We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It won't be "Congee Time" for us again.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Congee Time

Congee Time
5817 Yonge Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
(416) 225-6688
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3,030 of 6,560 restaurants in Toronto
Cuisines: Asian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Richmond Hill, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“It won't be "Congee Time" for us again.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We have been going here every few months for a number of years. Yesterday's trip was likely the last.
The food was unbelievably salty and the portions were smaller than they used to be (almost thankfully). The men's bathroom was in terrible disrepair with half-covered graffiti and the sole toilet seat lying on the floor making it very difficult for my son.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    8
    6
    2
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
1,401 helpful votes 1,401 helpful votes
“Service is not great but food is excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

My wife and I eat here often and the service here is not always great but the service here is not always bad either but the food here is always absolutely excellent. The portion sizes and prices are pretty good service level here really depends on just how busy they are and while service way suffer if it’s busy the food is consistently great.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Worst Service ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Went to this restaurant a few nights ago; the server didn't speak English and totally screwed up my order and then got mad at me when I said something!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Very good lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I went for lunch with a large group of co-workers. No problem getting seated since we had a reservation. Large groups are put in the middle of the restaurant at big tables. Smaller groups sit at the edges of the room. It does get noisy when the restaurant is busy.

The food was very good. We ordered a variety of dishes and shared amongst the group. I enjoyed the shrimp congee and chicken congee. The hot and sour soup was also good. Most of our group did not like the house special chicken since it had a yellow skin and was served cold. However I tried it with the ginger sauce and thought it was tasty so I ate most of this dish. Service was prompt but the servers are busy so don't be afraid to speak up to get their attention. It was a very good lunch and I'll be back.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“If you don't mind the noise...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

It is a good place to have lunch or dinner with lots of friends in a round table.
Portions are good size to share with all, but it was better. Now all plates look like the same.
The waiting line can be big if you need a bigger table.
The loud noise is also something that is annoying. You can barely listen to people in your own table. You have to yell to get people listen to you.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Congee Time also viewed

 

Been to Congee Time? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Congee Time, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.