We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square

Save Saved
You added Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 Bremner Blvd, Toronto, Ontario M5J 0A1, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #3 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Toronto
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I recently stayed at the Le Germain Maple Leaf Square for one night in an Executive Suite. I had stayed at a Le Germain property before and had high expectations but this location's customer service blew me away. I had called the hotel twice before arriving, once to book the room and once to ask a questions. The level of friendliness and professionalism was amazing. The staff even followed up by email to provide me with additional information and give me an opportunity to ask any additional questions.
The hotel is incredibly clean, the executive suite was very spacious and modern, and the location couldn't be any better with easy access to the Air Canada Centre, a grocery/pharmacy and several restaurants.
One note, if you are looking for somewhere to dine go to E11even, rather than Aria.
Thank you Le Germain staff for your excellent customer service.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    434
    78
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
80
202
23
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roswell, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I was fortunate to stay here for 2 nights during a business trip to Toronto. The hotel is ultra chic in a subtle way. great breakfast, comfortable room/bed and the staff was friendly, helpful and very professional. I highly recommend this hotel and hope to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Toronto impressed us - a very clean "efficient" young feeling to the city, quite different from Montreal's dreariness.

Le Germain fitted this feeling perfectly - a modern hotel with pleasant, efficient, facilities. We stayed in a balcony suite and it was comfortable and effective.

A noticeable difference is that the staff were well above average - two examples: our room was not quite ready on arrival, not a major problem but mildly tedious; we made no fuss and were prepared to wait. I went outside for a cigarette and a minute or two later was approached by the manager who'd come out to apologise. That's a courtesy I appreciate and which impresses.

The other example impressed me even more - we'd chatted with the concierge and planned to visit Niagra the next day, then we went out to a nearby restaurant, the rather large and busy Real Sports Bar & Grill. We were sitting waiting for food when Charles, the concierge, appeared at our table to tell us that there was a marathon in the city the next day so the car journey to Niagra might be a problem. He had taken the trouble not only to think about implications for our planned trip but had also come all the way to the restaurant and sought us out among the bustling crowd.

That is a level of thoughtful personal service to which good hotels should aspire - well done Charles.

To some extent a hotel is a hotel - you get a room with a bed and one hotel might have a softer bed or a bigger bathroom or better shampoo. In the better hotels one is unlikely to have poor facilities and one is usually left simply with an overall impression of quite nice or very nice. But if the service is good too what a difference it makes and if the service is excellent then one's perception of the hotel rockets upwards.

We've stayed in some of the most luxurious and expensive hotels one can find over the years and enjoyed them but undoubtedly Le Germain is up there at the top of our list of memorable great hotels not for its expensive luxury but for its service quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I had to attend a meeting in Toronto at short notice, and since the meeting was being held at the Hotel Le Germain (Nov 2)- I decided it would be simplest to just stay at the Le Germain for the evening prior to the meeting. Checking in was fine, and although I will agree with another reviewer that the shower placement in the room was a little odd - overall I thought the room was quite comfortable. I ordered room service, and while expensive - the bison sliders were good. I went to sleep that night thinking I had made a wise choice in selecting this hotel. That is until 12:45 am when I awoke to the sound of the fire alarm. The alarm continued for roughly 20-30 minutes with frequent but unhelpful comments on the intercom from security. Eventually the firefighters arrived, checked the hotel and the alarms ended. While I don't love awakening to fire alarms - better safe than sorry I thought. I was almost back asleep when the fire alarm went off again - this time close to 2 am. Same drill - very loud alarm, same unhelpful comments from security. Again the firefighters arrived and shut down the alarm - now close to 2:30 am. I have to assume both alarms were false - we were never told what had happened.

Ultimately I had to get up at 7 am for my meeting, and ended up with perhaps 3 hours sleep. I note from an earlier review, the Germain had a similar night time fire alarm a few days previous. For a hotel that with taxes charges $470/room a night - I would have expected them to fix their alarm system after the first incident but apparently no. I also would have expected an apology - a bill reduction or something - but no.

