We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel experience imaginable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit + More
Ranked #3 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Halton Hills, Ontario
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The best hotel experience imaginable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

From start to finish, the staff, facilities and experience of this hotel are marvellous. I stayed in a spotless and luxurious guest room on the 6th floor which had a patio. The room service was impeccable and the food delicious. The spa on the 5th floor is probably one of the most enjoyable I've used in ages. Overall, the Ritz-Carlton Toronto is worth every penny. I cannot wait to stay over again.

Room Tip: 6th floor room with attached patio is delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    106
    26
    6
    8
See reviews for
132
227
33
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel 5 times since it opened 2-3 years ago. Each time we have been able to book a package that included full breakfast and parking. Not this time. Although this was one of several special "offers" shown on this property's website as well as on the main R-C website, NONE of the offers were available for the dates we tried (July 27, 28, 29; a Fri through Sun), this despite our having this exact same package exactly a year ago. So we checked random dates for approx one month either side, just out of curiosity. Again, NOT A SINGLE "offer" available for a single date. Perplexing, to say the least. Moreover, the "weekend" rate for Sunday is bumped up an additional $95 - something in our experience virtually all hotel chains had stopped long ago as it is human nature for people to feel they are being overcharged for the Sunday, rather than getting a break on the Fri-Sat rate, the excuse the chains reverted to as explanation. The location is good for what we do in Toronto, the restaurants we go to, so we went ahead and booked. The R-C online booking engine always asks if you wish a high floor or low floor. We checked off High. Upon arrival we found ourselves in a suite on the 10th of 20 floors, not "high" by any definition. A corner Lake View suite doesn't exactly provide much view of the lake from the 10th floor. In fact, the same had occured at the R-C on Grand Cayman a couple of years ago, on that occasion our suite proved to be on the 3rd floor. If you ask, and the guest's preference is simply going to be ignored, why ask?? Again, puzzling. Further, cost of a full American breakfast actually rivals or surpasses NYC(!) - where we stayed at the Four Seasons just last month, NYC being known world wide for costly hotel breakfasts.. Parking was an additional $42 per day (word of advice, park underground in the equally new building next door - not 20 feet away - for a flat $15 on weeekends).

The hotel itself is everything one expects in a 5 star property and really cannot be faulted. Staff is truly exceptional. Unfortunately, they, and the property, are undermined by antiquated and long-out-of-date practices still being imposed by corporate management in Bethesda. From seemingly endless similar experiences related on the Internet, Ritz Carlton is falling behind rapidly and there needs to be changes at the top.

Room Tip: Avoid Ritz Carltons until management cease treating their customers as stooges.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

This place doesn't need additional advertising. I am on the 20th floor, Club Delux room with lake view and all the goodies included. Was a little dissapointed with their breakfast. Would expect something more exclusive for Ritz and Club Delux in particular. Not enough froots. When I assked for fried eggs instead of omlet, that was served as the part of breakfast buffey, waiter said I have to pay for it! Well, even hotels of that level have problems. The main one is desire to save money where not necessary.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

DEQ, nice but ordinary...Joana great server, helpful. TOCA, good wild boar ragout, good wines, great steak...but again, nothing that special. Club level room great, wonderful amenities, drinks free. Well worth it for a special night(s).

Room Tip: Lakeview is nice, but not really ON lake, north of Gardiner looking past CN tower and condos...but C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is so friendly. My 10 year old son and I had the best stay. The staff was welcoming from the moment we arrived until we left. Everyone went out of their way to make us feel special. Great views of the CN Tower.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Ritz Carlton is one of the best hotels in Toronto. The staff is professional, they understand service, the rooms are above average, and the hotel on par with other Ritz hotels.

Room Tip: Book a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

I have stayed at the Ritz twice in the last few months and it is an amazing place. Rooms well appointed, spacious, and new. This hotel has amazing service!!! The food is also excellent.
Hosting a conference at the hotel is a pleasure! They seem to anticipate needs and do so many little extras.
Though I have not had time to properly enjoy the spa, it is lovely!!
Personal favourite parts of the room....great views and the TV in the bathroom mirror!
The staff we work with are extremely professional, kind and a true joy to work with.
Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The rooms that look onto CN Tower are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Address: 181 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Toronto
#2 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#3 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#3 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#4 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.