We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best in toronto” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit + More
Ranked #3 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Still the best in toronto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit to the ritz and just as good as the first time. I loved the spa, but would only go on a Monday or Tuesday as it is way to busy for me on the weekends and not very relaxing. I had a pedicure which was really good and my friends both had great massages.
If you are staying over night the one bedroom suite is a must with club level, the food and drinks was a super great value.
I love the gym and the ritz is very accommadating with early or late check/out.
My husband and I decided to check out a few hotels in the area, the trump was one a little to tacky for me, the ritz much more clean lines and classy looking.
I absolutely love the outdoor restaurant in the summer not to be missed.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    106
    26
    6
    8
See reviews for
132
227
33
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tecumseh, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Spent 2 days at the Ritz on a recent trip to Toronto to see the Detroit Tigers play the Blue Jays and to do some shopping.
The hotel is at a great location, short walk to the Rogers Center and a number of nearby restaurants. The next day we went shopping and a sudden downpour hit and we were able to take the underground Path system from the Eaton Center back to the hotel.
The staff was very accommodating and friendly. Our room was on the 10th floor and had a view of Lake Ontario and the CN Tower. The room facilities, décor and bedding were up to the 5 star rating that this hotel enjoys. We also enjoyed at the end of each day of our stay a drink in the outdoor patio which had a cool and relaxing vibe which was a perfect way to rap up the day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

It's a Ritz Carlton so the standard is high (and so it should be for the money you spend) that being said - this new hotel in Toronto really lived up to the hype! Excellent guest services, rooms are stunning and staff are phenomenal. The spa is a little oasis and the outdoor lounge of DEQ is the perfect end to an urban summer night. We had the buffet breakfast at TOCA which was delightful and it included all specialty coffees! The only two little comments I have would be to ensure the fridges in the rooms are actually cold (as opposed to just cooler than room temperature) and to offer adaptors for the latest MAC world technology (e.g. iPhone 5).

Other than that, it was a great experience and I look forward to coming back!

Room Tip: If able to get upgraded to a corner suite - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We spent three days in the hotel attending a small meeting. During that time we got a good idea of the hotel quality.

We were struck by overall design of the room and the bath. Someone has thought out everything for the guest comfort. In fact, if one is considering a bath remodel for his own home, the bath could serve as an excellent example.

The accommodations are generous, very well proportioned, and the amenities are excellent. The furniture is very high quality. Even the sound system is Bose, rather than some tinny sounding little alarm usually found in other places.

The lobby is gracious without being overwhelming. The hallways are quite elegant and well lit. The soundproofing is very good.

Near the meeting room, the restrooms are truly high quality. Even the provided toweling is cloth-like quality.

The Toca restaurant was just as high quality as the rest of the hotel, and the menu reasonably priced. It you want something special the wait staff will do their best to accommodate you. Before we were even seated, the gentleman at the service desk brought us hot wet towels to wipe our hands.

The hotel staff is wonderful. One doesn't know whether this is the result of great HR or the management, but there is an abundance of personnel and each person couldn't be more gracious and accommodating. The personnel act pleased to serve their guests, without being either obsequious or snobbish.

As you approach the front door, several people greet you, appearing genuinely friendly, making an attempt to welcome you. There is ice water with lemon in the lobby.

The swimming pool kept beautifully clean. The depth is enough to swim laps, but shallow enough for children. There is no diving bay.

Now for the down side. The parking charge was 68 dollars a day, and we debated turning the rental car in for the three days while we were there. Instead, we chose to park across the street where there is underground parking for much less than half the price.

The other down side was that there is a charge for internet in the room. For the five minutes it takes for email, we opted to use the complimentary WiFi in the lobby and saw many others doing the same. This is not an inexpensive hotel, and internet connections should be complimentary in the rooms.

The bottom line is that this is truly a five star hotel, well managed and beautifully appointed. It is worth paying more to stay here. It is a wonderful hotel for small meetings, weddings and parties.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware, Ontar
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a great hotel, from the moment you pull up through to check out. The staff is very friendly professional and courteous. I did not walk through one door, where any member of the staff was present that the door was not held open and they insisted that I proceed first.

The room was spacious and was well appointed, the bed was very comfortable and I especially liked the option of dimming lights. The bathroom was bright and the TV mirror was cool.

We were at the hotel for a conference and the attention to detail was a top priority. The staff was attentive to our request and continued to check in to insure that our program was running smoothly. There was always lots of drinks and nutritious food provided at the breaks. I would certainly recommend this for a business gathering and plan to return personally.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

From arrival in a taxi during snow storms...service, service, service. Signature scent, friendly welcome, comfortable lounge to wait for my room, great bar menu to have a snack...and then to the room I go. Like I have said, it's a Ritz Carlton...amazing rooms and bathrooms! One thing I missed was using the spa and fitness center. Bummed because it was beautiful!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We went to Toronto after visiting Niagara Falls. Unfortunately we got stuck in a lot of rain but our trip was better for the Concierge room we had on the 20th floor. It is expensive but was worth it for us. The service was very high quality. The concierges got us theatre tickets and helped us a lot. The breakfast and snacks offered in the Concierge level lounge are ample and very good. I went to the pool and gym, both very nice. The view from the room looks out towards the island but I had the impression that the Toronto waterfront is not as developed for the beauty of the lake as for commercial purposes. The weather may have played a part in that we could hardly see the top of the CN tower which was right out our window.

We had dinner in the hotel main restaurant and it was very good. That restaurant seems to have some rather exotic menu mixes. The atmosphere is certainly modern.

It is an excellent hotel and located near the Hockey stadium and CN tower. They also have a hotel car that took us to a wonderful restaurant because of the rain. They did all they could to make our stay very pleasant.

Room Tip: We were in room 2013. It has a water/island/CN tower view. This area we noticed can be combined with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Address: 181 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#2 Family Hotel in Toronto
#3 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#3 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#4 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Venere, Despegar.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.