We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great coffee, snacks and ice cream, quick service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Squirrel Coffee Shop

White Squirrel Coffee Shop
907 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 190 Coffee & Tea in Toronto
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location, great coffee, snacks and ice cream, quick service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have a kid and I like going here with him, as does he. Coffee for me, ice cream for him, cookies for both of us. They do really great coffee and know what they're doing. The snacks are always good, the take out window is fun - especially for dog walkers, cyclists and stroller pushers, and this is a perfect location if you're hanging out in the park.

It's a neighbourhood place with a particular flow to it, so when it's busy with a lot of folks coming through the very small space, it might seem a bit disjointed and yeah, as someone's noted, they might not smile all the time. But what I see is a small team of people or a person doing their job well. My 8 year old even noted that these folks work hard and he gets that it helps them if he knows to be clear about what he wants by the time it's his turn. That said, the folks who work here probably aren't parents so they're not going to think your kid is the centre of the universe (like mine is), they're more likely to see a miniature-non-coffee-drinker who needs extra time.

Lots of coffee in the neighbourhood - this is my favourite Queen Street option.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“Great coffee...Horrible service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Having been looking for a decent coffee in the area, I tried this place.
Coffee was great, with lots of variety, great location. Cool little shop.

But wow, how more rude can you get.

There is one server in paticular, a bearded man. Not a smile, a good morning, thank you, please, how are you..NOTHING... It doesnt cost anything to be nice. When you give your money, he slams your change back on the counter without any acknowledgement. I dread to go in when he is there because it is not comfortable to be around when you are helping them out.

Worst part is...i think he is the owner/manager!

There is only so long you can go somewhere because of the product...Eventually I will stop going because of how he makes you feel when your buying coffee from him.

So try it out but hope you get the pleasant girls otherwise you might want to think twice again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great coffee through a walk-up window”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Geat vibe and excellent coffees. Seem to have very popular baked goods and light lunch items though I have only ever had their lattes. Often a line. Good prices.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Okay place to get coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

There is always a lineup at this place and I always wondered why so one day I tried it out. The coffee is gross and watery and more expensive than Second Cups or Starbucks. I don't recommend at all.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Squirrel Coffee Shop also viewed

 

Been to White Squirrel Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Squirrel Coffee Shop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.