We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   89 Avenue Road, Toronto, Ontario M5R 2G3, Canada (The Annex)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #113 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Glasgow
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

Went here with my mom and it wrked out for the 8 days we were £23 per person per day. Included free was WiFi and continental breakfast (tea, coffee, sunny D, toast, begals, coissants, fresh fruit, yougurts, muffins and cereal).

Got their via airport limo (cost around $60 plus tip) and its just next to the heart of the city via three subway stops.

The hotel its self is in the high end of the city, nestled between a Farrari shop and high end shopping (Prada, Gucci, Tiffany etc).

The guys at the reception were the best! Really welcoming, helped us because we turned up around 2pm and let us stash our bags before checking in almost an hour early (check in is 4pm btw, check out 12pm).

There is one life, which works fine, never had to wait on it the entire trip. We were on the second floor (208) and its a key card system to enter the room (put the more colourful side towards the left side of the door, drag it down and hold it for a second till it beeps, then go in).

Room was spacious, with a TV, king sized bed (three pillows for some reason), table with two chairs. Plenty of lights/lamps. HEating/air con unit, black out surtains etc. There was an availability for a connecting room but it has two locks, one with an actual key and then the little turn lock thing, so pretty secure.

Maids were nice, we left some electrical items out and nothing was touched/taken. Bathroom was clean, fresh towels every day. The bed is changed every day but if you don't need it changed there is a little card you can put on the bed and the maid will just make it up for you.

There are 8 floors in total, elevator is squick. Cinema is like down two blocks then turn to the left.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    21
    53
    38
    30
See reviews for
33
45
12
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

While this hotel is right in the middle of a great location, the desk help is slow and extremely limited when it comes to giving any restaurant ideas and the like. The rooms are outdated, the breakfast leaves much to be desired, unless if you like frozen bagels. The hair dryer in the bathroom is rigged to be hooked up to an extention cord....could go on and on but I will stop here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
I sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. All feedback from our guests is important to us and allows us the opportunity to improve our services.

I was of course concerned to hear the details of your experience while staying with us and I can assure you that I have noted your comments and they will be addressed immediately.

Again, my sincere thanks for your feedback and we hope we can be of service to you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed here on a Wednesday in March for one night. We booked a king size room online for 70$ and found the room very nice for the price. It was very spacious and clean. There was a nice real brick wall behind the bed. The washroom was quite small, but clean and it would be fine for a couple nights. The useable space in the closet was very small also, but if you don't need to hang much up it's fine.

There is free coffee or hot water in the lobby at all times because there is no coffee maker in the room. There was no fridge in our room either. There is a continental breakfast downstairs in the morning. It was on until 9:30 am during the week. We got there at 8:45 and it was slim pickings, so you would need to make a move early for best selection. I did manage to snag the last yogourt and last banana, so it wasn't bad. There were still plenty of bagels and coffee.

The parking was very convenient in the backyard of the hotel. It was 15$, plus taxes made 17$, so fairly standard for downtown. That's daily. There weren't a ton of spots, so perhaps in high season you have to park in a nearby lot instead.

There is a whole foods market right next door, so you can get nice snacks and drinks there.

We found a very nice all you can eat sushi restaurant about a 12 minute walk away on Yonge street near Davenport. Aji Sushi I think it was called. Very reasonable, fresh and tasty. The Japanese reception man at the hotel recommended it and he was right.

The location was very good, and is very close to the ROM museum. We would stay there again for sure, if the price was similar.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and positive comments. We are currently in the process of adding coffee makers to all the rooms. You will be able to enjoy freshly brewed coffee in your room on your next visit. We appreciate your business and look forward to seeing you again soon at the Howard Johnson Yorkville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Asian guy genuinely cared to help us with a few small things b4 we could settle in. Great cont. Breakfast.
A worthy hotel experience at twice the price!, well done!,
A

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy C, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and positive comments on our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your business and look forward to welcoming you back to the Howard Johnson, Toronto Yorkville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I've been staying here for years. The rooms are clean and functional. The staff are friendly and helpful. And you can't beat the price, given the location. High-end hotels a block or two away charge two to three times as much. Go there if you want to revel in hotel-room luxury. But go to the HoJo if you want a decent place to sleep, for an affordable price, and you plan to spend your time out in Yorkville, not in the room all day!

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the elevator and the ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherHowkins, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and comments on our hotel. We apprecaite your business and look forward to seeing you again at the Howard Johnson soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Every member of the front desk staff and the manager of this hotel worked at the highest "friendly-professional" level to help us in every way they could.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherHowkins, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your recent stay with us. Our staff come to work each day with a positive attitude and ready to assist in anyway possible. We are always pleased to hear when we delivered to our guests expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I booked my stay on Hotwire and received this hotel. It cost me around $140 since it was busy season.

Let's just say, if you're looking for a great way to waste money, this is it.

Positives: Location. Its about a 2 or 3 minute walk to the heart of Yorkville in good weather. A bit longer if its bad weather, but still fairly close. The pillows were comfortable, which I enjoyed, The heating/air conditioning unit served it's purpose very well. When requesting anything from the front desk, they responded quickly. The hotel was quiet despite being fully booked for the night, which was nice.

Negatives: The front desk check-in was incredibly slow - I was a bit surprised at this since we were the only ones there at that moment. The room was a fairly decent size, but the decor was incredibly outdated, and aside from the bathroom and entrance, there is no lighting in the rest of the room. There were only 3 very dim lamps, which barely helped. Although the room had a large window, the view was of a generator, a wall, and part of the ventilation system. The bathroom seemed clean, until I noticed the vent which hasn't been wiped down for ages - it was lined with dust and lint. I mentioned the pillows being good, but the bed was hard - not a good sleep. Breakfast was included, however, it wasn't worth it. All of the items were out of a box - such as the eggo waffles, the defrosted french toast, and the dry old pastries. They didn't have any fresh items - not even fruit.


Overall, with the exception of location, I wouldn't recommend this hotel. At $140, I feel my money would have been better spent elsewhere, even if I had to cab it to Yorkville.

Room Tip: Don't opt for breakfast included.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeatherHowkins, General Manager at Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville, responded to this review, January 10, 2012
We are sorry to hear that we didnt meet your expectations.The hotel is under new ownership and we are working on updating some of the guest rooms and amenities at the property. Our staff are on hand to assist with any guest request and could have provided additional lighting for your room to make your stay more comfortable. Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback on your stay with us at New Year. Your comments will assist us in improving our standards and service as we continue to update the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville

Address: 89 Avenue Road, Toronto, Ontario M5R 2G3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > The Annex
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville 2*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Yorkville
Howard Johnson Toronto
Toronto Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Hotel Downtown Toronto - Yorkville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.