We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, luxurious and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit + More
Ranked #4 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Yellowknife, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Beautiful, luxurious and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We booked a room on our last days of a long Ontario vacation. We were exhausted and didn't want to have to drive to get anywhere. The location was perfect for seeing the sights of downtown Toronto, and the hotel itself is beautiful. Some lovely art in the lobby, a very nice pool, and the room made you want to stay in. The kids were captivated by the bathroom mirror TV. The room and bathroom were both quite large and very quiet. The service was impeccable, both in-room and at the front desk.

Room Tip: The CN Tower view is a little weird, because it is right in front of you, but it looks nice at night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    405
    91
    23
    5
    7
See reviews for
98
182
29
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We spent three nights nights at the RItz. My opinion is that this hotel is an excellent value on a global peer basis. If you are budget minded, or concerned about nickles and dimes, do not stay here. If you are value and service oriented this is a incredible deal.
My wife was not feeling so great during our stay. The hotel and Toca restaurant staff went above and beyond to ensure her comfort. As a result of not being able to finish her meal at dinner the restaurant staff prepared a fresh meal (not re-heated boxed leftovers) and delivered it to the room later that evening (who does that?). The next evening upon receiving room service they delivered chamomile tea and honey to her, unsolicited. These are only two examples of the fantastic service this group of hospitality processionals strive to deliver. This is a hotel that pays close attention to each guests need both verbalized and non-verbalized. ABSOLUTELY OUTSTANDING!
Not only do they check all the boxes for a high standard of quality and service they strive to set a higher bar. Without question this is one of, if not the finest, hotels in North America.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The hotel is BEAUTIFUL. We've stayed in RC all over the world, and this is one of my favorites. The location is ideal, we walked to town easily and the baseball stadium. The staff is helpful, warm, and the food is delicious, nice pool area...this is by far the most elegant property in the area...it's a no brainer! Ask the bartender for an iced coffee, he shakes it in a martini canister!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had a great time in corner room. Super swimming pool under CN tower and spa was enjoyable. Staff were great. Only minor criticisms are that wi-fi should be included in tariff and breakfasts, as with most other hotels, represent rather poor value. Good location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I had the great fortune to stay on the Club Level of the Ritz-Carlton Toronto last month. Previous to that stay, we had enjoyed our stays at several Ritz-Carltons on the East Coast. All the Ritz-Carltons are terrific, but the one in Toronto (which opened about a year and a half ago) is off the charts. The staff was efficient and helpful without being stuffy. Our room was beautiful; the spa was to die for; and the Club Level lounge was stunning. The attendants, who artfully displayed five servings of food each day, were wonderful. The food was of the sort we'd see in five-star restaurants, including treats such as foie gras, mussels and sushi. All the beverages, including alcoholic, were included at no charge. Overall, this was an incredible experience.

Room Tip: If you can, stay on the Club Level. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This Ritz-Carlton is an amazing hotel. The rooms are great, staff is so friendly (especially valet service), and the location is perfect. Only 10 minutes from all the shopping, not even 5 minutes from the CN Tower and Rogers Stadium. Pool was also fantastic. In the rooms the beds were comfy, bathrooms were great also. Never had the chance to experience the spa. Just a great stay and will come back!

Room Tip: Corner suites are set up in an odd way. There is a slide door for the bathroom and just a long hallw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Last weekend I was in Toronto and stayed at the Ritz for the first time with my husband and daughters. My first impression of the hotel was that it was obvious that much thought went into giving the hotel a Canadian look and feel - from the maple leafs imbedded into the floor in the lobby to the pieces of art work on display throughout the hotel. They even had "coffee table books" about Canadian subject matters. I appreciate walking into a hotel that makes me feel warm and comfortable from the start. An added bonus was that the staff were very friendly and very attentive. The rooms were comfortable and the workout room was very well equipped although I would have liked to have an attendant available as I needed some assistance with some of the machines (it was 9:00AM). I would definitely book again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Address: 181 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#3 Business Hotel in Toronto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#4 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#6 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.