We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK as a last resort” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Hotel Toronto Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Hotel Toronto Airport to your Saves list
Travelodge Hotel Toronto Airport
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   925 Dixon Road, Toronto, Ontario M9W 1J8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“OK as a last resort”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2008

I stayed at this hotel for a week while in town on business and visiting friends, and while it was reasonably clean and comfortable, the service was so terrible I would not stay there again. There are enough hotels in the area in the same price range that there's no reason to go to this Travelodge.

Two days into my stay when I was getting my room key card re-programmed (which I had to do daily because it would stop working) the lady at the front desk very rudely informed me that she did not know why I was in the room I was in, and that I would need to pack up my things and move rooms immediately since it was almost checkout time, otherwise I would need to pay an additional $30 a night to keep the room I had.

Well I can tell you exactly why I had the room I had, because the man at the front desk who checked me in was checking me out, if you know what I mean. But I don't think I should have to move rooms just because they checked me into a room that was more expensive than the one I reserved. I did not ask for that room. I didn't even realize it was more expensive - it had the same ammenities as my reservation. The only difference I could tell is it was on one of the "business" floors, which I didn't know until afterwards.

At the time I was at the front desk having this conversation about changing rooms I was on my way to a meeting and I did not have time to go and pack up all my things, so I agreed to pay the extra for that night. The next day I moved to another room but they still billed me the higher rate for the remainder of my trip. When I asked about this at check out, they said their rates were higher for those days and that there was a note in the system that I had been informed about this. (I had not been informed about this.) She explained that since this second room was not under my original reservation because I had been moved, I did not get the rate I would have gotten if I had booked that room online. I asked if this meant that midweek when I moved rooms because of their staff putting me in the wrong room, I should have checked out, made another online reservation and then checked in again... and she said yes, that is what I should have done to get the rate I originally reserved at. Honestly I didn't have the patience to argue with them about it, although I'm sure I could have gotten some money back if I complained to the general manager. I've just never had anyone say something so ridiculous to me when I'm giving them so much business. I stayed at that hotel for 7 nights, and I never will again.

  • Liked — Location (airport, highways)
  • Disliked — Changing rooms midweek, arguing to get the rate I reserved at, being overcharged
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    235
    147
    82
    41
See reviews for
133
214
61
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

I stayed here so as to avoid driving to the airport in a severe winter storm as I had an early morning flight. I thought it was a very comfortable hotel. The beds were awesome, hard to get up in the morning.The hotel has a nice lobby but the rooms are very plain and not exactly pretty, but when staying at an airport hotel I don't care about pretty.
The pool was clean and well maintained. The restaurant downstairs had great food but was slightly pricey.
I had no issues with this hotel and would stay here again:)

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2006

Travel constantly for business and stay here often. While rooms are showing age, the beds are comfortable, a nice work space is provided in rooms and curtains keep it dark and rooms are quiet. In other words, decent for business. Clean.

The fitness area is a bit less than ideal but is being renovated along with lobby, so wait and see in the fall I guess.

Service is attentive and friendly, and plenty of free parking.

Excellent food in the restaurant (on high side of average price) with a nice bar with good selection of European beers (if that's your thing)

  • Liked — Good sleep, clean, quiet
  • Disliked — Older furnishings
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2006

Another great stay!!! Checked in late Sunday night and the staff did everything to make my stay wonderful. And what a nice room with a king size bed. I have been there 3 times now and would definitely recommend this to any one especially those catching an early flight out of Pearson.

  • Liked — room service, the size of the room, friendly staff
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowville
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2006

I have to start by saying that I like this hotel. It has always been clean, friendly, and has a reliable shuttle restaurant is goo, and there are others around that are good. The pool is clean and It is a good price for stopovers.
The bad, this is not a reflection so much on the hotel but rather a systemic problem for all hotels in the aria. When we returned from our flight we discovered that all 4 tires were stolen and our window was smashed. Their long term parking is at the former Regal Constellation, currently closed. There was also a gentleman we that had his radio taken. The hotel was very sorry, comped our room with an upgrade and we very helpful.We are flying out again this may, and we still will stay there it a good place, But I think all should be concerned that the neighborhood has become a haven for car vandalism.

Stayed May 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2006

Great Hotel, the sales manager mohamed was great. Very clean hotel & great service.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2004

I recently stayed at this Travelodge, as I had to catch an early flight to the US, and wanted someplace close to the airport and reasonably priced.

My experience was horrible; I walked into a room with airconditioning blasting, to mask the smell of damp. As well, the bathroom was old with a cracked mirror and mold growing on the top of the shower.

All night long I kept hearing a fan, which meant a really lousy night's sleep.

I read that the other reviewer liked the 24 hour shuttle. I believed, based on the website, that this is a complimentary service. It is not, it is $6, which is same price as a taxi, and you do not have to stop at every terminal.

As a frequent traveller, I have stayed in budget as well as more lavish accomodation... and this would be my worst experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Hotel Toronto Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Toronto Airport

Address: 925 Dixon Road, Toronto, Ontario M9W 1J8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Hotel Toronto Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 284
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Travelodge Hotel Toronto Airport is a 3 Stars, full service hotel with 284 rooms and over 8,000 square feet meeting space. For the most discerning business traveler, we offer the option of non-smoking and smoking executive floor rooms. Keyed elevator access ensures privacy and security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Toronto Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Toronto Airport
Travel Lodge Etobicoke
Travelodge Etobicoke
Travelodge Hotel Etobicoke
Etobicoke Travel Lodge
Etobicoke Travelodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Hotel Toronto Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.