We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit + More
Ranked #4 of 141 hotels in Toronto
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had a great time in corner room. Super swimming pool under CN tower and spa was enjoyable. Staff were great. Only minor criticisms are that wi-fi should be included in tariff and breakfasts, as with most other hotels, represent rather poor value. Good location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

530 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    405
    91
    22
    5
    7
See reviews for
98
181
29
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

My husband and I had the great fortune to stay on the Club Level of the Ritz-Carlton Toronto last month. Previous to that stay, we had enjoyed our stays at several Ritz-Carltons on the East Coast. All the Ritz-Carltons are terrific, but the one in Toronto (which opened about a year and a half ago) is off the charts. The staff was efficient and helpful without being stuffy. Our room was beautiful; the spa was to die for; and the Club Level lounge was stunning. The attendants, who artfully displayed five servings of food each day, were wonderful. The food was of the sort we'd see in five-star restaurants, including treats such as foie gras, mussels and sushi. All the beverages, including alcoholic, were included at no charge. Overall, this was an incredible experience.

Room Tip: If you can, stay on the Club Level. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This Ritz-Carlton is an amazing hotel. The rooms are great, staff is so friendly (especially valet service), and the location is perfect. Only 10 minutes from all the shopping, not even 5 minutes from the CN Tower and Rogers Stadium. Pool was also fantastic. In the rooms the beds were comfy, bathrooms were great also. Never had the chance to experience the spa. Just a great stay and will come back!

Room Tip: Corner suites are set up in an odd way. There is a slide door for the bathroom and just a long hallw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Last weekend I was in Toronto and stayed at the Ritz for the first time with my husband and daughters. My first impression of the hotel was that it was obvious that much thought went into giving the hotel a Canadian look and feel - from the maple leafs imbedded into the floor in the lobby to the pieces of art work on display throughout the hotel. They even had "coffee table books" about Canadian subject matters. I appreciate walking into a hotel that makes me feel warm and comfortable from the start. An added bonus was that the staff were very friendly and very attentive. The rooms were comfortable and the workout room was very well equipped although I would have liked to have an attendant available as I needed some assistance with some of the machines (it was 9:00AM). I would definitely book again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a marvelous time here, using mileage points, we were able to stay in the Club level. If we were not here on business, I would have been happy to never even leave the lounge. Lovely staff, food and drinks. Felt like they were all our friends by the time we left. The spa was marvelous and the location was really terrific, you could walk to many interesting spots. The Sunday brunch was exceptional, if you are staying there on a Sunday, don't miss it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackensack, New Jersey
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton for a romantic anniversary weekend and it was everything we dreamed of and more. We upgraded to the Club Level and it was worth every penny. Our suite was gorgeous with 2 views of the city, luxurious amenities, elegant decor and exacting service. The Club Level allowed us access to the Club Room for daily breakfast, cocktails, hors d'oeuvre, lunch, snacks and desserts with after dinner drinks. Located in the heart of the financial district and within walking distance to the CN Tower, Rogers Centre, Theater District, Hockey Hall of Fame and so much more, it made getting around convenient. Even the simple detail of acknowledging our anniversary was done with style and elegance. Everyone on the staff was friendly and helpful and the staff at the Club Room was very helpful. I cannot say enough about how wonderful our experience was at the Ritz Carlton. Yes it costs more, but for that level of service and pampering, it was well worth it. We hope to be able to do it again soon!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

Yes it's new and modern. However, for a high end hotel such as this I would expect more than the basics. No slippers in the room and 30 mins after requesting none arrived. Bathroom amenities don't include loufa/sponge, shaving cream or mouthwash. Pool area doesn't have shower/pool shoes.

If Sheraton and Hyatt can afford to provide these items, surely the Ritz can as well

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Address: 181 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#3 Business Hotel in Toronto
#4 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#4 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#6 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Otel and Venere so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.