We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kitchen hiccup” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mansion Keg

Mansion Keg
515 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M4Y 2H7, Canada (Downtown Toronto)
(416) 964-6609
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 6,560 restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Downtown Toronto
Freeport, Grand Bahama Island
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Kitchen hiccup”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Had dinner there this past Sunday. We always try to get to a Keg when we are back in Canada as we are never disappointed. Arrived for our reservation and were seated quickly by the fireplace. The old house is very nice, but it seems that there are too many tables in the rooms, at least the room we were in, one of the waiters kept bumping into my wife's chair when at the table next to us. We ordered our steaks both med-rare they came out in a relativity short time but were not cooked to temp. My wife's was extremely rare and mine was med-well. We told our waitress when she came back, but really did not want to wait for others to be prepared. They were tasty though, just not right for a Keg. One of the managers came back and apologized advising that they had a hiccup in the kitchen and that our steaks and any desserts, if we chose to order, would be on the house. This is the way to make you feel appreciated. Do the right thing without hesitation because if you do you know we will be back. Went ahead and ordered dessert, the Billy Miner Pie and it was excellent and satisfied my craving! Despite the hiccup, the Keg came through and ensured we will return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    140
    78
    26
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The Keg at It's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Visited this great restaurant on Sunday 2nd February this year. Very friendly and helpful staff both in the bar and restaurant. Service and food were perfect. Steak done just as I had asked. Husband had Creole Chicken with prawns and scallops. Again great. The trio of desserts was amazing and plenty for sharing. Great value at $8. When back in Toronto will definitely be back. A super buzz in the rooms and a great atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“they know steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

this is not only a decent dinner (at a price, but still), it is also a really cool place to eat. the mansion is full of intersting rooms and bars and the service is great.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Delicious steak!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

I visited with colleagues and the steak was one of the best I have tried ! Cooked to perfection and very tasty. Portions are just the right size and the pomegranate gimlet is to be recommended

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Always a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The Keg is our go to place for great steaks - whether we're celebrating a special occasion, a business meeting, a romantic dinner or a dinner with family. From the moment you're greeted by the friendly staff at the door the evening is off to a great start. We went in for dinner last night and were seated at a table right beside the fireplace! We felt very lucky as this is a very coveted table but had just been vacated!! Our server was very attentive and informed us in a very professional manner about the nights specials and the differences in the cuts of meat. My son, husband and I all ordered the Keg Classic dinners and they all come with a salad included. The spinach salad is my favourite - wonderful dressing and your choice of blue or goat cheese. Both are delicious. My husband had the Caesar Salad and it was delicious too. My husband and I had the Filet cut which was so tender and tasty. Cooked to perfection - exactly how we ordered them. Our son had the strip loin which he said was excellent as well. We always go for the loaded baked potato which is a meal in itself - no extra charge either like some of the other steak houses. Our son went for the twice baked which is very yummy. Everything was served in a timely manner but not rushed. Very attentive service. All our meals were served piping hot! Finished it all off with a Billy Miner Ice Cream Cake - shared by the 3 of us and it was divine! The Mansion is a beautiful place to eat and the atmosphere really makes it special. Best steaks in town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mansion Keg also viewed

 

Been to Mansion Keg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mansion Keg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.