We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, Excellent, Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luma

Luma
330 King St. West, 2nd Floor, TIFF Bell Lightbox, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3X2, Canada
+1 647-288-4715
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Luma is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #110 of 6,560 restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $23 - $37
Cuisines: Seafood, Canadian, Organic, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: King and John Streets
Transit: By subway, exit at St. Andrew station on the Yonge-University Spadina line, north east corner. Travel two blocks west on King Street. By streetcar, access the King Street line to John Street.
Description: Paying homage to Toronto's rich, cultural landscape, Luma's menu showcases global and Canadian artisanal cuisine featuring the finest local and regional ingredients. Our menu is the perfect complement to the warm, inviting dining room, designed with rich woods, leather and stone and outstanding floor to ceiling views of King Street West. Luma is open for lunch on weekdays and dinner from Monday to Saturday. Drinks and light dining are also available in the lounge. Enjoy innovative cocktails and a rich, diverse wine list.
London, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, Excellent, Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

The Luma might be my favourite place to eat in Toronto. The food is incredible. We absolutely adored the staff; they really went above and beyond to ensure our experience was nothing but the finest. The best time to visit is in September during the Toronto International Film Festival. Not only do you get amazing food you also get an fantastic views of the Film Festival, actors/actresses and Films. When we ate there we watched a red carpet premier from our seats and had the luxury of seeing Ron Howard promote his film. Absolutely amazing food, wine, staff.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    67
    51
    13
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North American
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great service, a bit fancy, but not pretentious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Dinner last night was a great experience all around. Service at the bar for our pre-dinner drinks was fast and friendly. Wine for him, some peach/apricot/rum thing for me.

We were seated in a cozy booth in the window. Not at particularly scenic view (other restaurant's neon signs, a condo), but still nice. Stephen was our waiter, and if you go to Luma, I hope you get him. He sold both on the soup, (Asian Inspired Shrimp Puree with Lemongrass, cilantro and garnished with Creme Freshe) which was delicious! The warm artichoke bread was really lovely too.

My date had BC halibut ($36) served with roasted globe artichoke, poached fennel, capers and meyer lemon dressing. He loved it and ate it all.

I couldn't decide between steak frites or lamb loin, so Stephen said he would surprise me. I ended up with the steak frites ($29) The parmesan truffle fries were perfect- not greasy and nice very crispy. The steak was a strip loin. It was a bit too rare, but still good. There was quite a bit of excess fat on it, however. The marinated tomato and beans were delicious, and I HATE tomatoes

The halibut entree looked very small, especially since it was served in a large bowl. My steak and big ol' pile of fries were on a large platter.- not very dainty!

Dessert was lemon tart with a scoop of sour cream ice cream. I was expecting a tart with a pastry crust, but this was a rectangular slice that looked like a stick of butter. Beautiful texture and flavor. Not too sweet.

The service really was top-notch. Very warm, unpretentious, attentive and fast, but not rushed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

From start to finish, the service was amazing. Excellent pureed apple and carrot soup to start followed by wonderful beef dishes. Interesting flavours mixed in exquisitely from appetizer to dessert.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Pros:
- excellent service
- excellent location
- great food
- very accommodating with dietary request
Cons:
- no fruits as dessert
- light is too bright

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Quality restaurant suitable for business dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I visited the restaurant for dinner with some business colleagues and found this an excellent location for any occasion business or dinner with friends. The menu was extensive and the food was first class. The staff were attentive but not too attentive. The wine list was reasonable in terms of range and price.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luma also viewed

Toronto, Ontario
Toronto, Ontario
 

Been to Luma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.