We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Mexican Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Frida

Frida
999 Eglinton Ave. West, Toronto, Ontario M6C 2C7, Canada
416-787-2221
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Frida is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,313 of 6,800 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bathurst and Eglinton
Transit: Eglinton Bus stop at front door. Subway-Eglinton station on Spadina located just two blocks to the west.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious Mexican Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I had a wonderful evening at Frida's. The decor is charming and the service is very attentive and friendly. We started off with the Queso Fundido. If you love cheese, this is the dish for you. I then had the Chiles Poblanos Renello, which was delicious. I tried a bite of my husband's herb chicken, and that also tasted excellent. My sister-in-law raved about Mole Chicken, joking that she could lick the plate clean. I finished off my meal with a coffee and a slice of their orange flan. My only complete about the flan is that the orange taste did not really come through. Their coffee however is excellent. Definitely make reservation, as this is a small restaurant that fills up quickly.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    15
    7
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, ON
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“great food, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Good Mexican food, authentic dishes, great location (easy to park, easy to get to with transit).

  • Visited December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ok, but not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Went here with a group of about 8. The food tasted ok...not great. It wasn't particularly tasty...The service was pretty bad. Whenever we wanted anything we had to work pretty hard to get the attention of any waiter. The cutlery was missing at two places and we only got our water refilled once the whole night. The fire alarm went off twice during our dinner. The price isn't too high, but I don't think we got good value overall. I don't think I would want to go back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in TO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Best, most innovative Mexican restaurant in town. Not sure why the place isn't packed every night. Been there 4 times already - afraid the quality has gone down a bit since the restaurant offered a Groupon.

Best guacamole and churros in town. Also love the chili relleno.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing authentic Mexican Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

I celebrated ,my birthday at Frida's with friends and had an amazing time! The food and drinks from the appetizer, all the way to the dessert was incredible. The guacamole was to die for! We tried 3 different little bite appetizers that were delicious. They consisted of mushroom empanada, chicken tostada and grilled shrimp. They displayed all three as a trio for each of us. Then we shared the beef tacos and the large chicken tostadas. For dessert we shared a trio plate selected by the chef of churros(stuffed with goats milk carme), flan and mexican rice pudding. I was in absolute heaven. Our waiter was nice and very attentive. The Executive Chef even came to our table to see how we were enjoying our food. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone who loves authentic mexican food.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frida also viewed

 

Been to Frida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frida, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.