Very nice hotel - but you may want to sleep eslewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDHenderson, Director of Rooms Division at Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear MLRobert,

I’m sorry that you were here for such a disruptive night at the hotel. We try our hardest to provide ideal sleeping conditions, but sometimes our efforts are thwarted.

Rest assured that if there was even the smallest issue with the alarm system at the hotel, we would act immediately to correct it. The issues that triggered the alarms were valid and unrelated to any previous alarms. I fully agree that these situations are a nuisance, and also agree that it is better to be safe than sorry. The triggers weren’t connected to hotel operations; however, the life-protection system is programmed to alert everyone in the complex under certain circumstances.

We are reviewing how to improve the clarity of the announcements. If you can provide any more specific feedback on your experience, I would be happy to speak with you. Please feel free to email me at mhenderson@germainmapleleafsquare.com or phone me at 416 649 7575.

Despite our recent luck, fire alarms are rare at the hotel, and I would be happy to welcome you back when you have the opportunity to return to the area.

Thanks for staying with us,

Murray Henderson
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Spent three nights here, one of three Le Germain hotels we stayed at and all three were v good. Clean, sleek, trendy hotel which looks good for business trips and leisure trips. Good location, 5 minutes from the CN Tower. Huge room; comfortable beds, large & v well-equipped bathroom, office area. Breakfast good; breakfast area well designed. Reception v helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the hotel last night for a two day business meeting. The room is comfortable, and overall service is good. The shower is a bit odd as it is in the middle of the room and all glass. My only complaint is the valet service. The hotel is in an office building with full underground parking, yet they make you use the valet for the car retrieval causing you to go out into the rain ( I stayed during the tropical storm sandy) instead of allowing me to go down and get my own car in the dry public garage even when I suggested that I would prefer to get it myself instead of going outside.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDHenderson, Director of Rooms Division at Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Marc N,

Your suggestion is great. I am currently working with our valet staff and the management of the company that runs the parking garage to find a seamless way to make this happen.

Thanks very much for your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again, regardless of Mother Nature’s mood.

Murray Henderson
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here last night. Nice hotel except the fire alarm goes off at 1:20am and it takes 45 minutes to get it turned off and stop with announcements. I realize stuff like this happens although I have never stayed at a hotel where this has happened. What annoys me is no one apologized for it or even acknowledged it even when as I was was checking out I said I had a horrible sleep. Then to add to we had asked for a paper to be delivered and it was not. I guess I head back to the Harbour Castle again. So much for trying different.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDHenderson, Director of Rooms Division at Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear 63Hotelmike,

I am very sorry that your stay with us ended without a heartfelt apology. While the cause of the disruption may have been out of our control, our reaction was not.

When fire alarms occur during the night, we try to find small ways to make everyone’s morning easier. For us, creating a reason for you to smile on a groggy morning is the best remedy. I regret that we didn’t find a way for this to happen in your case.

We sincerely appreciate that you chose to stay with us, but are disappointed that you were dissatisfied with our follow-up service. If there is any further assistance I can provide to you, please feel free to call me at 416 649 7575, or email me at mhenderson@germainmapleleafsquare.com.

Thanks,

Murray Henderson
Director of Rooms Division
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square

Address: 75 Bremner Blvd, Toronto, Ontario M5J 0A1, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto's Second Le Germain HôtelGroupe Germain is reasserting itself in Toronto with Hôtel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square. Integrated into the complex for which it is named, this 167-room boutique-hotel is one element in a real estate development that combines condominiums, offices, retail shops and restaurants.Hotspot for Sports and EntertainmentLocated just steps from the Air Canada Centre, home to the Toronto Maple Leafs (hockey) and the Raptors (basketball), and venue for Toronto's hottest events and shows, the hotel is at the heart of it all.Quiet Oasis in a Buzzing NeighbourhoodAlthough the hotel is immersed in the city's vibrant core, it remains loyal to Groupe Germain's philosophy, which is founded on elegance combined with authenticity. Each Germain property strives to achieve the same goal: to offer a comfortable and inviting atmosphere where personalized, yet discreet service is of the utmost importance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Germain Maple Leaf Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.