We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Strathcona Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Strathcona Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #66 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Bogota, Colombia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The location is GREAT, the shuttle from the airport stops right in front of the hotel, and the Union subway station is very close.

The hotel is clean, good price.

Things i din't like: We had to pay to get wifi access, the view from our room was awful and the room was VERY dark, heat was OLD and bathroom too cold.

Room Tip: High floor with "outside" view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshokNarula, General Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Hi Patricia,

Hope you had a safe trip back home. We are glad that you found the location, hotel cleanliness and "Value" to your entire satisfaction.

WIFI...we are currently researching how we may be able to extend a basic WIFI package complimentary with an option to buy additional bandwidth. As we speak the internet provider is working out the technical details with our Property Management System. Hopingly we will have some good news for our guests soon.

The Hotel building is " H " shaped. The rooms facing the inner courtyard are quieter but not as bright. Unless the hotel is fully booked our front desk staff is great at ensuring guests receive the prefered room location. I am sorry we could meet with your request on this visit.

Thanking you and Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    343
    184
    92
    48
See reviews for
62
256
116
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I've stayed stayed here a few times, both in 1 queen and 2 queen rooms. One thing is for sure: the rooms are small. They pretty much tell you that when you are booking through their website by specifying the square footage. You couldn't open the door to one of my rooms without hitting the bedside table. However, what you do get in the rooms is new (or at least new-looking) and hardwood floors.

The hotel is located right next to Union Station for easy access to/from the subway or Go Station. Right across the road is access to the PATH underground network to get between buildings. And to top it off, the hotel is one of the cheapest in the area.

I stay here every time I need a hotel in Toronto and will continue doing so.

Room Tip: There are some rooms on the inside of the building that are away from the street, meaning they'l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello Someguy,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. You are correct about some of our rooms being on the smaller side. We have done our best to make use of the space in the room. We also have rooms on the inside of the hotel that are quieter but without a view and some rooms that look out of the front of the building onto York Street where you can see all the hustle and bustle of Toronto's Financial District! We also like to refer to our hotel as "economical" instead of "cheap" but we understand what you are saying. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Toronto in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have stayed at Strathcona a number of times. Rooms are small but ultra clean and it is right in the heart of downtown Toronto. Rates are very reasonable. The only issue that i ever faced is that there is not parking but there are a number of city parking very closely. I would definitely recommend Strathcona.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Thank you for your extremely kind comments Nandi. We love hearing that our guests think our hotel is a gem and we couldn't agree with you more. You are a gem of a guest! Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Let me just say one word to sum up my 4 night stay at this hotel -- SCABIES. I am not kidding and yes it is gross! I am writing this review to warn you. I stayed at this hotel 4 nights on business. Overall I was not impressed. I had read other reviews and checked for bed bugs-I did not find any. However, by the second night I had developed a rash on my back, ankles and neck. Long and short of it is a couple weeks passed with this terribly itchy rash and I visit my doctor and told it is scabies. I am certain I got it from the bed at the Strathcona. Don't try and save money by staying here. I now have a huge headache and expense of eliminating this nasty tic from my home.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshokNarula, General Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Bed Bugs are not uncommon in North East USA/Canada .... our entire house-keeping team is trained to identify them. A rigorous programme exists to eliminate should a bed bug ever be carried into the hotel.

"Scabies" is very new and i have had to educate myself.

Quote Canada.com Body & Health

"Causes of Scabies
Scabies is a highly contagious condition. If you have close contact with a person infested with the scabies mite, your chances of catching it are fairly high. Crowded living conditions, close body contact (e.g., sleeping in the same bed), even holding hands for a while can easily allow the mite to spread from one person to another.
Since the scabies mite won't live away from a human body for more than a few days, direct contact is a much more likely source of transmission than clothing, bedding, or towels. The mites that cause scabies live specifically on humans - they can't be transmitted to or caught from animals, such as dogs." Unquote

I am really sorry to hear about your very unfortunate experience and at the same time i am at loss of an explanation as to how this incidence could have incurred at The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto.

We do contract our laundry but the contractor enjoys a stellar reputation and has been laundrying for a long time for major downtown hotels with not one such incidence reported in the past.

The bed linen and bath linen(both used and unused) are completely removed at guest departure and replaced with fresh linen for the next guest.

Our staff takes great pride for the cleanliness standards the hotel provides to its guests as is evident form the constant feedback the hotel receives on tripadvisor.

I really wish you gave us the opportunity to investigate the rashes that you noticed on the first night of your stay.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Strathcona on the night of February 17th, 2013. We were attending the Bon Jovi concert and I found the Strathcona via a WagJag deal. We took the GO in from Mississauga and avoided the huge overnight parking costs since the hotel doesn't have any private parking, Jack Astor's was right next door for dinner and after the concert we stopped at Tim's directly across the street for a coffee. For the visitor to TO this hotel is in the perfect location, you can walk to everything!! Our room was a King Executive and although small it was clean and exactly what we needed for one night. I would definately stay again at the Strathcona!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Hello Mommabear,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope you had a great time at the Bon Jovi concert and we are elated to hear that you loved our hotel. We look forward to accommodating you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colborne, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I was checking out hotels in proximity to Ruth Christ Steakhouse for the evening and was not interested in the $500+ per/night at some local hotels. The Strathcona was just over $100 and surpassed my expectations. They upgraded my room from two twins to a queen when I arrived, and the service was excellent. The room was small but very clean and modern. Even the breakfast in the am was very good. No complaints from this couple. I'd return with no hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Mr. Smith,

We pride ourselves on offering great service, a clean room and a wonderful breakfast at a reasonable price. Thank you for posting this review. We look forward to seeing you again someday, without hesitation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

For years my wife & I broke the bank at downtown Toronto hotels. Then we discovered The Strathcona, across from The Royal York's side entrance on York Street & a couple blocks from Union Station.
The rooms are small (but so were the ones we were paying 3 times as much for).
We've now stayed here several times & will continue to do so.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Morstan,

Thank you for making our hotel your hotel of choice in Downtown Toronto. We will continue to meet and exceed your expectations whenever you visit our city. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Address: 60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathcona Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto. Come home to the best location in Downtown Toronto. Imagine all the comforts of home combined with one of the best locations in downtown Toronto and you’ve got The Strathcona Hotel. Stay.Play.Work.Meet.Explore. We can handle it all. And just outside our doors is the best of downtown Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is across the street from the historic Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Union Station / VIA Rail and within two blocks of the Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and more located in the midst of the theatre and financial districts. The guest rooms and suite accommodations at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto combine style and substance and have been designed for the contemporary wireless world. We provide easy access to all you need to do by day or night including dining at The York Street Café, dinner and drinks at The Strath Pub, or a workout followed by a massage at the Wellington Fitness Club located right next door. Life here is fresh, functional, friendly, and fun. Sure you can work here, but you’ll do it with a smile. As an independently managed hotel, the good news is that we can break all the rules to do what it takes to make you feel warm, welcome, and worry-free. We get that it’s all about best value for dollar, well-maintained rooms, functional meeting and event space, accommodating staff, and, of course, location, location, location! Come to play. Come to meet. Come to get down to business. We’re more than happy to welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strathcona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.