We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money and well-positioned” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Strathcona Hotel to your Saves list
The Strathcona Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Value for money and well-positioned”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is more for first-timers, short-visit travellers or working executives on meeting or business trips. Room's pretty compact but might be a bit cramp for some. Only basic toiletries like shampoo and shower gel, bath towels and toilet papers are provided. WIFI's available but you need to pay for it. Transportation wise, it's very near to Union station and within walking distance to nearby metro lines and light rails. Reception and restaurant staffs are pretty helpful when approached. If you are visiting Toronto with a few friends and your budget is not too tight, perhaps you might want to consider sharing a shuttle taxi instead to avoid the construction road works near the Station. The reception staff could also help you book a taxi back to Airport upon request. Opposite the hotel is a convenient store that opens around 7am - 8pm (depends). Basically, this area is a financial district, so it'll only buzz during the daytime, and quiets down in the evening. So you might need to travel a bit further for some extra nightlife.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    371
    194
    98
    49
See reviews for
71
279
127
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed at the Strathcona during a major Conference as an alternative to the main Conference Hotel. We found the hotel comfortable, convenient and well appointed. We needed a fridge in the room and the hotel was quite accommodating - the room cost more than the lowest standard rate but the accommodations were just what we requested. We did have a minor problem with the electronic key cards losing the code, so we had to have the front desk re-code them. This was not, however, a major inconvenience. The hotel restaurants were just OK, but there are many other options close by, as well as a Tim Horton's across the street for morning coffee and pastries.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Catharines, Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was small but perfect. Only issues are no fridge in room, and the blow dryer in bath is terrible. Best part of this hotel is you can see it from Union station. Excellent price for the location. I loved the touch screen map/tourist attraction computer style thing in the lobby.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Needed a reasonably priced hotel near the Convention Center that could fit 4 women. We were attending our first time MDRT (Million Dollar Round Table ) Convneiton. Being first timers in Toronto, we wanted a good priced hotel, very near the convention site, yet could comfortably room us 4 conventioneers. This hotel was recommended by my Toronto based cousin. It was a great Choice! Room was in good size to accommodate our big luggages, the hotel was very near coffee shops, but most of all very accessible to walk back & forth from our Hotel to TICC. It's a simple small lobbied hotel, but serves the purpose if you're there for business. So over all, we Had a very good stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Myself and a few friends had a lay over in Toronto due to weather and we were put up in The Strathcona Hotel.
We were looked after the moment we walked in the Lobby. :) Which made an annoying situation very pleasant.
PS... The BEDS are AMAZING :)

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for the great review. I am happy that we could make a difference. Under those difficult circumstances, we do hope you were able to enjoy our lovely city

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the Strathcona hotel for 1 night. The hotel is in a great location. Air Canada centre is approx 4-5 mins walk. There is a car park close by called York 25 it cost us $20 for 24 hours. There is no free WIFI available at this hotel it can be purchased for $6 per day. The rooms at this hotel are quite small but ideal for a over night stay & they are very clean. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Gask007

Thank you very much for your feedback. It was pleasure having your around and hope you enjoyed our lovely vibrant city. Please do let us know when you plan on visiting us again and we would be thrilled to play host again.

Regards

Athif Yousuf
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have stayed at the Strathcona multiple times and have always had a fine experience, but I have always booked a standard (cheapest) room. However a special occasion I booked a Queen suite. However when I got to my room I discovered it was a standard room, with two double beds. Because of a very tight schedule I wasn't able to speak to the front desk right away, and when I came back later there was no one at the desk. We dealt with the room and all was fine, however I was still charged for a Queen suite, which is not what I got. I have emailed the hotel multiple times over the past few weeks and have never recieved a response. I am extremely disappointed in the lack of response I've recieved from the hotel about this issue, and really would have appreciated being charged for the room I actually got, not something more expensive.

I'd recommend staying here, but be aware you may not actually get the room you paid for....

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athif Y, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Hi Caileigh

Thank you so much for your feedback. I am extremely sorry to hear that your special day was not to your satisfaction. I have read through the feedback and would like to discuss in depth with you. At this time I am unable to pull up your information with all details. I have not received any mail to this regards and I do want to ensure that you were priced fair. Please reach me at fom@the strathconahotel.com. Thank you so much once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Address: 60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathcona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto. Come home to the best location in Downtown Toronto. Imagine all the comforts of home combined with one of the best locations in downtown Toronto and you’ve got The Strathcona Hotel. Stay.Play.Work.Meet.Explore. We can handle it all. And just outside our doors is the best of downtown Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is across the street from the historic Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Union Station / VIA Rail and within two blocks of the Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and more located in the midst of the theatre and financial districts. The guest rooms and suite accommodations at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto combine style and substance and have been designed for the contemporary wireless world. We provide easy access to all you need to do by day or night including dining at The York Street Café, dinner and drinks at The Strath Pub, or a workout followed by a massage at the Wellington Fitness Club located right next door. Life here is fresh, functional, friendly, and fun. Sure you can work here, but you’ll do it with a smile. As an independently managed hotel, the good news is that we can break all the rules to do what it takes to make you feel warm, welcome, and worry-free. We get that it’s all about best value for dollar, well-maintained rooms, functional meeting and event space, accommodating staff, and, of course, location, location, location! Come to play. Come to meet. Come to get down to business. We’re more than happy to welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strathcona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.