We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TRANQUILITY IN THE CITY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Mill Toronto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Old Mill Toronto to your Saves list
Old Mill Toronto
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21 Old Mill Rd, Toronto, Ontario M8X 1G5, Canada (Formerly Old Mill Inn & Spa)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 142 Hotels in Toronto
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Huntsville, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“TRANQUILITY IN THE CITY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

My sister and I spent July 14th week-end at the Old Mill and thoroughly enjoyed the beautiful Hotel and surroundings. This is certainly a place to stay as it provides pure relaxation for both travelers and business people.

Their buffet has exceptional home made food for both hungry people as well as for those
watching their diet. The price is also exceptional when comparing it to buffets being
offered by other major establishments.

Overall a very lovely place to indulge in luxury while in Toronto.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldMillToronto, Manager at Old Mill Toronto, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Joanne O,

Thank you for your glowing review of your most recent visit with your sister here at The Old Mill. Our famous buffet draws many patrons from near and far wanting to indulge in the various culinary delights that our Executive Chef and his team prepare fresh daily.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again and look forward to hosting you.

Sincerely,

Vas Kolovos
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    127
    21
    13
    10
See reviews for
50
358
27
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmond, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a beautiful facility located near the bike and hike trails of the Humber River. That I give them. This is where the positive stops and is the only reason the poor rating is not lower. We checked into the hotel for a five day stay. We had to wait in the lobby with our luggage while they prepared a room at 4:00 PM in the afternoon. Unacceptable. This is really a wedding chapel (s-I believe 5 total) operation pretending to be a hotel. We had to dodge numerous wedding parties.
The front desk was proper, said the right things, but from the get go they were not genuine. The subway is 200 yards from the hotel..but you have to hike around the hotel and up a hill to get to it since no other exit to it is available according to the front desk. The hotel is halfway between the airport and downtown. Essentially in the middle of no where in an old section of Bloor Street in the old part of Toronto. Taxi $40 to airport. The room was clean but the furniture was worn and needed replaced, the bed was hard causing backaches each morning, and the curtain opened to a window that gave a view of a jungle.
Then a storm hit and they lost power for......two days. Their back up generator provided only emergency lighting and services. No lights. No TV. No ice. No air conditioning, No elevator. Bathe and dress in the dark. No coffee. No reading. No internet. Then they wouldn't settle the charges at the front check out when we checked out after our full stay one day after power came back on. But said they would email us a credit and that we would be very happy with it. Red flag. The email offered a 20% credit for the two days of hellish hotel accommodations. About $70. They offered no transport to another hotel or cancellation of reservations when we checked in with the front desk each day of the power outage.
Nice facility. Insincere staff that caters to wedding parties not regular hotel guests. Unreasonable management.
So I give a rare negative report. Simply put. Do not stay here.

Room Tip: Go to a downtown hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldMillToronto, Manager at Old Mill Toronto, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear Reality4u,

I am truly sorry to hear about your disappointment. Understandably, we made every effort to provide all essential services during the city wide flooding that topped the effects of Hurricane Hazel of 1954. The entire city shut down including various other parts of Ontario crippling services and business all around due to this natural disaster beyond anyone’s control. We gave the option to all of our guests to check out with no penalty and help with alternative accommodations. As you chose to stay we made every effort to make your stay as comfortable as possible.

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back and give you everything you dreamed of. Please contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Vas Kolovos
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We bought a deal for a one night stay at the OLD MILL INN. The room was beautiful, and service was great. The jazucci was nice and spacious, they provided flame less candles and bubble bath. The best part of the hotel was the garden though. Great opportunities to take pictures, walk around. Would definetly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldMillToronto, Manager at Old Mill Toronto, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear toronto_lov,

Thank you for choosing The Old Mill Toronto as your celebratory place for your birthday. Our historic property is adorned with award winning lanscaping and gardens perfect for the backdrop of every special occassion.

We are pleaesd to know that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Sincerely,

Vas Kolovos
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Catharines, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

My husband purchased this Travelzoo voucher as a birthday gift for me. From the warm welcome at Reception to the gourmet buffet breakfast the next morning, the Old Mill and staff exceeded every expectation. Our King suite was superb, complete with complimentary wine, chocolates, bubble bath and candles. We enjoyed and would highly recommend Afternoon Tea in the Terrace Room, overlooking the beautiful courtyard and fountain.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldMillToronto, Manager at Old Mill Toronto, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear mrsd3,

Happy Birthday and many happy returns! Thank you for choosing to spend your birthday celebration with us at The Old Mill. Known for our personal touches, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed all the special amenities of your package and had an opportunity to enjoy our famous afternoon tea.

We hope to see you again for many more of life's special moments.

