We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consider Ramada as your LAST option” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C5, Canada (Formerly Ramada Hotel & Suites Downtown) (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
asia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Consider Ramada as your LAST option”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

Before I arrived in Toronto, I booked the Ramada Plaza based on the good reviews that were listed. I took the negative ones with a pinch of salt. When I arrived at the hotel, I realised I made a HUGE mistake not taking heed of the negative feedback which have proven to be true.
First impression of the hotel is, the frontdesk staff were very indifferent to me - their guest. I commented that as there are so many steps leading up the main door and exit of the hotel, they need to have a staff to assist guests with heavy luggages. They plainly told me Ramada Plaza do not have any staff like that or any bell boys.
When I stepped into the room at the 2nd level allotted to me I was terribly disappointed at the old and aged state of the rooms, and the small space of the toilets. the toilet sits very close to the bathtub (2 inches away), and the window beside the bathtub is about the size of a 15inch laptop.
Upon request to change to another room on the higher level, once again, I was shocked to find that the drainage of the sink and the bathtub were not working. I found a pool of water collecting at my feet up to my calves while showering. The water in the sink did not drain quickly, but seeped down slowly. The space was small. I do not know about the other good reviews about how spacious the suites can be, but my room was definitely not conveniently laid out. I felt that they should just remove the tv area, and expand it to a one bedroom space. I saw and experience these in a room that was newly renovated (as conveyed to me by the frontdesk when I told them what I experienced).
My goodness - they do need another round of renovation.
The hotel housekeeping were nice, but I would not say that of the attitude of the frontdesk staff on duty then.
My advice, you can find much better hotels than this at similar rates. If you are looking for comfort to stay at this hotel for more than 2 days... forget it. If you are there to stay on a tight budget for 1 or 2 days... it is still bearable. Please reconsider this hotel. Too bad, I was too distraught to take any photos of the hotel rooms at this hotel.
The situation outside the hotel in the later evening is not really a nice place to walk. There are people on crack, and prostitutes lurking around. I do not know if it happens for 1 or 2 nights, but I was long gone to another hotel, and did not stay at Ramada for the 7 nites that I had initially planned. I left after staying 1 nite.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlaza_Mgmnt, General Manager at Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2007
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post a review of our
hotel. I apologize that parts of your experience was anything less than
satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest
we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and
comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as
yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In
addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

I would like to take this opportunity to respond to each one of your complaints.

1. Although we do not offer bellman service we do have a ramp to the lobby for those guests that have difficulty with the 8 steps leading up to the lobby from our courtyard driveway.

2. As the building is a historic property built in 1929 we have had some challeges with the space of the bathrooms. We are currently looking at ways to improve this through renovations and space saving techniques.

3. When a guest is confronted with a plumbing problem we hope that we are informed immediately so that we may have the chance to fix it.

4. We have many guests that stay quite comfortably for weeks if not months at a time. If only we could have been given the opportunity to listen to your complaints and correct them onsite.

We hope that we will have another opportunity to accommodate you in the future so that we may work with you to make your stay more comfortable.

Darryl Nielsen
Ramada Plaza Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    361
    215
    77
    55
See reviews for
252
189
83
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dfadf
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

Suites are spacious, excellent for families. Highly recommend as alternative to regular hotel rooms. Suites are clean and nicely decorated. Unfortunately the swimming pool is not amazing ie. only 4 feet deep.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2007

After reading the decent reviews we expected so much better from this hotel.
I should say that the front desk staff at our checkin/checkout were extremely pleasant.
The location is not the best that downtown Toronto has to offer. It is far away from everything exciting. My honest advice is try somewhere else and let this be a sort of last resort. Parking costs downtown are generally high but this location is not prime so the cost could be a bit lower.
Our room was a bit stuffy and worn down. I gave the feeling of being just aged.
Do not expect any kind of luxury stay here. This is for the traveller on a tight budget with low standards.

  • Liked — Front Desk Staff & Overall Hotel Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Location & Room Quality
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlaza_Mgmnt, Manager at Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2007
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post a review of our
hotel. I apologize that parts of your experience was anything less than
satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest
we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and
comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as
yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In
addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

I would like to take this opportunity to respond to each one of your complaints.

1. We are a ten minute walk to Yonge street and Toronto's most visited tourist attraction, the Eaton Shopping Centre. We are a 10 minute drive from most other attractions Toronto has to offer.

2. 1. We know we offer very competitive guestroom rates and have been complimented several times for the value we offer. Our secure underground parking rate of $18 has only increased 10% in 10 years while many hotels locally charge upwards of $30.

We hope that we will have another opportunity to accommodate you in the future so that we may work with you to make your stay comfortable.

