We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   181 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Hotel Credit + More
Ranked #3 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Loved the Ritz! Rooms are beautiful, with Bulgari White Tea amenities, coffee maker and a very well-stocked minibar. Internet access and bottled water are complimentary. If you like peace and quiet, you may want to call in advance to make sure you get a quiet room, as some of the rooms are on the side with the deck where parties take place sometimes. Reception is prompt and professional without being cold. In-room breakfast was delicious! When back in Toronto, will be back at the Ritz!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    106
    26
    6
    8
See reviews for
132
227
33
166
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

This will be our first choice upon our return to TO. We've stayed at 4 other hotels in the area and have decided this is our favorite and the best (and we LOVE to be pampered and spoiled at our hotels.)
My husband and I come to TO every September for the Jays vs Yankees series. This hotel is a very short walk to Rogers Center. Minutes away from some great restaurants, a short cab ride to Eatons center, and my new shopping favorite, Yorkville, Bloor Street!
The service at the Ritz is simply fantastic, the staff are so friendly and completely customer orientated, all staff we were in contact with were more than willing to accomodate our needs. The atmosphere and surroundings are perfect.
We did not have a chance to enjoy any of the restaurants on site but did order room service, which fell short of my expectations.
The room itself was a one bedroom corner suite that was very quiet and clean, (although there was papers and a gift bag with lotion from the spa left behind from the previous guests.) It was large and the bed was comfy. In my opinion there is a number of "touches" that could have been made to make it a 5+ hotel, such as heated towel bars, doorbells (cannot hear knocking when in the bedroom), DND signs that are electronic rather than door hangers, electronic curtains, etc.
The spa was very, very nice, comfortable, clean, and well equipped. I had a 90 minute massage booked with Brad and enjoyed every minute of it. He did exactly as I asked of him and was completely professional. I normally have a female therapist but one was not available for the time I preferred, but am so glad it turned out the way it did. Worth every penny!
Overall, we loved the hotel and service (maybe just the name and what it represents to be honest) and will be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here during the Toronto Indy race and truly enjoyed the experience. The restaurants are great as well as the pool area, excersise room. Very high-level service.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

The hotel was exactly what we expected of a Ritz-Carlton Hotel. The rooms were very big, the beds comfortable and the bathroom was like an oasis - very big, light and it was the first time that I saw a TV integrated into the mirror - an additional luxurious detail. The staff was extremely friendly. The front office staff always greeted when we entered or left the hotel and the porter even recognized our name on arrival - something like this has never happened to us before and made us feel very welcome. Extraordinary job!
We had booked an executive room with access to the executive lounge. The staff there was very friendly and help. The catering there was amazing. The food was delicious and neatly arranged. However, I would have appreciated if they had vacuum cleaned the Lounge area again after the breakfast as the floor became quite dirty during the course of the day.
As the hotel is situated in the middle of Downtown Toronto sites and shopping areas can be easily reached. Many restaurants are close by. This makes you very flexible.
Although staying at this hotel is quite expensive I have to say that it is worth it. We would always come back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011 via mobile

Breakfast at TOCA is unsatisfactory
1. Table arrangement is uncomfortable.
2. Table utensils look modern, but are not user friendly.
3. Music is loud and distracting for that hour of the day.
4. Menu is a la carte, ends up with a bill of between $40/person, food quality is fair and non inspiring.

Reception is not great during checking out.
1. The receptionist said she would e mail the bill to our address and it would seem reasonable. When asked for a hard copy to look through, I detected  several errors which were double charges for the Internet and phone items. Suggest you check your bill and not to allow her to say we will e mail the bill to your account.

Location of this hotel is poor in relation to The Four Seasons with no shops and restaurants unless one walks for a distance.

This hotel cannot be recommended for those traveling for leisure

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is top notch luxurious. We book for a corner unit with a CN Tower view and we were pampered traveling as a family of 4 (2 adults and 2 children). If you are looking to pamper yourself and your companions this is one of the hotels in Toronto. 

Nice hotel features: (this hotel has a long list of great features but I'm just going to name a few that matters to us)
> Big corner room with everything modern. Including the coffee machine!
> Valet parking for a flat fee with unlimited ins and outs.
Two Bose sound units in our corner room. Give us a great listening pleasure. 
> Built-in TV in the washroom (best washroom we have come across from all the hotels we have stayed ). 
> Flat rate internet fee for unlimited devices (we have 2 laptops, 2 blackberrys and 3 iPads all getting strong wireless Internet signal).
> Fitness room that's open 24hours
> Spa service that will spoil you

Not-so-nice features: (something we wish it could have or do better)
> Breakfast doesn't come as buffet. (we were hoping for a Sangri-la hotel's style buffet which we have tried while staying in Taipei). All we get is a plain ala cart breakfast and nothing interesting for our kids.
> Pull out sofa bed has metal edges which are unsafe for little kids. This could have been fix with some sort of covering to cushion the metal. 

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights on our first trip to Toronto. We chose this hotel as it was featured as a special offer when we booked our flights with BA to get 3 nights for the price of 2.

We expected luxury and the hotel did not disappoint with the advantage of everything being brand new. The rooms are very spacious with a separate bar area, large desk and sitting area. The real wow factor though is the amazing bathroom with a 'hidden' tv screen in the mirror, large bathtub & separate walk in shower.

We didn't try the restaurant but there is a great outdoor terrace at the back of the bar where they serve light meals and snacks which were very tasty.
All in all an amazing experience and a great opportunity to sample this luxury at an affordable price!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto

Address: 181 Wellington Street West, Toronto, Ontario M5V 3G7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Toronto
#3 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#3 Spa Hotel in Toronto
#3 Luxury Hotel in Toronto
#4 Business Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto 5*
Number of rooms: 263
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto’s most centrally located AAA Five Diamond award winning hotel, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto welcomes guests to the heart of Canada’s most culturally diverse city. Just steps from the city’s financial district and cultural attractions, the luxury hotel offers views of the CN Tower, Lake Ontario and downtown Toronto. Featuring Canada’s only cheese cave at TOCA Restaurant, an outdoor terrace at DEQ, and the #1 Hotel Spa in the world, The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto offers an oasis in the heart of the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Toronto Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Toronto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.