We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Cafe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The AGO, Art Gallery of Ontario

The AGO, Art Gallery of Ontario
317 Dundas St. W., Toronto, Ontario M5T 1G4, Canada (China Town)
416-979-6648
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$34*
and up
Toronto City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #4 of 250 Attractions in Toronto
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The eighth-largest art museum in North America presents an awe-inspiring collection: more than 36,000 works representing 1,000 years of extraordinary art.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“New Cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Always wonderful going to this gallery. I took a guest and he was impressed with the grand foyer and the stairs. Lots of fantastic art. There is a new cafe over looking Dundas Street. it's charming.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    840
    384
    95
    32
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“so worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

i went this past saturday to see frida kahlo amd rivera exhibit . there were at least 150 pieces all well displayed.. i was extremely impressed with the latest renovations by renowned architect frank gerhy.. this was my first visit in many years and its worth a visit just to see the building. as well do not miss the evan penny exhibit while you r there . his works are extraordinary and quite unique.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“AGO - Rivera & Kahlo Exhibit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

My wife and I traveled from Buffalo to Toronto for a day trip to be at the opening of the Diego Rivera & Frida Kahlo Exhibit. We had a great time. The museum has a good mix of temporary and permanent exhibits. The Rivera / Kahlo Exhibit was creative and well-organized. We both learned a lot about these two artistic icons. While we were at the AGO, we took the one o'clock tour, which gave us a brief overview of all of the areas of the museum. We highly recommend taking the tour.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Loved my time here, well displayed fascinating collection and lovely well informed staff. Even places to sit down. And i loved seeing the students there too. A wonderful resourse.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
126 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“A lot to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

From the facade to the the floating circular staircase this is an impressive building.

The exhibits are viewed in a spacious light enviroment even though there are thousands to get through.

There mini tours are worth attending and very informative lasting around 30 minutes. There is plenty to view from the paintings, to the sculpture and the model ships.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The AGO, Art Gallery of Ontario also viewed

 

Been to The AGO, Art Gallery of Ontario? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The AGO, Art Gallery of Ontario, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.