We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Remarkable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of earth Rosedale - globe earth

earth Rosedale - globe earth
1055 Yonge Street, Toronto, Ontario, Canada
416.551.9890
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,774 of 6,793 Restaurants in Toronto
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: Canadian, Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Roxborough Street
Transit: We are located just north of the Rosdale TTC subway station on the east side of Yonge Street.
Description: We do local cuisine. We are open for dinner daily and our famous weekend brunch Saturday and Sunday.Take our Chef's fabulous local seasonal menu, add a chic dining room, wine bar and patio, wrap it all in friendly professional service and you have a neighbourhood friendly dining destination. Looking to book a private function? We can can accommodate groups from 2 to 150. We also have a private dining room that can accomodate up to 14 guests.Think global. Eat local.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nothing Remarkable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Pleasant enough atmosphere and friendly competent service ... that's a major plus. The amuse-bouche were nice as were the appetizers. But I was surprised by the "steak" with chimichurri - served cold (I could not tell if by design or by mistake). The trout was great but the bed of quinoa should have also been warm. My desert was the "Ontario Cheese Board" ... amazingly ONE sliver of Brie with a stack of crostini???
Not a convincing performance by any length of imagination.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    12
    11
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Winner in Rosedale!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Tried this restaurant using the Groupon fixed price promotion of $39 for two. Fabulous experience and first impression. The food was terrific from the appetizer sharing platter, French Onion soup and smoked pork ribs to the trout and striploin. Although the chocolate custard was lightly and tasty it was the stick toffee pudding that stole the show.

The restaurant is well appointed using natural woods, warm modern furnishings, attractive lighting and a lovely patio. It is much more spacious than it looks from the outside! Service is professional and friendly. We would highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice spot patio excellent in good weather”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Had been for dinner. Tried brunch was nice, small portions but smoked trout was lovely. The room is nice, modern decor. Not bad prices for the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We went it Earth for Easter Sunday brunch. The restaurant was half full, and service was moderately attentive. Friends had warned us that service might be a little slow, but that was not the case with our visit. My husband chose a more lunch-like meal and I chose to focus on breakfast. Both selections were delicious and rather imaginative.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Terrific fresh, local cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Everything here is made fresh and they use only local ingredients. Waiters were friendly and attentive, and the restaurant itself was cozy and spacious. The French onion soup was great, as were the deserts, with which we had homemade ice cream.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed earth Rosedale - globe earth also viewed

 

Been to earth Rosedale - globe earth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage earth Rosedale - globe earth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.