We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous collections of Canadian art” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The AGO, Art Gallery of Ontario

The AGO, Art Gallery of Ontario
317 Dundas St. W., Toronto, Ontario M5T 1G4, Canada (China Town)
416-979-6648
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$34*
and up
Toronto City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #4 of 251 Attractions in Toronto
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The eighth-largest art museum in North America presents an awe-inspiring collection: more than 36,000 works representing 1,000 years of extraordinary art.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous collections of Canadian art”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The AGO has a phenomenal collection of historical and contemporary art. For Canadian art lovers this is a must see. Tremendous groupings of the Group of Seven, Cornelius Krieghoff, David Milne and others. Well worth the time and money.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    833
    378
    95
    32
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“My loveletter to the AGO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I go to this Art Gallery at every opportunity I get. The ways I love the AGO:
I love
The building full of light.
The wooden ribs, sturdy, strong and representative of our country.
That a lot of care is taken to exhibit in new and innovating ways. Not only era's or artists but also whimsical and based on a certain colour or the fun of a quiet exhibition in a quiet room with self portraits!
That the store is much more than a store.
That I can have coffee break in the sunshine with a cookie
That I can have a brilliant inexpensive lunch among vibrant students.
That they have space, and lots of it and show it off shamelessly.
That I can always go and admire old friends at the permanent collection.
That I will find something thought provoking to contemplate over in one of the many spaces where one can meander through.
That I discover another lovely story of life when I visit the AGO.
No doubt, I love the AGO.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I loved this museum. The architecture of the building is impressive, with wonderful staircases up to the modern collections. The modern collections themselves were quite extensive covering 2 to 3 floors. In addition, there was a floor of classic Canadian artwork, and many more changing exhibitions. This museum was the highlight of Toronto for me. The museum is huge and you just can't absorb everything at once. Try to focus on the areas you prefer first, otherwise you'll find yourself here for an entire day if you spend time looking at every piece of artwork.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Canadian art”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Huge selection of Group of Seven paintings. Gorgeous atrium overlooking a street of victorian homes and shops.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Love the new facade, and the collection is always amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

A few years ago the AGO underwent a transformation. The new Frank Gerhy facade has created a wondeful glass sculpture garden which overlooks Dundas St. and whose wooden trusses make you feel like you are walking through the hull of a ship. At the south end, a new tower gives 2 new floors of rotating modern art shows. The original gallery spaces, housing the excellent and extensive permanent collection have survived untouched.

An often overlooked spot is the basement. After you pass security go down the stairs to see the Thompson model boat collection. An amazing range from models hand made by prisoners during the Napoleonic wars to professionally made architectural models made to show buyers what they were commissioning.

This is a wonderful piece of Toronto and always worth a visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The AGO, Art Gallery of Ontario also viewed

 

Been to The AGO, Art Gallery of Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The AGO, Art Gallery of Ontario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.