We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not handicapp user friendly” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ontario Science Centre

Ontario Science Centre
770 Don Mills Rd., Toronto, Ontario M3C 1T3, Canada
+1 416-696-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$69*
and up
Toronto CityPass
Ranked #45 of 250 Attractions in Toronto
Type: Science Museums, Museums
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Ontario Science Centre delights, informs and challenges the communities we serve, enriching people's lives and understanding through engagement with science of local, national and global relevance. Since 1969, the Ontario Science Centre has welcomed more than 49 million visitors, with an interactive approach that was the model for science centres around the world. It is a venue for public dialogue about science and society, aiming to inspire a lifelong journey of curiosity, discovery and action to create a better future for the planet.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Clarence, New York
1 review
“not handicapp user friendly”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We were very excited to bring our son who is in a wheelchair to explore this science center. Much to our dismay (and his) we were displeased to find that alot of exhibits were not interactive to individuals with motor handicaps. The rainforest, while beautiful, was not accessible. The static elecricity show ( where hair stands on end) was not accessible for a w/c person to experience. The ham radio station (one of his favorite activities) and the musical drum section all had elevated non accessible platforms. For the amount of money we paid to enter, we felt very sad that all were not treated equally when it comes to exploring the world and its many wonders.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    203
    114
    64
    32
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Slightly overhyped”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

A nice science centre, not as extensive as I expected - more aimed at kids than adults. The exhibitions were all great but there were far less than I expected. Getting there can be a bit difficult, we had to take a subway, a bus and walk a fair amount. I wouldn't consider it a must see for adults, but definitely a good option for kids.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We brought my 4 year old son over the Christmas holidays. He loved it. It had changed a lot since my last visit in the 80's! We were very impressed with the kid's area and interactive activities. We managed to watch and take part in the electricity show, the presenter was terrific.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Have kids? Check it out...if not PASS!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband and I were very excited to check out the science center. We stayed in Toronto and didn't have a car. We ended up taking the subway and a bus in order to not spend $60+ (round trip) for a cab ride. We were extremely disappointed when we arrived.

1- It was PACKED with kids. It seemed as though all the exhibits were geared toward young kids.
2- The map to the center was almost impossible to read. You walk in on floor 2 but then floor 6 is below you and 4 is above that??!! We had to ask an employee and we're intelligent people! That was bizarre!
3- There wasn't much to see!

We ended up spending 1 hr of travel time each way and felt it was a waste. I would recommend you skip it unless you have children. If you do decide to check it out- this location participates in City Pass. Save yourself some money!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fanatstic Day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This Museum/Science Centre offers fun and education for the entire family! Been many times before and there is always something new to discover. 1 day is not enough to see it all

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ontario Science Centre also viewed

 

Been to Ontario Science Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ontario Science Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.