We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fine international cuisine but overprices” 4 of 5 stars
Review of e11even

e11even
15 York Street, Toronto, Ontario M5J 0A3, Canada
416-815-1111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
e11even is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #310 of 6,781 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: York and Bremner
Transit: Union Station.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“fine international cuisine but overprices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We booked a table for Saturday dinner but to our surprise the restaurant was not full though the location is very convenient for visiting. The food was not outstanding, but good enough with a standard list of dishes. To my mind the restaurant has no its individual face. And it is overpriced - yes.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    48
    28
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Large Group, Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Ate at e11even with a VERY large group and was surprised by the great service we received. Evening began with a cocktail reception in the bar with plenty of delicious appetizers & very pleasant servers offering beverages. We then proceeded to a larger room where we were given a choice of several 1st, main & dessert options. While the pace of the evening was rather slow, the servers were VERY accommodating & the food was delicious. I had the roasted chicken & my husband had the filet. Both were very tasty & the desserts (banana pie & chocolate brownie) were divine! Thanks to the staff for their hard work!!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Pricey and below par food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

E11even is part of the MLSE family and so having been the Real Sports Bar for a pre game dinner before, my expectation for E11even would be that it would be the upscale foodie option.

Though the interior is gorgeous, and the iPad 'wine list' is novel the food falls well below expectation do to massive inconsistencies.

We had the seared tuna on flatbread as an appi which was outstanding; the dinner that followed was abismal. The ribs were over cooked and dry (nope...smothering it with sauce will NOT help) and were paired up with a peanut asian coleslaw. Fusing of two disctinct cuisines is always interesting, but this was simply wrong. My lobster roll was flat with no flavour and the accompanying parmesan french fries were so heavily salted that i couldnt manage more than a few mouthfuls.

Great potential for this restaurant due to location, decor and service, but I think a re-work of the menu would greatly be an improvement. if the food is outstanding, then I do not think people would mind the pricing. these prices for the calibre of the food don't gel.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Fine but not notable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I've had several business meals here. Each was fine. Service, meal, decor, all fine. In fact, as I harken back, nothing stands out - neither good or bad. The location drives the business here. Well positioned for the TELUS and PwC crowds.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Food was excellent, steak was well prepared. Servers were good. Private room was special (there were 20 of us). Desserts were huge and delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed e11even also viewed

 

Been to e11even? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage e11even, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.