We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun environment, interesting hot dogs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wvrst

Wvrst
609 King Street West, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
+1 416-703-7775
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #306 of 6,800 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $10 - $21
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A modernized beer hall that specializes in craft beer and artisan sausages.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Fun environment, interesting hot dogs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Fun atmosphere and unique hot dogs. It's like a cafeteria style setting where everyone sits at the long benches. It can get quite loud there but it's a pretty fun place to hang with friends. They serve a lot of different types of sausages (gamey meats and traditional meats), perfect for the adventurous or just the people who love an old fashion hot dog. I tried the kangaroo sausage with duck fat fries and it was delicious!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    50
    9
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing sausages! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This is an awesome place. The food service is quick and delicious. The duck fat fries are to die for and always super hot and fresh. I like the spicy Italian sausage and duck far fries. They have a large selection of beer which is a little on the pricey end but the food is pretty average priced. It's a great area that has many bars and clubs to go to after eating dinner there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Do you want a beer and a sandwich? Have I got a place for YOU!

There's so many beers on tap it's astonishing! I'm not a beer maven but my King on tap was great. My sandwich was Merguez … a spicy lamb sausage with Harissa … I loved it! The Fries were FABULOUS … along with the spicy aioli dip …

It's not formal dining … it's fun and friendly dining.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

My husband and I were recently in Toronto for four nights. I researched the city before we went and saw this place and knew we had to try it. We were not disappointed. There was a great selection of local beers. We went on a Monday night, which is $5 Ontario beer night. The food was also amazing! We had the bison sausage and the duck fat fries. The bartender was very nice and helpful. She asked what types of beers we enjoyed and recommended what we should try. I wish we lived in Toronto because we would go to Wvrst every week!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Best of the Wurst”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

A fun restaurant centrally located in Toronto for the whole family or groups of friends. Wvrst offers a unique dining experience that is similar to the German beer hall where you can find some of the best beers available in Toronto (what a great surprise to find not one, but three Urguell beers on tap) and a unique menu of sausages made to
Wvrst's stringent receipts. The buns these are served in, are exceptional. Sides of duck fat fried french fries and unique dipping sauces, make this a great sharing restaurant. There are no individual tables but a series of long wooden tables where you become part of the dining community. A fun experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wvrst also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Wvrst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wvrst, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.