We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good cupcakes, so so service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Prairie Girl Bakery

Prairie Girl Bakery
Unit 106, 18 King Street East | (Store faces Victoria Str), Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 155 Bakeries in Toronto
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good cupcakes, so so service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The cupcakes are good, but the girls behind the counter can be less than pleasant. Makes me think twice before standing in line.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    13
    5
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Fluffy cakey goodness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Location on Victoria. So good. Delicious fluffy and flavourful bases with light and not over sweet icing. Had these the day after Magnolia in NYC and thought that Prairie Girl was a clear winner. My favourite is the strawberry.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Well Worth The Extra Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

I arrived just based on the TripAdvisor recommendation. I just saw the small cupcakes and figured I better order two. The woman asked if I wanted the regular size and I said yes but when they came they were big with a wonderful topping on them. Luckily they came in a fitted box for carrying. I didn't have much for lunch after eating them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Probably the best cupcakes in T.O.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I have had the bad luck of working near the Prairie Girl Bakery, and as such their products grace our cubicles almost daily. The cupcakes are phenomenal, and they are always consistent. Moist, sweet, and excellent flavor balance. Their icings are also to die for. While the regular cupcakes are massive, they have smaller ones for those who cant handle the goodness. They are on the pricy side for cupcakes, but well worth it. Be wary, that they get large orders all the time, so they might not have the flavors you want right away.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
“Out of the world Cupcakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

No matter which flavors we try they never disappoint. We have tried almost all the flavors and we have enjoyed them all. It is hard to say one is better then another so try them all.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prairie Girl Bakery also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Prairie Girl Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Prairie Girl Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.