We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What one would expect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$400 Hotel Credit
Ranked #5 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Muskoka District, Canada
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“What one would expect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

An excellent ambassador for the Ritz brand. Excellence throughout. new menu in Toca a little dodgy but service excellent, and you must visit the cheese cave. Club level amenities spot on.

Within walking distance of many Toronto attractions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    570
    116
    29
    6
    10
See reviews for
145
254
33
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Having staid at numerous ritz properties throughout out the world all I can say is you know exactly what you are going to get! Spacious rooms, excellent staff and one of the most thought out spas I have ever seen make this a perfect business hotel. Unfortunately the lack of soul keeps me from giving the hotel top marks. That said this is by the best hotel I have stained at during my many visits to Toronto.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My family and I spent the Canadian Thanksgiving at the Toronto Ritz-Carlton for a family wedding and we were blown away by the whole experience! Everyone we dealt with, from valet parking to the cleaning staff, was very courteous. The hotel is new (I believe it was build last year) and they made sure to build it of very high quality materials. The inset TVs in the bathroom mirrors is a very nice touch! Overall - our family (of 15!) did not have a single complaint!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This is clearly a great hotel. Flawless treatment at check-in, amazing rooms a bed as comfortable as it gets. Views were also great, overlooking donwtown Toronto and Lake Ontario. Despite this, and the hotel's rates, wi-fi isn't complementary! Seriously, nowadays this is not justifiable on a property like this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yyc
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The Ritz is a beautiful hotel but for the price I think it should be better. I was surprised that you have to pay $9.95 per 24 hour period to get wifi.

I was disappointed that they denied my late check out request even though I was only asking to stay until 1 pm and check out was at 12.

The pool area is nice and clean but the high ceiling makes the sound carry and so even with a few kids in the pool it is very noisy.

The room service meal was very good although a $30 meal ends up costing $45 after service fees and gratuity.

The service was friendly, CN tower nearby, some shopping across the street and good conference facilities.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We did like the lobby of this hotel, maybe because we were there around Christmas and it had a festive feeling, with a huge Christmas tree and golden decorations. It looked very impressive. Staff was quite friendly, the bell boy actually knew where we were from when we told him our name after pulling in, so he obviously went into some trouble to make us feel welcome. Check in was pretty smooth.

The location of the Ritz is fantastic. Within walking distance to all theatres, great dining and the subway. Extremely convenient.

Our room, on the other hand, did not impress us at all. We had two beds, and there was VERY LITTLE space for moving around. We could not open both our suitcases at the same time. It's unbelievable how little room we had! No view to speak of neither - overlooking another building. There was a TV in the bathroom, but I don't feel it made up for the fact that only one person could be walking around the room at any given time - all others had to be seated, waiting for their turn.

We really don't have any major complaints about the Ritz and had quite a pleasant stay, but for the price we expected to be impressed by everything, and we weren't.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Great service, hotel, and location. Really in the middle of everything. We were able
to walk everywhere. From clubs, bars, etc. or small cab rides. Maison club is a block away for a dance night. Weslodge is a small can ride or walk to a great bar eat spot.

Thumbs up.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Address: 181 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#3 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#4 Family Hotel in Toronto
#5 Business Hotel in Toronto
#5 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.