We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+++” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joey Eaton Centre

Joey Eaton Centre
1 Dundas St. W., Toronto, Ontario, Canada
+1 647-352-5639
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #204 of 6,550 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: Grill, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Upscale casual, downtown Toronto. The first JOEY to hit the streets of downtown Toronto. Located just off Yonge on Dundas, this place is a work of art - exposed brick walls, open-air dining, crazy custom lighting and the Enomatic wine system. We could go on, but you should come and see it for yourself.
Quispamsis, Canada
2 reviews
“A+++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We used to live in Vancouver, BC and were huge Joey's fans, so when my husband and I planned a trip to Toronto with our two children we made reservations for Joey's. When I looked at the tripadvisor site it says this restaurant is not family friendly. I contacted the restaurant and they assured us children are welcome. We had booked a table for 5 adults and the two children. When we arrived we were promptly seated at a huge table with plenty of room for a high chair. The wait staff was fantastic with us AND the kids. The food was hot and delicious. Drinks were never empty. Top notch. Our waitress Alex went out of her way! Thanks Joey's!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    81
    22
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“cold draft by the window seat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We came after watching Wizard of OZ at Ed Mirvish Theater.
It was a cold day & was hoping for a warm place at the Joey Restaurant , but there's a draft by the window where we were seated.
My husband ordered the Basa fish menu & he liked it but my Ravioli with lobster& crab meat had hardly have any taste of the lobster nor crab, saw only a piece out of about 6-8 ravioli pasta .
Good ambiance but not much to talk about. Staffs are attentive to our needs.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Awesome food and service @ Joey - Eaton Center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

What a great spot to dine before taking in a show at the Mervish Theatre. From the manager of the night, James Csombok to our server Megan ... there was no detail overlooked. The Blue Cheese sirloin was awesome and the crispy mashed potatoes were a delicious surprise. The "in house " baked apple pie was shared between the two of us and a wonderful finale to a great meal. Thanks James ... you made the evening special.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Best Tuna bruger ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just returned from a nice lunch at Joey's the food was very good, especially the tuna burger. Every bite is scrumptious, would highly recommend it. My friend had the fish tacos and loved those as well. Service is very good, the only problem is the waiting list, we had to wait 45 minutes before being seated and this was only lunch time.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful Restaurant =))”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This restaurant is a welcome sight on Yonge & Dundas! It's about time a NEW restaurant opened up that is upscale, shi-shi, great food and excellent ambiance!

We went to the restaurant with client's for a "post-Christmas" get-together early this month, and upon entering the very welcoming foyer, we were seated at this nice round booths, which was excellent for conversation with everyone in the lunch party!

The wait staff greeted us upon seating and even took our coats to hang at the back of the restaurant.

I observed the whole place, it was busy, it was amazing, I really have no bad thing to say about it. It is clean, polished and very modern. The place was crowded with business-like people, and there was a LOT of good looking men, to my sweet surprise.

There were 6 of us, and we started with appetizers, Calamari (my personal fave, anywhere I go), Yum fries (which was delicious) and SZECHUAN EDAMAME (wok tossed with chilies, garlic & soy sauce) highly recommended. I have never had edamame this way, always just with sea salt...but their take on this was amazing!

One of the person on our party has been to Joey's before, and highly recommended the GRILLED SALMON (grilled medium-moist, fine herbs, maple beurre blanc, a crispy mashed potato & seasonal vegetables), she was so sold on the "crispy" mashed potato that all 5 of us ordered the same thing and one person ordered the ROTISSERIE CHICKEN.

What can I say, the FOOD was excellent! The salmon was cooked to perfection and the "crispy" mashed potato is a welcome surprise! I will go back to Joey's if only to have a couple of their delicious "crispy" mashed potato. The person who had the ROTISSERIE CHICKEN swear by it's succulent juiciness!

A couple of people had wine with their lunch.

To finish the excellent lunch, the ITALIAN DONUTS lemon curd & vanilla mascarpone cream was highly recommended and we ordered one each with our cappuccino's. It is to die-for! MUST TRY! DON'T MISS THIS!

It was a very amazing time we had, conversing, laughing, and enjoying Joey Eaton Centre's incredible ambiance, awesome food and excellent dessert.

Joey is WORTH every penny and time spent! =))

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joey Eaton Centre also viewed

 

Been to Joey Eaton Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joey Eaton Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.