We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful restaurant, food was good, service mediocre” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Campagnolo

Campagnolo
832 Dundas Street West | N/E Corner of Euclid and Dundas, Toronto, Ontario M6J 1V3, Canada
+1 416-364-4785
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Campagnolo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #417 of 6,800 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant, food was good, service mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I was very excited to try this restaurant, given it's revered spot in Maclean's magazine Top 50 restaurants in Canada. My first impression was excellent - it is a beautiful restaurant, with tasteful and trendy decor and an intimate dining room with big windows.

Our appetizers were very tasty - the Burrata with roasted grapes is a must try! We were disappointed however that the wine we wanted was sold out. The same thing happened with our mains - with only 5 or 6 options, one of the pasta dishes was also not available. Settling on our second choices, we waited for 45 mins to get our food. By then, it was 1030 and the food was just okay. The restaurant recognized our disappointment and comped some of our meal.

I think I would give this restaurant a second chance, perhaps it was an off day. However, it has some work to do with regards to service, and being ready for a busy Saturday night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    12
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chipping Norton
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not sure what the fuss is about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Visited the restaurant because of reviews. It was good, but by no means a top Italian in Toronto. Three of us had dinner, none of the meals were bad, nor were any superb. Nice service, attractive room, food a little self conscious, trying hard to impress, not quite achieving its goal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Started at the bar and had a wonderful drink. The bartender was excellent. We were lucky to get a set on the patio as they had a lot of reservations. The atmosphere was lovely other than the fact that it was garbage day. Then the disappointment begun. We waited forever for the waiter to come take our order. I wanted a sauvignon blanc wine which they had none, so we chose a wine from their wine list which they were out of, then I tried to order Charcoal Grilled Whole Branzino with Mussels, Beluga Lentils, Fennel and Salsa Verde and they were out of that dish as it popular. Then I ordered Sweet Potato Agnolotti with Smoked Celeriac, Candied Walnuts, Brussel Sprouts and Pears which tasted good but I did not see any brussel sprouts and not very filling. The waiter was very friendly and provided good service once he started with us. My date ordered House-Made Spaghetti All’Amatriciana and he found the serving size very small. It was certainly not a dish that could fill a man. The meals were presented nicely as you can see from the picture of the desert we had. I had read the reviews and expected a lot more so I was not impressed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“a truly memorable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

top-notch food, service and ambiance. a MUST try place if you ever visit toronto. the food was exceptional, service excellent, lighting and seating intimate. excellent meal all around.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Top restaurant in Toronto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great meal, fantastic burrata great veal carpaccio with tonnato sauce also spagetti all'amaticiana
Angnolotti with eggplant and ricotta and main dish short ribs all great i was lucky to taste this
all this food we were 6 people all loved and we are from Montreal a must in Toronto

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Campagnolo also viewed

 

Been to Campagnolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Campagnolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.