!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“when hipsters run restaurants”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Brunch. Always a wait, and Saving Grace was packed with a huge waiting list. We walked over to L'ouvrier on a recommendation from a foodie friend. the interior looked amazing, cute and clean Love the decor, love the dishes. Everyone was very nice, cute and friendly, and we got a table in a reasonable time. Note: no one working there has a sense of urgency= slow and relaxed.
The menu looked good and we ordered a variety of dishes. Scones were yum, not too dry and a good size. French press coffee- quite good. Excellent caesars with loads of yummy horse radish. things kind of slowed down from here- the BLT had limited L and scraps of T and about three sliced of B. It was a sloppy wet excuse for a 12$ BLT. The Egg Sandwich was ok. The mountain of fries accompanying each dish was overkill. A slice of tomato or some greens would have been a welcome friend to the french fries. When our bill came, we were left with the card machine at our table and pretty much had to self check out of the restau, as the guy who brought our bill (who was very nice and sweet, but went missing in action for way more than an acceptable time). I hear this is new, so perhaps growing pains?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'ouvrier Kitchenbar also viewed

 

Been to L'ouvrier Kitchenbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'ouvrier Kitchenbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.