We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn - Toronto East Beaches

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn - Toronto East Beaches to your Saves list
Days Inn - Toronto East Beaches
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1684 Queen Street East, Toronto, Ontario M4L 1G6, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Tampa, FL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Value for money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

The property is no more or less than you would expect for the money. The room was clean and adequate. The staff friendly and helpful. There is an Irish pub next door and a convenience store and laundromat across the intersection. All in a good value property at a fair price. Gregory was a ray of sunshine and a diligent worker.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn04737, Front Office Manager at Days Inn - Toronto East Beaches, responded to this review, September 30, 2011
Dear Guest,

Please accept our sincere thanks for the recent comments and compliments regarding your pleasant experience with our hotel.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests, specially when we have succeeded in making their experience a pleasant one. It is our goal to give our guests the best possible service. Our employees are our most valuable asset and we are proud of their accomplishments. We are particularly pleased when they succeed in making a valued guest, such as yourself, feel welcome.
We sincerely hope you will give us the pleasure of your patronage again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Gregory Wickramasinghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    86
    55
    18
    27
See reviews for
69
48
22
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I would allow the Days Inn Beaches some latitude if they hadn't been so expensive. I was part of a wedding party that booked a block of rooms and the deal they gave is was $129 a night. And the regular price was $129 a night. Not much saving for volume trade there. Its an old hotel and the air quality was not good. The through the wall air units were inefficient at best and the windows were screwed shut so you could not open them for fresh air. The continental breakfast room is tiny, only three tables, and the variety of offerings is minimal, cereals and croissants and bread and some tiny, and I mean tiny, muffins.

Regardless, the rooms were clean and everything worked. The beds were excellent and the units were quiet. The staff were kind and cooperative, as they should be, and all reservations were correct. Parking was free which helped the cost factor.

Room Tip: Make sure the room you rent is wider. One of the rooms I saw was no more than eight feet wide, allow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn04737, Front Office Manager at Days Inn - Toronto East Beaches, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear Ted 1945

Please accept our sincere thanks for the recent comments and compliments on Tripadvisor regarding your experience with our hotel.

With regards to some of your comments, we wish to offer following response;

Our room rates are market driven and are subject to change, (reflects supply & demand). The rate of $129 was a discounted rate compare to our average daily rate which was much higher during peak season.

Our continental breakfast consist of basic items such as; Coffee, Tea, Bagels, Toast, Croissants, Cereals, Juice, fresh fruits etc. Seating is limited, however, our customers are allowed to take breakfast to their room with no objections.

All our ground floor room windows are closed for safety reasons.

We offer different room types at the hotel. Each category has a different price range. Room with two queen beds are fairly larger than two double beds and the price is little higher.

We thank you for your valued patronage and hope to see you again.

Gregory Wickramasinghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

If you stay here, request a room that isn't on the bottom floor, as the windows do not open and it is quite stuffy and smelly. We stayed here two separate times on the same vacation - first time on the second floor which was good. It's clean but the a/c was very loud. The internet is slow and they charge you $1.00 for local calls. The second time we stayed was not a good experience as we were on the first floor and the windows are screwed shut. If you need a cab, call or hail it yourself - don't get the front desk to order it. When we left for the airport, the front desk guy called us a cab, then he waited outside for it to come and charged the driver $10.00 for getting him the business! I'm sure that upped our price as I heard the flat rate was $60.00 and our cab ride cost us $70.00. It is easy to get down town from here and the beautiful sandy beach is walking distance. I wish there were more restaurants near, but there were a few. It shouldn't cost so much for what you get, but it was one of the cheeper places to stay in Toronto.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the bottom floor, they are dark, and stuffey as the windows don't open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn04737, Front Office Manager at Days Inn - Toronto East Beaches, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear Cheryl R

Please accept our sincere thanks for the recent comments and compliments on Tripadvisor regarding your experience with our hotel.

With reference to some of your comments, our response as follows:

We keep all our ground floor room windows closed for safety reasons.

We regret to note that you had an issue with the Air conditioner during the first visit. If you had notified the front desk, this issue could have been resolved to your satisfaction.

Average taxi fare to the Airport is around $65. Front Desk Staff can assist you in getting this organized with no extra cost.

We thank you for your valued patronage. Hope to see you again.

