We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best dining experience in toronto, in a long time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'ouvrier Kitchenbar

L'ouvrier Kitchenbar
791 Dundas St. West, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1V2, Canada
416-901-9581
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #216 of 6,561 restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Eclectic
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“best dining experience in toronto, in a long time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

every dish we ordered was fantastic. our table was ready as soon as we walked in. the tables in the restaurant are spread out so even though it was full - it didn't seem cramped at all. the service was outstanding. our waitress was knowledgeable, sweet and really on the ball. her recommendations on food and wine were both great. food came after a reasonable amount of time and when it arrived - it was DELICIOUS. we ordered the roasted chicken soup, steak tartare, butternut squash love letters (with pumpkin seeds, Parmesan etc) and the roasted salmon - each, while different was AMAZING. we are already planning when we can go back again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    12
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic - Love The Vibe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

the food was awesome but the concept of the bar - the working man; unpretentious fine dining, was really cool.
The tuna tartar was delish!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“when hipsters run restaurants”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Brunch. Always a wait, and Saving Grace was packed with a huge waiting list. We walked over to L'ouvrier on a recommendation from a foodie friend. the interior looked amazing, cute and clean Love the decor, love the dishes. Everyone was very nice, cute and friendly, and we got a table in a reasonable time. Note: no one working there has a sense of urgency= slow and relaxed.
The menu looked good and we ordered a variety of dishes. Scones were yum, not too dry and a good size. French press coffee- quite good. Excellent caesars with loads of yummy horse radish. things kind of slowed down from here- the BLT had limited L and scraps of T and about three sliced of B. It was a sloppy wet excuse for a 12$ BLT. The Egg Sandwich was ok. The mountain of fries accompanying each dish was overkill. A slice of tomato or some greens would have been a welcome friend to the french fries. When our bill came, we were left with the card machine at our table and pretty much had to self check out of the restau, as the guy who brought our bill (who was very nice and sweet, but went missing in action for way more than an acceptable time). I hear this is new, so perhaps growing pains?

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Just great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012 via mobile

In a non descriptive area of Toronto, an amazing resturant, fantastic food, good wine selection, great staff, from the hostess to the servers, price which is affordable. This is one great resturant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere, Slow Kitchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

I really like that this new restaurant is on Dundas Street West, helping to transform that part of the city into a chic area of trendy eats. We went there for brunch after my husband and his friend had dinner there. My husband thought it was pretentious, had bland food, slow service. Hiis friend thought it had a wonderful atmosphere and good food but agreed service was slow. I had to find out for myself and went there with four others. We all liked it very much.

The restaurant is one big open room, casual, and hip, designed to be utilitarian but so much fun. They have a wall with just hooks where you hang your coats. There is a "wing" of washrooms. Not male and female. Just four nicely put together individual cubicles for common use, which is the way I like it. Tables and bar counter were wide and spacious. The serving staff helpful, efficient, and pleasant. The brunch menu contains some usual items like bacon and eggs, plus unexpected items like fresh oysters. Everything was fresh, artisanal, and delicious. I love their scones with homemade jam and creme fraise, and their smoky, meaty, smoked bacon. My BLT was wonderful to hold, bite into, and savour.

The only thing we didn't like was waiting 40 minutes for the kitchen to come out with our food. Despite that, I would go back again.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'ouvrier Kitchenbar also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to L'ouvrier Kitchenbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'ouvrier Kitchenbar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.