We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely brunch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of earth Rosedale - globe earth - CLOSED

earth Rosedale - globe earth
1055 Yonge Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
416.551.9890
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Bistro, Wine Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Roxborough Street
Transit: We are located just north of the Rosdale TTC subway station on the east side of Yonge Street.
Description: We do local cuisine. We are open for dinner daily and our famous weekend brunch Saturday and Sunday.Take our Chef's fabulous local seasonal menu, add a chic dining room, wine bar and patio, wrap it all in friendly professional service and you have a neighbourhood friendly dining destination. Looking to book a private function? We can can accommodate groups from 2 to 150. We also have a private dining room that can accomodate up to 14 guests.Think global. Eat local.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Lovely brunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

The smoked trout and rosti was a delightfully light brunch menu option. It was a good choice to start the day if you do not want a heavy hangover type cure brunch.

The others in my dining party enjoyed the following with no complaints:
the swine & dine
smoked meat hash
chef's grilled cheese

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Needs Help?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great location and decent decor - if they could turn down the lights. Food average at best. Why don't they bring things up a notch and make it a success?

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globeho, Owner at earth Rosedale - globe earth, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. After reviewing your experience in Toronto, I am sorry that you had such a less than favourable experience at almost all of the restaurants that you visited. I am sure that you have very high standards and we strive to exceed expectations with our local cuisine, service and atmosphere as well. Regarding the lights however, I wanted to assure you that we do try to please everyone. There are some younger families and some older guests who prefer to have the lights higher so they can see menus and attend to their families. We do turn the lights down progressively through the evening, but I would agree that we do have them at a higher level early in the evening. If you do choose to return, I do hope that we can deliver a great experience to you. Thanks again. Ed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went to Earth a couple weeks ago and had an amazing dinner. We called ahead and asked the Chef if we could have a tasting menu. Even though this is not offered on their menu, the Chef happily agreed and created a special tasting menu just for us. Each course was perfect - the food was wonderful, service amazing and overall just a great experience. At the end of the dinner the chef came over and introduced himself. The chef even mentioned he went to a nearby market in order to grab some if the ingredients just for our dinner! I can't say enough good things about our experience. I highly recommend Earth!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best Restuarant Thanksgiving Dinner Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Great thanksgiving dinner in the heart of downtown Toronto. Friendly staff, nice atmosphere and great food. Menu for thanksgiving included three courses for only $35. The turkey was as good as any home cooked turkey I have ever had. The food is all locally sourced and is very fine. Everyone in our party of 5 left fully loaded and satisfied. I can't wait to come back to Toronto and try their regular menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch - unrushed and leisurely spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I took a group of 5 for brunch at Globe Earth on a Sunday. We knew going in from past experiences that the food would be terrific but the service could be hit or miss. It seems routine for the restaurant to short staff their servers for brunch leaving one server to try to take care of the entire floor. We were not in a rush so we decided to take a gamble. Our server was over worked but she had a cheery disposition. We enjoyed the meal and would recommend the restaurant to those who are not on a time constraint.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed earth Rosedale - globe earth also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage earth Rosedale - globe earth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.