Sincerely,

Vas Kolovos
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had been really looking forward to staying at the Old Mill, as I had read many good reviews. My husband and I had booked a room to celebrate our anniversary. I booked through travelzoo, which gave us bike rentals, a spa voucher, late check out, candles and bubble bath and wine in a King suite. Unfortunately, we didn't get to enjoy any of these things. They also had supplied a crib for our 8 month old. However, if you want to take advantage of the spa, you should note it is closed on Mondays. Also, they only have 4 bikes, so make sure you are not expecting one to be ready for you. We arrived around 2:30 and were impressed with the room, however, they were testing the fire alarm at this time, so we decided to head out. We decided to go for a walk. We returned around 5pm to the electricity going out. Since we had our 8 month old, we couldn't go out for the evening, so we decided to try to make the best of it. Around 8pm, we were told to move our car, as they were worried b/c of the storm Toronto was having. They directed us to park in the fire lane. Since we couldn't enjoy the jacuzzi or bubble bath we went to bed around 9:30, determined to make the best of it. At 12am the fire alarm went off, and proceeded to go off for 20+ minutes, with interspersed announcements that the firemen were on their way. Needless to say, with an 8 month old, this was no easy task trying to keep her calm in the room. Also, with no electricity, our room was boiling and if we opened the window there was some type of loud machine (?) outside. We also worried that our car was in danger, as ironically they had told us to park in the fire lane. In the morning there was still no electricity, and so we were left without much of a breakfast (they had some yogourt/fruit and dry cereal and bread). I guess they don't have generators for even the kitchen? So we decided to leave around 9am, as we didn't want to wait around for the electricity to come back on. When we asked for some type of compensation, we were told it was not their fault, but they would let their manager know and he would contact us. I still have not heard from him. I certainly understand that some things are out of their control, however, after working in customer service, I also understand that even airlines give you another chance when there is bad weather and they can't fly, or your flight is delayed etc. We basically ended up spending over $200, for no sleep, no jacuzzi, little breakfast, no spa and a hot room. Despite no electricity, they still managed to print our bill up at the end of our stay. This was not a nice way to spend our anniversary. I would like to have a better memory of a place with such good potential.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldMillToronto, Manager at Old Mill Toronto, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear A M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review regarding your most recent stay during Toronto’s city wide flood. Local headlines described as “Record Flooding” topping Hurricane Hazel of 1954, the distress the city was rapidly trying to overcome came with much disaster and strife. Homes were evacuated, cars were floating and people were stranded. We took all necessary precautions with our guests to ensure that their cars remained safe and were not flooded on account of the Humber River overflowing it’s banks, which happened just across the bridge from the Old Mill.
We made every effort to keep our essential services available for our guests while other businesses were forced to shut down. Our two generators maintained power to the public areas of the building to ensure our guests were safe. In fact our residential neighbours sought sanctuary and protection with us to keep their families sheltered in this time of crisis.

Pleases note that we truly were working with both the interest and safety of our staff and guests alike. We waived our cancellation policy to any of our guests who chose to leave in addition to waiving our cancellation policy for guests that were unable to reach us.

I am very sorry that we were not able to provide you the experience you were hoping for. We would be appreciative of having the opportunity to welcome you back and ensure you have the best possible stay.

Please contact me directly so that I may personally make those arrangements for you.

Sincerely,

Vas Kolovos
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

I was fortunate enough to stay here for 3 evenings. I had an excellent experience with both the quality of service and facilities. The friendliness and helpfulness of the service team coupled with the beautiful setting and wonderful facilities made for a relaxing, enjoyable, unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldMillToronto, Manager at Old Mill Toronto, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear LoKal89,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of your most recent stay. We are delighted that you enjoyed your 3 nights with us and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Vas Kolovos
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a Large king suite from Travelzoo offer. Loved the jacuzzi tub. Good Summerlicious dinner at the restaurant and a high quality RMT massage. Make sure to explore Kings Mill Park during your visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OldMillToronto, Manager at Old Mill Toronto, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear EuchrePro,

Thank you for sharing your most recent stay with us during our Summerlicious event. WE are delighted to hear you enjoyed your Travelzoo package and took advantage of the many services and were able to explore the surrounding Humber valley as well.

We hope you will have the opportunity to visit us again as we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Sincerely,

Vas Kolovos
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Mill Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Mill Toronto

Address: 21 Old Mill Rd, Toronto, Ontario M8X 1G5, Canada (Formerly Old Mill Inn & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Toronto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#7 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#7 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#10 Business Hotel in Toronto
#12 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Mill Toronto 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape the ordinary! The Old Mill Toronto is the perfect location to relax, refresh and reconnect in a resort setting between Downtown Toronto, Billy Bishop City Airport and Pearson International Airport. Enjoy a romantic getaway, plan a business event or indulge in our award winning Spa. We look forward to welcoming you at The Old Mill Toronto where versatility, ambiance and setting make us exceptionally memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Old Mill Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Mill Inn And Spa
Old Mill Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Mill Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.