We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food, bit expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Milagro Cantina Mexicana

Milagro Cantina Mexicana
3187 Yonge St., Toronto, Ontario M4N 2K9, Canada
416-487-2855
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Milagro Cantina Mexicana is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #886 of 6,995 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Home Style
Transit: Yone university subway line, get off on Lawrence Station, walk north on east side of Yonge Street.
Description: Milagro is inspired in the golden era cantinas of Mexico. Our friendly staff offers classic food & refreshing beverages at reasonable prices in a warm, relaxed & easy going atmosphere. Milagro is colorful with an eclectic & somewhat funky style. Our dishes are abundant, flavourful & colourful; we use traditional recipes & techniques. At our cantina bar you can enjoy Tequilas, Mezcales, wine sangrias, margaritas, daiquiris & classic mixed cocktails. Milagro is Zagat rated & has been featured in Toronto Life, Now, Globe & Mail, El Pais (Spain), Toronto Star, Eye, Metro, 24hrs, Where, Women"s Post, North Toronto Post, Travel & Leisure & mano others.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Decent food, bit expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I would rate this an an average to good mexican restaurant. Its located in the Yonge Lawrence neighborhood. The food is always OK, and the prices are comparable based on the neighborhood. If you are craving Mexican, i would not stear you away.

We had the dorados, tosdadas, and an enchilada.

Good margaritas !

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    14
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We'll Never Return”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I don't like writing bad reviews, but my husband and I tried this restaurant back in January. It was terrible! The service was ok, but the food was very, very bad.

We ordered Fajitas, and it was so greasy it made me nauseous. Everything we ordered was covered in cheese. Not even good cheese, but cheep cheese that just oozed with grease. We both felt sick after we left, and agreed never to return or recommend!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“spicy!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

if you like it hot, you will survive a meal at milagro and leave as a happy person... Don't take the kids, though! The place has nice & hip servers and a generally good clientele.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and I wandered in randomly at 3pm as we had been running around doing errands and had missed lunch. They were very accomodating. We've been to Mexico many many times and know authentic Mexican fare. The food at Milagro was excellent overall. Very very fresh ingredients and a great balance of flavours. We shared 3 appetizers and all were winners. The guacamole is great. The octopus cerviche was fantastic - I see a previous reviewer felt that there wasn't enough octopus. That certainly wasn't my feeling. Outstanding flavours and a fair portion for what they are charging. My wife had the costena salad with mango, avocado and cucumber. She thought it was great, and so did I from the sample I wrestled from her. She had to leave for an appoinment in the area so I decided to stay there and wait for her. Started chatting with Arturo who ends up being the owner. He asks if I want a tequila. I explain I know wine and scotch, but not tequila. He then begins to explain the intricacies of tequila and pours me 3 samples, showing me the differences, etc. All this - no charge. I'm sorry, but to say this place has poor service, or is unfriendly, etc, was certainly not our experience. We will be back, no question.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Avoid Milagro”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Had dinner at Milagro on Yonge on Saturday evening. Amongst the items we ordered was the octopus Ceviche. It hardly had any octopus, mainly just alot of shredded lettuce. Our entrees were bland and oily. All of this and the place is expensive, $120 for 2 people having 2 drinks each. This restaurant represents the abosulute worst value I have ever expeienced at a restaurant. I would suggest you avoid Milagro.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milagro Cantina Mexicana also viewed

 

Been to Milagro Cantina Mexicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milagro Cantina Mexicana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.