We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Strathcona Hotel to your Saves list
The Strathcona Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Hertfordshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The Strathcona is excellently situated for exploring Toronto, within easy walking distance of various attractions such as the CN Tower, the Eaton Centre, etc.
We were given a room with two double beds in (although I thought I had booked a standard double). Beds are comfortable and rooms are clean. The standard rooms are fairly small (we could only just open the door past the corner of the bed) but as a base for exploring Toronto the hotel offers good value for money. We really only needed somewhere to sleep and store luggage while we enjoyed time out and about in the city, and the Strathcona is ideal on this basis. If you intend to spend much time in your hotel room (although why would you with all that Toronto and the surrounding area have to offer?) then you may want to choose a superior/executive room.

We did not opt for the hotel breakfast, although for convenience this may be useful. Instead we went to Shopsy's for a very enjoyable breakfast.
The Strath pub, downstairs from the hotel and accessible via the hotel elevators as well as from street level, is disappointing. We arrived on a Sunday lunchtime and were hoping for a bite to eat before heading out to explore Toronto. Sadly, the Strath is not open on Sundays. In addition, the next day we thought we would have lunch there having returned to the hotel just after 2pm to get some dry clothes after being caught in a rain storm, only to find that food was not served after 2pm (until the evening). We did call in later that day for a game of pool but found the staff quite discourteous and the wine unpleasant and over-priced (even by Toronto standards).
It is a shame that the friendliness and helpfulness of the hotel staff seems not to extend to the pub and, to some extent, the association between the two establishments does a disservice to the hotel.
I would recommend the Strathcona hotel and would stay there again when visiting Toronto.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2014
Hi Alison,

First I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us your review!

I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed the location, value and comfort of The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto.

I am sorry to hear you were displeased with the Pub service however, and have shared your review with our Pub Manager for further follow up with his staff.

If you are ever back in the area and looking for a bite to eat, these are the options and hours we have:

Room Service:
Open Daily except Sundays and holidays
7am-10pm

The Strath Pub:
Monday-Friday
11am-Midnight (last call at 11:15pm)

Saturday
4pm-Midnight (last call at 11:15pm)

Kitchen Closes at 10pm Daily

Sunday - CLOSED


The York Street Café
Monday-Friday
Breakfast/Lunch 6:30am-2pm

Saturday & Sunday
Breakfast 7am-12pm

Please feel free to contact me directly the next time you are in the area and I would be more than happy to provide you with an upgrade, as well as a Discount coupon for the pub!

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    369
    194
    98
    49
See reviews for
71
279
127
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northolt, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Have just returned from a week in Toronto staying at this hotel. We stayed in a King Room, bed huge although room was a bit on the small side but it was Spotlessly clean with Maid service daily with clean towels & bed linen whenever you requested, nothing was too much trouble. Staff all very helpful & friendly. Used restaurant twice for breakfast, was ok, but much better to be found within short walk of hotel.
Location just perfect, Union Station 5 mins & CN Tower, Rogers Centre, Air Cananda Centre, great shopping, entertainment & restaurants all within walking distance.
Excellent value for money.
Would recommend & would, without hesitation, stay here again!
We Had a Fab week in Toronto

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hello KPHy,

Thank you so very much for your review.

I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly!!

Next time you are in the city, please feel free to contact me directly to arrange your booking.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed here for 1 night so we could go to a Blue Jays game. It's location is fantastic - 5 minute walk from Union Station and a 15 minute walk from the Rogers Centre and CN Tower.

The rooms are not huge but we only wanted use it for sleep! For anyone used to Premier Inns in the UK I would put it one par with those.

We didn't have any issues with cleanliness but there are major construction works in the near vicinity.

Service - great!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Hi Alex,

Thank you for your review.

I am happy to hear you enjoyed the service and our location so thoroughly!

The construction in the area is all to improve and beautify the city even more, as we prepare for the PanAm games next summer. Thankfully it has not posed much of an issue, and we are definitely excited to see the end result!!

If you are back in Toronto, please feel free to contact me directly and I would be happy to arrange your room.

Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with a friend while in town for a Conference. Small room not a problem, but finding body hair on the sheets, bathroom floor and in the tub of a room we just walked into and had supposedly just cleaned was disconcerting to say the least. Had to call Front Desk to exterminate a bug on the ceiling, that we were told came from "flowers a pervious guest had left in the room." Really?

Too expensive for what you get. Won't be returning next year.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi Em,

I have also just sent you a private message.

First and foremost I would like to apologize for any negative experience you had while staying with us. We strive for excellence in all areas, Customer Service and Cleanliness obviously being two of the areas most focused on. So to read your review was quite disappointing.

Unfortunately I was not made aware of your situation, so I have requested your check out date and name in the private message which will allow me to further investigate.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated.

If you have any further questions or concerns, please do not hesitate.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Warm Regards,

Meg Brooke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

I had never heard of this hotel before, But came across it when looking for some downtown options (close to Air Canada Centre) that wouldn't break the bank. I spent a night here with family and was pleasantly surprised. We were greeted with a smile and after a quick check in went to our room. Though the rooms are quite small in comparison to some other hotels, it had all the comforts I look for and the bed was heavenly!
If you're looking for a nice place to stay that is easy on the budget, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi Jan,

Thank you for your review.

I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found it well priced!

I trust you had a great visit with your family, and we certainly hope to welcome all of you back in the near future.

Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orillia, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Our two night stay was terrific....location, location, location.....central to all activities and restaurants, especially if your convention is at the Royal York- steps away...
Management/front office- great
Rooms are small but very clean and all you need.

Room Tip: Parking is in underground lots, not affiliated with hotel....be prepared for a bit of a walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your review!

I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and found the staff friendly and rooms clean.

We hope to welcome you back soon!

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Every so often I need to arrange to stay over in Toronto saving the commute time north to Barrie/Lake Simcoe. The Strathcona Hotel has become the go-to place to book for both my wife and I during these overnights. The hotel is always clean....rooms consistent (and clean), staff is courteous and have always taken great care of our needs. Recommend this hotel to all my business associates who find themselves in need of accommodation right in the downtown core.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meg B, Front Office Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Hi Craig,

Thank you so much for your review.

It has been a pleasure speaking with you over the past couple weeks.

We look forward to welcoming both you and your wife back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Address: 60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathcona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto. Come home to the best location in Downtown Toronto. Imagine all the comforts of home combined with one of the best locations in downtown Toronto and you’ve got The Strathcona Hotel. Stay.Play.Work.Meet.Explore. We can handle it all. And just outside our doors is the best of downtown Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is across the street from the historic Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Union Station / VIA Rail and within two blocks of the Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and more located in the midst of the theatre and financial districts. The guest rooms and suite accommodations at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto combine style and substance and have been designed for the contemporary wireless world. We provide easy access to all you need to do by day or night including dining at The York Street Café, dinner and drinks at The Strath Pub, or a workout followed by a massage at the Wellington Fitness Club located right next door. Life here is fresh, functional, friendly, and fun. Sure you can work here, but you’ll do it with a smile. As an independently managed hotel, the good news is that we can break all the rules to do what it takes to make you feel warm, welcome, and worry-free. We get that it’s all about best value for dollar, well-maintained rooms, functional meeting and event space, accommodating staff, and, of course, location, location, location! Come to play. Come to meet. Come to get down to business. We’re more than happy to welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Otel, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strathcona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.