We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean , comfortable ,commodious and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Carlton Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2E9, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #62 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Clean , comfortable ,commodious and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here for three weekend nights, October 5-7, and have already booked for a repeat three day stay at the end of this month. The "king, non-smoking " room was clean, the bed large and comfortable, the room itself commodious and the hotel site was convenient to public transport, shopping and restaurants. The bathroom was well stocked, and the shower stall of good size. At breakfast the choice was of hot or cold buffet, the service was polite and unobtrusive. The wifi reception in our room was excellent. An express check-out facility avoided any unnecessary wait at the check-out desk.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear CanadianExBrit,
Thank you very much for your posting on TripAdvisor. We love and appreciate your feedback about our Hotel and the surroundings. we thank you a lot for your stay and we are very happy to hear you have enjoyed your visit to Toronto.
Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    320
    157
    48
    30
See reviews for
106
193
81
141
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haddon Heights, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a reservation at another Holiday Inn 12 miles outside the city for 2 nights but it was so crowded in the Toronto area it took us over an hour to get there and it turned out to be in a not-so-nice neighborhood so we changed the 2nd night to downtown. Great location, worst room ever. We realize we booked it the night before but we are platinum members and even without being members we expected much better. We had a handicap room which we didn't need. The view out the teeny, tiny window was of an alleyway that was dark and dirty. The room itself was crowded, the TV didn't work, and if we hadn't been so tired we probably wouldn't have wanted to even lay down in the bed. It cost $25 to park the car and breakfast wasn't included. Would never recommend this place, even to an enemy.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear FraniG00,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I sincerely apologize that the room you were given was a disappointment. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for considering upgrades needed on site.

We value you as one of our IHG Rewards Club Platinum Members and hope you can give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here as part of a fly drive tour of Eastern Canada. The Hotel is centrally located being just of Younge Street. Car park at rear with lift access to reception. Good size room with two double beds. A in room safe and a fridge were a plus. Room was clean. Did not have breakfast in the hotel but there is a good Loblaws supermarket very close with a good choice of food at reasonable price. Wood definitely recommend this Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear bandjclarke,
Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We are more than happy to hear that you have had a great stay with us and you have enjoyed the room and the supermarket Loblaws.
We sincerely thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival the check in staff made a big deal out of the fact that, as a platinum member, I got free wifi. In my first room, I was dropped by the incredibly weak signal and forced to sign in again three times in the first five minutes. When I called down to the front desk, they moved me to another room... That had no signal at all! Finally, they moved me to a third room, by the elevator because that's where the routers are, they told me. The signal was still weak, but only dropped me several times a day. Nothing so much as a complementary soda was offered. I had reserved an executive level room because I use the executive lounge in my hotel to hold meetings and conduct business. They are also, usually a nice retreat for a glass of wine or to relax outside your room in the evening. Come to learn, while there are "executive" rooms, there is no lounge. And, I have no idea how they define an executive room, but these are the smallest rooms I have seen outside Japan! I had to turn sideways to fit between the desk and bed and had to sit on the bed while ironing because there wasn't enough room to stand. There are "10" signs throughout the hotel and pins worn by the staff, asking you to give them a 10 on post stay surveys. Instead of asking, earn it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Road_Warrior_Foodie,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. We are sorry our hotel did not live up to your expectations and regret the issues you experienced with the room you received. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us your feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed here 5 days had a nice experience.Service is good The location is close to everything, lots of restaurant and the tourist bus station is just one block away Our room is clean but small.internet was slow and often disconnected, breakfast Buffet is ok. we stayed for 5 days and we got the same food everyday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear bryanptrp,
We thank you very much for your posting on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your 5 days stay with us. We are perfectly located in the downtown core. We are sorry to hear that the breakfast buffet was repeated during your stay. Your comments are important for us and we will follow up accordingly.
We appreciate your feedback once again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Little dated but excellent staff. Had a few minor issues which all got solved, handled quickly and with care. Excellent location as close to mnay sight seeing parts, close to Easton mall (10min. walk). Very big well equipped fresh food supermaket at 1min. walk. Sarbucks in the entrance, open very early mroning 5AM.
Hotel : Above average but not great as far as hotel accomodation is concerned. Staff make up a lot though so better then average rating.
If location is important, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
George D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Chris3436,
Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear that our staff took care of the issues you experienced with us. Location is perfect for travellers for business or leisure.
Thank you kindly for your review and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Its above average, but not ' very ' good. Rooms are super small. Bed was nice. Bathroom a closet. No Tub. Hallways narrow. Coffee maker only a ' one cupper ' ( don't like those )
Location a big plus. Service a very big plus. Very clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre

Address: 30 Carlton Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre Hotel Toronto
Days Hotel Toronto Downtown
Days Inn Toronto
Day Inn Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.