We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING STAY!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit + More
Ranked #3 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“AMAZING STAY!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Overall amazing stay at the hotel. My husband and I stayed at the hotel to celebrate our wedding. When we got to our room, we received an unexpectedly generous surprise: sparkling wine in ice, rich chocolate cake, congratulations balloons and a love poem!! We felt very special!!

The room was very clean, the bedsheets were soft and cozy. There were plenty of towels and pillows. There was no dust, not a single stain or bug (which we have found at other luxury hotels, hidden in a corner or behind furniture). The bathroom was spacious and white. We did not get a room with Club level access, but we still absolutely loved our stay. The pool water was at perfect temperature and everything was very clean. I did not take advantage of the spa since we did not stay long enough, but it seemed very nice.

Every single member of staff provided excellent service to us. There was an accident when our in-room dining was brought in. The drinks spilled on the floor and shoes. Immediately, the mess was cleaned up, the shoes were taken to dry and our meal was free. This proved to us just how exceptional the Ritz-Carlton really is. Every person working at the hotel was genuinely friendly and extremely hard-working. We were very impressed!! The food was also delicious!

Truly, I did not want to leave the hotel! For future trips, I only want to stay at the Ritz-Carlton. Once you have the pleasure of the Ritz-Carlton experience, I think any other hotel becomes only tolerable. Really, outstanding!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    106
    26
    6
    8
See reviews for
132
227
33
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a great hotel in Toronto. Staff are very friendly and eager to help. The hotel has a great feel and great ambiance. The room was very comfortable. Wonderful turn down service. Had a fantastic equipped gym - latest equipment and everything you can think of - operating 24 hours. Swimming is short but adequate.
I don't usually comment on beds, as I can fall asleep easily when travelling. But I found the beds here extremely comfortable, so I thought I should mention it.
Breakfast at Toca was delightful. The restaurant had a very rustic contemporary feel , cheese lovers will love the cheese room here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed in a club-level room on the 19th floor during TIFF (Toronto International Film Festival). Club level was the best part and was worth every penny. In the lounge, we had free access to breakfast, light lunch, cocktail hour appetizers, and an evening dessert bar along with free beverages, wine, cocktails, etc. You pay extra for the club-level room, and it includes access to the lounge. Everything was top-notch in terms of quality and presentation. Service throughout the hotel was outstanding. The hotel itself is very nice, somewhat posh but not extraordinary. The decor is modern. The pool area is average, but kids would definitely be happy with it. We didn't sample the hotel's bars or restaurants as we went out for dinner. Overall, a great experience, and I would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I've read quite a few of the previous reviews, I completely agree with their positive comments. This Hotel management knows the meaning of hospitality, they know how to make each guest feel special. The Spa deserves another mention, the staff, design and the facilities are outstanding - loved having the option of ladies only pool etc. We stayed for 4 nights in a corner suite on the club floor. Each of the club concierge staff were very well trained and extremely helpful, just one hitch - we didn't like the car hire company that they booked for us, we had a situation where we had to call the company for assistance and they were very rude and not helpful at all. We rushed back to the Ritz with the car and they solved the problem at once.
Oh, and a reminder to the Club Manager - don't forget the note book and pen at the computer desk! The Ritz Carlton is in my top 5 from around the World, I'm sure we'll see it's TA rating move upwards in the near future. Loved it ! loved it!

Room Tip: corner suite is possibly the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Located in the heart of downtown this Contemporary Style Ritz provides all one expects from an outstanding Deluxe hotel. Outstanding and welcoming staff, Comfortable modern rooms, outstanding Health Club and spa. Deluxe Clairns amenities Outstanding Restaurants and Bars and a first class Concierge Team. Even the jewelry shop in the lobby is special. Club floor is worth the additional cost.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but those facing the lake are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Ritz Carlton is an excellent hotel. The rooms are large, have big bathrooms and are extremely comfortable with superb beds, large televisions and Bose wave stereos. All of the staff were friendly and very helpfull. This was definitely one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.

The location of the hotel is also very good. The only thing I would criticise is that the restaurant and bars are very expensive and therefore we chose to eat and drink elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you can get a special rate at this hotel, as we did through our holiday company, do not consider...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed three nights on the club floor at Toronto's Ritz Carlton recently, and I wish we were still there! It's very similar to our favorite RC in San Francisco: elegant lounge with continuous delicious food and an open bar, professional and most gracious staff, and awesome views of the city, including a close-up of Toronto's tower from the lounge. Our room was also large and lovely, with beautiful comfort all around. The bed's truly wonderful! Yes, it's expensive to stay on the club floor, but nothing else compares. You really could eat every meal in the lounge -- especially if, like me, you enjoy small portions. Oh, and a chocolate fountain every evening! Some places are unforgettable. This hotel is one of those.

Room Tip: If you can do it, go for the club floor. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Address: 181 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Toronto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#3 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#3 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#4 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.