Gregory Wickramasinghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hays, Kansas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed here in October 2010. This facility is located on the eastern side Queen Street which is one of the big streets that traverses across the city. It would take about 10 minutes to get there by cab (costs about $15 from city center) and about 20-30 minutes by public transit (Tram that costs about $2 from downtown). The bus stop is located about 50 meters from the hotel and it is an easy hop-on and hop-off from there to the city's center. Tram service is round the clock, although frequency is much less after 8 pm. But, safety is definitely not an issue as this seemed to be a very good neighborhood. Plenty of restaurants and fast food chains within walkable distance from here.

As far as the facility itself is concerned, it is alright, but not the best of the Days Inn facilities I've stayed in. The room was quite small, but clean. If you get a room facing the street, you may hear the noise of street cars through the night, but it is not terrible. Staff were alright, overall helpful, but some of them seemed curt and dry. Breakfast was OK. Room service was good.

Overall, this is probably the cheapest decent hotel you would find in such proximity to the city's center for the quality and comfort.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn04737, Front Office Manager at Days Inn - Toronto East Beaches, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Dear NYPhysician,

Please accept our sincere thanks for the recent comments and compliments on Tripadvisor regarding your experience with our hotel.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests, especially when we have succeeded in making their experience a pleasant one. It is our goal to give our guests the best possible service. Our employees are our most valuable asset and we are proud of their accomplishments. We are particularly pleased when they succeed in making a valued guest, such as yourself, feel welcome.
We sincerely hope you will give us the pleasure of your patronage again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Gregory Wickramasinghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STONY MOUNTAIN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

easy access to everywhere . room a touch on the small side .But only there to sleep,
friendly staff and breakfast. Back at hotel at 8, changed, walk to beach swim till 9 dinner on way back to hotel. It all worked for the 3 of us.

Room Tip: we did notice some rooms a little wider ,ask
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn04737, Front Office Manager at Days Inn - Toronto East Beaches, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear 30dayworld,

Thank you for taking the time to share your pleasant experience at our hotel. Our staff appreciates your kind comments concerning the service and accommodation provided to you.

Your remarks are being shared with the management team at the hotel and with the personnel comments such as yours benefit our system in many ways. We work very hard to maintain the highest standards of excellence in all areas of our hotel operations.

Our rooms with two queen beds are larger than two double bed rooms. Please check with any of our reservation channels for the availability and rates on your next visit.

You may also call the hotel direct to make future reservations and we will ensure that you are given the best possible rate.

Meanwhile, The Management and staff of Days Inn Toronto East Beaches look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Thanking you,

Yours sincerely

Gregory Wickramasinghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

A pleasant hotel, the room we had was at the back so the street / streetcar noise was absent. (Can be heard in the breakfast room located at the street).
Since it close to my family and good experience we will use it again.

Room Tip: Try to gat as far from Queen St. as you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn04737, Front Office Manager at Days Inn - Toronto East Beaches, responded to this review, April 26, 2011
Dear Jaunty5,

Thank you for taking the time to share your pleasant experience at our hotel. Our staff appreciates your kind comments concerning the service and accommodation provided to you.

Your remarks are being shared with the management team at the hotel and with the personnel comments such as yours benefit our system in many ways. We work very hard to maintain the highest standards of excellence in all areas of our hotel operations.

Meanwhile, The Management and staff of Days Inn Toronto East Beaches look forward to welcome you again in the near future.

Thanking you,

Yours sincerely

Gregory Wickramasinghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

If you're just looking to crash somewhere for a night, this is a decent place with decent location but that's really it. It's nothing to write home about. It's just simply a simple hotel.
The rooms are ok but clean.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaysInn04737, Front Office Manager at Days Inn - Toronto East Beaches, responded to this review, January 25, 2011
Dear JS Crowe,

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Days Inn Toronto East Beaches. Our Management and Staff appreciate your comments concerning the accommodations provided.
Your remarks are being shared with all our associates. Comments such as yours benefit our system in many ways. We work very hard to maintain the standards of excellence in all areas of our hotel operations.
We sincerely hope you will give us another opportunity to extend our usual hospitality again in the near future.

Thanking you,

Gregory Wickramasinghe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn - Toronto East Beaches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn - Toronto East Beaches

Address: 1684 Queen Street East, Toronto, Ontario M4L 1G6, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn - Toronto East Beaches 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in the Beaches area Toronto's famous lakeside community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Days Inn Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn - Toronto East Beaches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn - Toronto East Beaches Hotel Toronto
Toronto Days Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn - Toronto East Beaches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.