We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot if not spending a lot of time in hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Strathcona Hotel to your Saves list
The Strathcona Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Hamilton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great spot if not spending a lot of time in hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfy....rooms small but for what we needed (in one night for Jays game) was fine. No wifi is strange these days....none even in lobby? Close to Union and to Rogers Centre. Reminded me of Europe.....everything small but practical. Would stay again....got a great price thru Booking.com. Was noisy till 11:00 pm, then nothing....so I was happy. All in all, a good time!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Thank you for writing this review. During your next visit to our hotel, please ask for a wifi code from one of our Guest Services Agents. Our hotel has wifi available throughout the hotel. Thank you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    387
    217
    105
    50
See reviews for
78
298
131
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
matheson
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

the strathcona hotel, across the street from via train station, go busses and the air canada centre, and across the street from the royal york hotel and shuttles to both airports, is very handy to all downtown business & tourist locations. Excellent cleanliness and customer service, and budget prices, and a classy atmosphere. Good restaurents downstairs, and the staff are friendly and professional. Highly recommended to friends and strangers alike.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Hello Robert. Thank you kindly for taking time to write a great review of our hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Toronto again in the future from Matheson. I have driven through there many times over the years on the way up to Timmins! Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockville, Canada
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We attended the Fleetwood concert at the Air Canada Centre last night. Since we did not want to drive back home (don't live in Toronto) after the concert, we decided to stay at a hotel. This hotel is within easy walking distance to the Air Canada Centre so that is a major bonus. The rooms were clean (although small) and the staff were friendly. The bed was very comfortable as well. We did not like the fact that you have to pay extra for internet. We checked the info regarding their breakfast and found it to be expensive. You do get a complimentary newspaper which was a nice touch. The hotel is also close to the harbour which is also nice. There is a ton of construction going on in this area right now so it can be difficult to find the hotel if you don't really know Toronto. The hotel does not have its own parking but there is a lot right beside the hotel. Parking is $18 a day.

Room Tip: The parking lot does not have an elevator.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear May,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you back in Toronto again in the future. There are many great concerts playing at the ACC this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel is in the entertainment district of Toronto, so there are plenty of restaurants, the ACC, Rogers Stadium, and Roy Thompson Hall to name a few. We selected this hotel due to the proximity to Roy Thompson as we were seeing the Tenors on the night of our stay (April 4th,2013) Upon arrival, there was construction outside the hotel so it made getting to a little hairy, but not the hotel's fault. We checked in with ease and made our way to our room, we reserved an Executive King, as we know this hotel's room are quite small and wanted something a little more spacious. The room, was indeed spacious, but upon looking out the window, we had the view, of the hotel...three other walls of it, and not one ounce of sunlight. So much so that we napped before our dinner reservation and our event and thought when we woke that it was dark outside and we were late for our dinner reservation. I believe when you pay for an executive room you should not have that view, nor should you be charged for wifi services. The hotel is located close enough to Toronto Island airport that it made it a convenient stay for us and will probably choose this hotel again, however will make my complaints known at the time. We only stayed at this hotel for one night so it was not a big deal. Overall the hotel is clean, and the staff courteous and that is what makes a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We appreciate the comments you shared with other travelers. Our Executive rooms with one king bed are our quiet rooms that face the inside of the building, while we do have Executive rooms with one queen bed and two double beds that have a view of York Street and the financial district in front of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to Toronto from Timmins, which happens to be one of my favourite cities to visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Room we were given was too small, we changed to another floor and this was only slightly better. No WIFI freely available which is a big negative point. We won't stay here again.
It is close to Union Station though.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I was thoroughly disappointed as I found the rooms quite clean (and sparse). The floors are laminate or tile (so no grungy stained carpets) so it looked like they could Swiffer the place to clean it... The rooms are small...but I don't know of too many people that hang out in a hotel room anyway so it's sufficient for most people's needs... But the thing that made this place truly horrible was the noise... noise in the hallway... noise outside (sirens, people honking, people talking)... I was on the 11th floor and I could hear everything... No point in dressing up the inside without putting double (or triple glass) to keep the basic street noises out... :( This is most like just for now but they also had construction on York Street which they apparently start to work on around 5AM... :( :( :( .... no sleep... what else is a hotel for??

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Hotel is located close to the convention center, CNN Tower and everything else. Currently doing construction near by but doesn't really effect your stay in the hotel, only getting there. No on site parking but lots of parking structures nearby. Only negative I would have is that the flat screen TV is in a awful place for viewing and has lack of lighting in one corner of the room. Besides that great stay :)

Room Tip: Higher floors have less noise. And choose a different place for breakfast. The buffet is not worth i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear NoelLynn, Thank you for staying at our hotel during your recent visit to Toronto. We appreciate that you shared your thoughts on our hotel. We hope to welcome you back to Toronto again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Address: 60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 140 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathcona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto. Come home to the best location in Downtown Toronto. Imagine all the comforts of home combined with one of the best locations in downtown Toronto and you’ve got The Strathcona Hotel. Stay.Play.Work.Meet.Explore. We can handle it all. And just outside our doors is the best of downtown Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is across the street from the historic Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Union Station / VIA Rail and within two blocks of the Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and more located in the midst of the theatre and financial districts. The guest rooms and suite accommodations at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto combine style and substance and have been designed for the contemporary wireless world. We provide easy access to all you need to do by day or night including dining at The York Street Café, dinner and drinks at The Strath Pub, or a workout followed by a massage at the Wellington Fitness Club located right next door. Life here is fresh, functional, friendly, and fun. Sure you can work here, but you’ll do it with a smile. As an independently managed hotel, the good news is that we can break all the rules to do what it takes to make you feel warm, welcome, and worry-free. We get that it’s all about best value for dollar, well-maintained rooms, functional meeting and event space, accommodating staff, and, of course, location, location, location! Come to play. Come to meet. Come to get down to business. We’re more than happy to welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strathcona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.