We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in a great city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30 Carlton Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2E9, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #60 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay in a great city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

When I booked this room I read the comments and was a little bit afraid of issues with room size and air conditionning. The room is slightly on the narrow side, but by no means a problem for a couple. Maybe a tighter fit for a family of 4. The room was exceptionally clean and had everything we need. Nice glass shower too. If you want the cooling unit to work, try switching it on ;). Really close to the Trolley, Subway, and Dundas Square which is one of the most busy areas of the city.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    373
    196
    59
    33
See reviews for
142
221
88
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, Ontario
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I always need to be up in that area of Toronto and find that this is the most reliable and consistent hotel. The staff are beyond friendly and go out of their way to help, and the rooms are great (I love having two choices of pillows!) The only downside is that the rooms aren't huge - but really, unless you're planning to stay in the room all day, it doesn't make a difference. There's way more fun outside your door in Toronto!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Be careful with booking this hotel! Most of times when you use an official hotel website, they offer some not-too-good rates but with the flexibility of cancellation and better rooms. Not this hotel!

Be very careful when you book the "10 days advanced" rate, which is barely $10 cheaper, and their website states that a deposit might be taken and forfeited if you have to cancel. A deposit is rare enough... but the hotel didn't charge any deposit after reservation is confirmed, which is confusing enough.

But when I have to cancel a trip this morning due to a friend suffering from a sudden illness, the website states that only the deposit will be forfeited, but then the cancellation email says the entire reservation will be fully charged. (Why does anyone bother to cancel then?)

But the worst is yet to come! When I called the hotel to explain this situation and for the policy discrepancy between the website and email, they were cold, rude and basically said "we are going to charge you no matter what", and when I requested to talk to the management, they redirected me to a phone number that no one picks up. I don't believe a poorly managed hotel would be welcoming for anyone who actually stay there, and given the mess with their official reservation system (not cheap Hotwire), I recommend everyone just stay away, Toronto has so many better options to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear KevinSeattle2013,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, ON. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

on our one week stay, we had great experience. easy access to Subway, Restaurant, Supermarket and Dundas street (Eaton center) .The only negative point in long saty is: our room has a small size window face to side street which doesn't get a lot of light. otherwise we enjoyed....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our stay here was a great experience with staff such a Narissa and Michael who were exceptionally kind and helpful to us. We had unfortunately been double booked at the Bond Place hotel (which is terrible and I suggest you avoid at all costs) and the Holiday Inn kindly took us in at 2am, and gave us lovely rooms. The beds are enormous and there is free wifi and a swimming pool. They also helped us sort out our issues arising from the awful treatment from the Bond Place Hotel, with several phone calls to our travel agent in the UK, at their expense. They have made a bad situation a really good experience and a holiday of a lifetime with a great trip to Niagara. It is well situated within walking distance of the main shopping centre and it is about a half hour walk to the CN tower which is definitely worth a visit. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, Thanks again Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Floor 6 is where the swimming pool is situated, however we were in the 22nd floor and the views of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed here recently for 4 nights. The staff were all wonderful, especially the concierge, who was unbelievably patient and helpful. The subway and streetcar were all up on the corner. We took the Grayline bus just about everywhere and one of the 21 pickups for it was right around the corner too. Our room had been remodeled and was very nice and really clean. We were on the 11th floor in a corner and didn't hear any outside noise. We like to walk so we were able to walk to the St. Lawrence Market and Dundas Square. One day we even walked down to the Harborfront, but that was about a mile and a half. The parking situation is definitely an issue here though. The hotel parking lot only allows 5'7" vehicles but vans are higher than that, so we ended up parking about a block away in an open parking lot, which made us nervous but it worked out fine. Even with that, I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If possible, get a north-facing room in the corner - not much of a view, but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great central location however checking in later in the evening made for a very confusing parking arrangement in the garage next door - payment was not obvious. Walking distance to the Eaton Centre and close to streetcars and subway made this an attractive location

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Sydney D,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for the shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre

Address: 30 Carlton Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 2E9, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 513
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre Hotel Toronto
Days Hotel Toronto Downtown
Days Inn Toronto
Day Inn Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Toronto Downtown Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.