We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“came here during TIFF” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre Centre

The Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre Centre
189 Yonge Street, Toronto, Ontario M5B 1M4, Canada
416 314 2901
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 250 Attractions in Toronto
Type: Historic Sites, Theaters & Stadiums
Attraction details
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“came here during TIFF”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

amazing theatre!! the decor in this place takes you back to a couple of decades back. it was packed during TIFF and we had to line up to get in. seating is good, as I seated close to the back and still got to see the stage pretty well.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    16
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Unique in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

These two theatres are unique because they are the world’s last operating double-decker theatre. Close to 100 years old, they have been painstakingly restored. The Winter Garden's ceiling is awash in lights and hanging beech boughs, with walls that are hand-painted. The venue resembles a garden.

The Elgin is covered in gold leaf, exquisite fabrics, cherubs and ornate opera boxes. Both theatres are worth a visit, no matter what is showing.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martintown
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a cozy theatre that has the feel of being in a garden - because you are sitting below vines and leaves. May sound a bit corny, but it is pulled off well (and original to its time). All facilities are updated with reasonably comfortable seats and good sight lines and acoustics.

Convenient to get to with lots of eating options within a five minute walk.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
77 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Lovely Old Theatre - Great Family Tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I have been taking my daughter to see Ross Petty's shows here since she was four years old (she's now eighteen). It has become our Christmas tradition and she still loves to attend. We have been fortunate enough to sit within the first couple of rows each time we have gone. The theatre is beautiful and well kept. The location right across from the Eaton Centre is easy to get to and parking is abundant in the surrounding areas.

As for the show itself...always an excellent experience for both adults and children. It is somewhat interactive and the audience is encouraged to participate. Even if you think you have seen the show before (i.e. the title is the same), don't be fooled...it is a different show each time.

At each show, three little ones are selected from the audience to participate on stage. They leave with a stuffed toy as a reward. After our first time I made sure when my daughter was very young to have a small treat for her so that she wouldn't feel left out.

I do highly recommend Ross Petty's shows as great family entertainment. It is a hilarious show.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ross Petty's Snow White”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Another EXCELLENT show! This year's fractured fairy tale is Snow White and as always it does not disappoint!

This is our 6th year in a row and we were thoroufhly pleased once again. Ross Petty's "interpretation" of Snow White meets 007 was hilarious.

Recommned the shows fir everyone - young and old!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre Centre also viewed

 

Been to The Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Elgin & Winter Garden Theatre Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.