Darryl Nielsen
Ramada Plaza Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiarton, Ontario
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

We recently stayed at the Ramada Plaza in Toronto while there for a medical appt. The staff was very friendly, helpful and courteous. We were upgraded to a wonderful suite and no extra charge and we wish we could have taken better advantage of it! It was beautiful! We have stayed there a few times before, love the hot tub and plan to stay there again when next in Toronto. I highly recommend it.

  • Liked — The hot tub! It was so hot I could hardly get in it, it was great!
  • Disliked — That we couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imperial, CA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2007

Have tons of money? like to be chargerd 18 dollars daily for parking your car?, use the guest's computer, not to have internet in your room? dirty carpets? very expensive restaurant? have the toilet 2 inches away from the shower tub? (if you are a man, you will know what am I talking about...
Then go to this very expensive, Ugly and close to nothing hotel... better go to a Hotel near the airport.. by the way.. if you are renting a car.. do not use Payless... their office is 5 miles away from the airport, so you will not be able to drop the car and take the plane..you will loose one afternoon returning the car and spending 50 dollar to get back to your hotel and another 50 in the morning to go to airport. Office is in an obscure corner of Renassaince Hotel, no signs, very depriment place.. employees are rude, can not speak english properly.. and hide prices of rent.. stay away from Payless rent car and Ramada Plaza Hotel...

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RamadaPlaza_Mgmnt, Manager at Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, October 1, 2007
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to post a review of our
hotel. I apologize that parts of your experience was anything less than
satisfying. Our goal is to not only meet the needs of each and every guest
we serve, but to exceed your expectations to make your stay as pleasant and
comfortable as possible.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. Feedback such as
yours assists us in improving our service and property on a daily basis. In
addition, please know that your comments and issues will be addressed.

I would like to take this opportunity to respond to each one of your complaints.

1. We know we offer very competitive guestroom rates and have been complimented several times for the value we offer. Our secure underground parking rate of $18 has only increased 10% in 10 years while many hotels locally charge upwards of $30.

2. We have complimentary wireless internet throughout the hotel. If you were having a problem logging on, we would have assisted you upon hearing about your problem. We offer a PC and Printer in a business centre for those guests that don't have a laptop. It is located in the lobby. We researched every hotel in the city that offers this service and we have a very competitive rate.

3. We clean our carpeting on a daily basis and shampoo regularly. All of our guestroom carpeting has been replaced with-in the past two years. It is in the best interest of the guest and for the hotel to maintain good quality carpeting.

4. Our restaurant is quite inexpensive for the portion size of the meal. The average breakfast costs $10. The average Dinner Entree is $15. Very inexpensive in comparison to similar hotel restaurants in Toronto.

5. We have no relationship to Payless Car Rentals and would be happy to recommend a car rental company for our guests.

We hope that we will have another opportunity to accommodate you in the future so that we may work with you to make your stay comfortable.

Darryl Nielsen
Ramada Plaza Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

I stayed at the Ramada Plaza while I was attending the Toronto Film Festival. To begin with, I was impressed with the kindness of the desk staff, particularly Abdul, who was always happy to call a cab for me, because I found it difficult to get one on the street. He was friendly and helpful. Most importantly, I was AMAZED by the HONESTY, KINDNESS, AND HONORABLE HOUSEKEEPING STAFF. There are two people I need to mention first: PAULETTE BOWERBANK AND MARIO who went beyond the call of duty. Paulette found my cosmetic bag, which had a very valuable piece of jewelry and immediately brought it to housekeeping, where it remained until I called. In the past, when I or others have left something of value in a hotel, it disappeared or was reported lost. This piece of jewelry (an antique anniversary ring) is one of my most valuable pieces, so I wasn't hopeful (I told my husband that there would be a 1% chance for me to recover my ring, so you can imagine my surprise when Paulette told me they had the ring). I actually cried when she told me that she had the ring. I was so touched by her honesty and ethics. I rarely experience this kind of goodness --- and have never experienced it at a hotel. I also have to say that everyone on staff was friendly, helpful, hard working, and respectful. I also want to thank JILL CHICO, a manager at the hotel, who is going out of her way to mail me my jewelry. I am so deeply touched by the kindness of these people to whom I am forever indebted. My room was large, spacious, and clean. I will be returning to Toronto for the film festival every year and I will always stay at the Ramada Plaza. THANK YOU FOR EVERYTHING!!!

  • Liked — the staff and the view
  • Disliked — that my husband wasn't with me to share the experience
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, ON
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2007

Reasonable rates coupled with "designer" upgrades make this a god stay. New carpet, wall treatments and light fixtures are an improvement. The mini suites are great if you have visitors or want your own space. Fairly quiet rooms. Bathrooms could do with additional upgrades. Small elevators. A litle bit of a walk to shopping.

  • Liked — Price
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown

Address: 300 Jarvis Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2C5, Canada (Formerly Ramada Hotel & Suites Downtown)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Plaza Toronto Hotel Toronto
Ramada Toronto
Toronto Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Toronto Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.