We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, great hotel; can not wait to return!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit + More
Ranked #4 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Newfoundland, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great stay, great hotel; can not wait to return!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Having spent the weekend at the Ritz, without doubt a 5 star hotel! Check in was fast and efficient, warmly great by everyone. Our room was very nice with a great view of the CN Tower, the bed is heavenly. Had drinks and something to eat at DEQ'S the first night, the food, service, and atmosphere were ideal; the calamari was awesome! The second night we had drinks in the main Ritz bar, again good service and nice atmosphere. Special thanks to David, at the front desk, and as well the concierge, apologies forgot her name, for helping us located some event tickets. We loved our stay, highly recommend. Also this hotel is located near everything but not next to everything thus the hotel is not in a noisy area, but perfectly located for the business and financial area and it is a short cab ride to everywhere else you want to go to in downtown Toronto

Room Tip: Room facing the CN Tower is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    414
    91
    23
    5
    7
See reviews for
102
184
29
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Everyone from from our sales rep to all the staff at the hotel made it a perfect weekend getaway. Our rep was amazing in taking care of everything we wanted. We were there to celebrate my husband's birthday and all of the staff did an excellent job of making it truly special. We were greeted by name every where we went, which was great. Amazing view of the CN tower from the pool/whirlpool. Best 5* we have stayed at anywhere in the world, can't wait to do it again soon!

Room Tip: Corner suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Ritz in Toronto is outstanding from check in to check out. Friendly, welcoming, informative from check in to check out. The 20th floor is worth the extra spend. This is truly a treat. We also visited the spa which was beautiful. The lounge area inbetween treatments is spectacular. Decor is cream and orange with lovely grey cashmere blankets to keep warm. The soaring ceiling with and light fixtures pulls it all together. I look forward to returning for my next staycation.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

With no doubt one of my best experiences at a hotel, worldwide. They just MADE IT!

I arrived and was greeted at the door by my name when the doorman had read my luggage tag after getting it out of the car. Immediately escorted to the front desk where i was checked in is LESS THAN A MINUTE which was great as I was not feeling good. I was also escorted to the room (19th floor) where I had spectacular views over the lake and the famous tower.

Big size room equipped with Nespresso machine, iphone docking station, big bathtub, rainshower, TV in the bathroom. What surprised me the most is that the hotel looked BRAND NEW and apparently it has been opened for about 3 years. Everything was impeccable to be honest. You really have a comfortable feel with a perfect balance between functionality and sophistication.

But the thing that I was most impressed about and most important was the service. I have never felt so special. When the in-room dining lady (Czech) came to bring me dinner, she offered to buy some pills for me and asked if i needed anything else. When coming in again to pick up the plates she brought me a drink (I don't know the brand it was in a can like coca cola) which she said would calm my throat. I was impressed by her attention and she really demonstrated she was caring to me. THANK YOU!!!! All staff throughout the hotel was always greeting you no matter how many times you passed by or even if they were busy with other guests.

Breakfast was excellent as well, with a good variety of hot dishes. However the ceramic lids are sooo heavy!!! Again service was impeccable.

The bar had a very nice waitress who introduced herself for whatever we would need and we really felt comfortable.

Space for improvement? The pressure on the shower which was low for my liking. However all the rest compensated that.

Being myself a hotelier of a competitor brand of Ritz Carlton, I can honestly suggest this hotel as the place to be in Toronto. They truly work hard to make you happy. THANK YOU to all the team!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

On arrival the doorman offers to take our baggage, which we gladly oblige. We then check in at the front desk. The manager comes to greet us by name without asking who we are, and whisk us to the Club lounge for check in. We are seated and the reception package is all ready, and we are offered welcome drinks. The front desk manager then gives us a tour our room and we have a nice chat. It looks as if they are anticipating our arrival, and how they greet us by name without us introducing ourselves still elude us.

Facility is what you expect from Ritz-Carlton, service is unruffled and attentive. You feel welcome all the way. The Club lounge serves breakfast, lunch, snacks, hors d'oeuvre, sweets all day long. Access to spa facilities. Everything seems effortless and yet efficient.

And here's the point: I have a year round code at 55% off regular weekend rates. So for the price of Renaissance you get Ritz-Carlton. If this is not 5 star value what can it be?

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

One of the best Marriott's that I have stayed at. Great hotel, very clean. Exceptional rooms. Staff was amazing, very accomodating and extremely knowledgeable. I will deffinitely stay again. This is my new favorite hotel to stay for business when in Toronto.

Room Tip: High floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband had to have surgery and we decided that I would stay downtown in a hotel while he was in the hospital. We chose the Ritz Carton because of our experience with other Ritz Carlton hotels. It was from December 20 - 28, so right during the Christmas Holidays.

The room was lovely and very comfortable - exactly what I've come to expect from Ritz Carlton, but it was the service that truly impressed me. It was so over and above what I even expected from a Ritz that we're going to go back just for fun even though we live in the Toronto area.

The staff went out of their way to accommodate ALL my needs and made me feel like I was coming home to family each night after I came back from the hospital. When I needed room service, it was excellent and quick and everyone went out of their way to help me. The hotel car took me to and from the hospital, eliminating the stress of traveling alone at night in an area that was not lively at night.

There was nothing they could have done better or more than what they did and I'll be forever grateful to them for making what was a very stressful time, much easier for us to get through.

Room Tip: The lake view on the SImcoe Park side is beautiful. You get the CN Tower, the Dome, The Convention C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Address: 181 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#3 Business Hotel in Toronto
#4 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#4 Family Hotel in Toronto
#6 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.