We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good location for a hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Strathcona Hotel to your Saves list
The Strathcona Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A good location for a hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in walking distance of some great bars and restaurants the room was clean and nicely furnished , the AC unit was very noisy, the toilet and bath are very low , not great for older people, the reception team I can't fault they were super helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them , the coffee machine in the reception area was exceptional as my husband kept returning to it , we didn't eat in the hotel but the breakfast room look great as we walked past, if you want wi-fi you have to pay for it which I think for a hotel of it size is a rip off and also if you want ice take you key card with you as it's in a locked room !

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Hi Hettylee,

Thank you very much for your review.

I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed the location, cleanliness and staff! Certainly just a few of our top priorities.

In regards to the WiFi, internet that is included is often built into the rate. Since everyone does not use internet. We try to keep our rates competitive/fair and only charge for those who use it.

If you are ever in the area again, please feel free to contact me directly and I would be more than happy to arrange your reservation for you.

Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    387
    217
    105
    50
See reviews for
78
298
132
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
devonport tasmania
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Wonderful reception, lovely clean quiet room. Helpful staff. Very close to Union Station. Very close to the hop on hop off tour bus. Coffee shops and cafes opposite. Near CNN tower. Nice secure area to leave your luggage after checking out. Hotel also had a brochure stand and a map board that lit up the areas, so we could plan our stay.
There was construction work going on around the area, but this did not affect our sleep.
Thanks for the superb hospitality. Definately value for money.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper ask for a room further away from the construction that is going on near t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights while on a getaway with my daughter. Had a room with two double beds, 4 pillows, beds were comfy. Room clean and bathroom stocked with plenty of towels. Quick walk to Union Station, coffee shops, plenty of restaurants. The Lion King was wonderful and the new aquarium great to see. Would definitely stay here again for a short stay. Staff very pleasant and accommodating.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Compared to the other surrounding hotels at 300-500& up, this place is steps away very close to Union Station, CN tower, tons of junk food restaurants and bars. The locale is great you can get anywhere quickly via subway - art centre, bloor st, yorkville, club area.. city hall..etc
The staff is friendly professional and helpful with me and others i saw.
Make sure to ask about services that you have to pay for though. The computers are not complimentary like other hotels. The rooms didn't have wifi either unless they are on more expensive floors, but it was never mentioned or offered to me at check in.
The basic room is on the small side, but clean, and i loved that i didn't smell any air fresheners when i walked in the room. They do need to change their laundry soap to scent free though. The towels were drenched in chemical scent i got a rash!! Really scent free is best and professional. The room doesnt need to smell like a laundromat.
The next thing to ask is if the front desk offers to print something out, they won't mention that there may be an extra charge for it..
One last thing to note: the walls are very very thin. If a crying baby is not obstacle to your sleep all night and most of the morning, then by all means but if you are a light sleeper, bring earplugs.
The cleaning staff is friendly and thorough. The pub downstairs are friendly and quick to help out if you are missing cutlery from your room food, etc.
Overall i would stay here again. for the price its good deal as long as your neighbours are not noisy...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Stayed in this hotel in the beginning of May and from the get-go I received excellent service, from the lovely young man, I think was named Scott who checked me in to the lady who gave me the option to check out a little later a couple days later I think was called Sillia. Even when I got up to the room I was surprised, 5 minutes after entering the room I heard a nock on the door and there was a woman from housekeeping asking me if everything was alright with the room and if I needed anything else. What else can I say but excellent hospitality? Overall staff was very friendly, and I knew that the rooms were going to be small, but when I only slept and showered there it really didn't matter as the hotel was able to offer me very competitive pricing for a hotel downtown.

I found the rooms to be very clean as well as the whole hotel and whenever I was looking it seemed to be that there was always a housekeeping lady around the corner, which was good to my opinion. The hotel is in the close vicinity to many of Toronto's great attractions I was unable to visit due to the fact that I was in meetings all days, but I did get to do some quite sightseeing.

The pub at the hotel was lovely as well, had great servers and great food for a reasonable price. I would DEFINITELY stay here again and recommend this hotel to anyone in my company.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

A great place to stay if you want a downtown hotel that is reasonable, clean and a great location. It does not have a lot of atmosphere but good if you just want a place to stay overnight. Good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, MB
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

One night here was one night too much. Rude check in - computer down so unable to get code to use wifi and the woman barked at me. Bed uncomfortable and polyester cushions felt icky. Warning on bathroom wall about slippery bath - but you have to call for a rubber bath mat! And there was no bar soap to use in shower and the wall mounted liquid soap container was near the sink - but not near the shower!!!!! Talk about dangerous to get in and out of slippery shower with liquid soap in my hand (over and over again).
The rooms are really small - no carpet and just 4 hangars in small closet - small TV above desk made it difficult to watch from bed and the system kept logging off, interrupting the program I was watching (had to go back to start screen and find channel again and again and again).
Yes, the location is fine although with road closures in this area of downtown Toronto it is not that convenient to get cabs etc. BUT there are way better hotels in downtown Toronto that don't feel like a bargain basement experience with a dose of rudeness to ruin anything that might be a welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Address: 60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathcona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto. Come home to the best location in Downtown Toronto. Imagine all the comforts of home combined with one of the best locations in downtown Toronto and you’ve got The Strathcona Hotel. Stay.Play.Work.Meet.Explore. We can handle it all. And just outside our doors is the best of downtown Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is across the street from the historic Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Union Station / VIA Rail and within two blocks of the Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and more located in the midst of the theatre and financial districts. The guest rooms and suite accommodations at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto combine style and substance and have been designed for the contemporary wireless world. We provide easy access to all you need to do by day or night including dining at The York Street Café, dinner and drinks at The Strath Pub, or a workout followed by a massage at the Wellington Fitness Club located right next door. Life here is fresh, functional, friendly, and fun. Sure you can work here, but you’ll do it with a smile. As an independently managed hotel, the good news is that we can break all the rules to do what it takes to make you feel warm, welcome, and worry-free. We get that it’s all about best value for dollar, well-maintained rooms, functional meeting and event space, accommodating staff, and, of course, location, location, location! Come to play. Come to meet. Come to get down to business. We’re more than happy to welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strathcona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.