We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst establishment I've ever stayed in!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Toronto Plaza Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Toronto Plaza Airport Hotel to your Saves list
Toronto Plaza Airport Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1677 Wilson Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M3L 1A5, Canada (Formerly Days Hotel and Conference Centre Toronto Airport East)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worst establishment I've ever stayed in!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I received a voucher for a free stay at the hotel. I would have rather stayed home. I live in the area so decided to take my 5 year-old daughter for a fun mother-daughter getaway.
The area is not safe at night so went to the nearby Shoppers Drug Mart to get milk & other incidentals for the overnight stay. No fridge in my room. That's ok, I'll use ice to keep the milk. Had to pay for ice. Not happy but "oh well".
We dropped our overnight bag in the filthy room, holes in blankets, weird smells, rusted sink & bathtub, smell of marijuana in the hallway.
Put milk in the ice bucket and went down to the Sports Bar in the hotel for a pizza. The young lady who served us was friendly, courteous & took extra care to make sure my daughter was enjoying her meal. Kudos to her. Then I find out the Sports Bar is not part of the hotel. No surprise.
We took a little walk around the hotel, noticed the people swimming in the pool & my daughter was excited. When I booked the hotel, I asked about activities for children & was told there weren't any "but we have a pool". That's good enough, I said. So we went upstairs to our room, packed our bathing suits in a bag & went down to the pool. We tried our key in the pool door & it would not open. So I went to the front desk & told her it was locked. The lady at the front desk had no idea about it, so called maintenance. She did that and informed me that the pool was closed for maintenance. You can imagine my dismay when I'm here on a Saturday night 7:30pm with my 5 year old daughter & nothing to do. My daughter was so sad & I tried to console her by saying "Don't worry baby, we'll have fun in the hotel room". The lady at the front desk did not even apologize or sympathize with me. I understand these things are unavoidable but she could have shown some compassion.
I asked when the pool would reopen & she said she didn't know. Called maintenance again & they said maybe tomorrow morning, so I extended my check-out to 2pm hoping to make my daughter happy & use the pool.
The next morning, we ate the crappy breakfast of cornflakes and checked if the pool was open. Front desk lady says maintenance man expected at 10am to check the pool and then we would see. It was 9:30am. We went up to the room & waited. At 10:30am, she had not called us back, so I called down again. She said she'd check with maintenance & let me know. At 11am, half hour later, she called our room & said the pool was good to go. We excitedly went for a wonderful swim & I enjoyed the hot tub. My daughter was happy, which is all I wanted.
At 12:30pm, we decided to go back up to our room, shower & check-out. To our dismay, the shower didn't work! I just exploded. Called down to the front desk & explained my dilemma. The lady at the front desk asked me if I was turning it on properly. I said yes & she said she'd send maintenance up. An hour later (1:30pm) & 2 more calls to the front desk, two very nice maintenance men come to check the shower & low & behold it is broken. They can fix it but will see if they can get me another room for my daughter & I to get out of our wet bathing suits & shower. The only hotel staff who has been of any help at all. I call the front desk & tell her the shower is broken & ask why she didn't offer me another room right away. She said because she had to have maintenance check it out first. I was very angry! Thanked the maintenance men for their offer of another room but told them it was already late, so we were just going to leave.
I checked out & told the woman at check-out that this was the worst hotel experience of my life & that we were going home to shower! She didn't say a word.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    18
    20
    15
    47
See reviews for
33
28
13
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Montevideo, Uruguay
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel is one block from the mall and about 40 minutes from downtown Toronto, but has everything you need. The price is decent and includes breakfast. The room was clean.
The bus stop is 30m away. To downtown Toronto first take bus 96 or 165 to Wilson Station and then take the subway Yonge-University-Spadina Southbound. At the weekends you pay one Day Pass (20 U$S) transport ticket and two people can travel (it includes bus, subway and trams).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We needed a cheap place to stay for the night before a 6 am flight out of Toronto. This did the trick. The hotel itself was nothing to brag about - the sink had a bit of rust in it, everything looked a little worse for wear. I will say, however, that the hotel staff were really very helpful and accommodating to us. They let us check in early and gave us a better room with no charge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Unpleasant odor in lobbies, very old carpets. Hotel need to be renovated. Breakfast is only cereals with milk, and orange juice.
Staff if very helpful, shuttle in time. Each day is good cleaning room. Nice size pool , but is over-chlorinate.
Bus stop one minute from Hotel.
I would recommend for one day stay, but certainly not for family vacation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Positive:
a) Excellent and marvellous staff service. They were extremely helpful when all I have requested them for a help b) Nice continental breakfast c) Room was clean and good. d) Service and facilities were laudable.

Negative:
a) Frankly too far away from downtown and other local attraction (zoo,science world,CN Tower and rom etc)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at the Toronto Plaza Hotel, but my stay was fine. Yes, their were deficiencies with my room, but for $75 that's pretty much what I expect. I'm definitely not expecting the Royal York for that price. The front desk agents were wonderful, entertaining and generally good people. I can't hold them responsible for other decisions made by the hotel, such as paying for ice, that's a first. I did see some sketchy characters though, but I still said "hi" and they seemed to be nice people hiding behind their ruggish exterior. All and all, the stay was good, and not as bad as some people may have said.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This hotel is the most disgusting I have ever stayed in. Dirty beyond belief that is all I can say. If you enjoy gross this your place. Bugs in the room etc we got in very late and out very early the airport was much nicer.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Toronto Plaza Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Plaza Airport Hotel

Address: 1677 Wilson Avenue, Toronto, Ontario M3L 1A5, Canada (Formerly Days Hotel and Conference Centre Toronto Airport East)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Toronto Plaza Airport Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 199
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Toronto Plaza Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn North York
Days Hotel North York

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toronto Plaza Airport Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.