We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gabardine

The Gabardine
372 Bay St., Toronto, Ontario, Canada
647 352 - 3211
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #292 of 6,781 Restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Lovely atmosphere, good service and close to local shopping. The Japanese wings (new menu item) were an excellent appie. Burger, Mac n cheese, and pulled pork sandwich were all delicious. Only drawback was the lack of adequate air conditioning!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    29
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Relaxed, friendly, vibrant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I had time to kill between two meetings in Toronto, so I bought a couple of books at the nearby Ben McNally bookstore (if I could review bookstores here, I'd give them 5 stars!) and slipped into the Gabardine for a coffee, waiting for them to start serving lunch. The staff was exteremely friendly and attentive in a relaxed manner. At lunch time, the restaurant was very full and hectic, obviously a popular water hole on Bay street. The food was excellent, I had the halibut, and desert to round up the lunch. If I'd work in downtown Toronto, this would be one of my favorites. Alas, I don't so I'm just lucky I found the place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wanted to like it...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

The gabardine is pretty close to where we live so we really wanted to like this place and the menu looked great. First off our welcome to the restaurant was very cool. The service for the rest of the evening didn't get any friendlier. Okay, it was downright frosty. My fried cheese salad was a letdown but my husband's rabbit rillettes was very good. But then came his fried chicken on a waffle. What is that strange flavor? It's like they added ground incense. I heard a couple of girls beside us remark on the same weird taste. The Manhattan chowder was good but it will leave you hungry. Overall – not worth the price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Neighbourhood Restaurant in the Heart of Downtown!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Wonderful food, friendly staff, neighbourhood feel in the heart of Bay Street, the Gabardine is absolutely one of my favourite restaurants in Toronto!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antigua
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Try the Mac Pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Being from the Caribbean, I'm always interested to try new versions of macaroni and cheese. though it is often said to be a comfort food, its nearly a staple at any major/minor occasion here on the islands. So i was surprised to see such an upscale restaurant offering such a dish. However my expectations were exceeded at the one i had at the Gabardine. I could sure do with one on this rainy day here in Antigua.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Gabardine also viewed

 
Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to The Gabardine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gabardine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.