We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent pre-conference 1 night stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Strathcona Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Strathcona Hotel to your Saves list
The Strathcona Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada (Downtown Toronto)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
London, On
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Excellent pre-conference 1 night stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

There is no parking for the hotel but there is a city lot literally 10 metres from the front door. Tim Hortons right across the street and Second Cup a few doors down. 2 minute walk to Front St with a ton of restaurants so I'm not sure why everyone is complaining about the pub/cafe. For the price the location is great, the room although on the small side was VERY clean and comfortable. I appreciated the cozier feel than most chain hotels. I would not recommend this hotel for a pre-party place but for a stay for one or two people on a budget it would be perfect. My only complaint would be it could be a bit noisy, ie thin walls. My coworker had a room near the elevator and she said she could hear people in and out. WIFI costs $7 but I didn't bother as I wasn't there long. Staff was friendlier than other downtown Toronto hotels I've stayed at. I'm pleased with this hotel and will rebook again when in Toronto.

Room Tip: Ask to be further from the elevator to avoid noisey people. Ask for an executive upgrade room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you very much for you kind comments about our hotel. We are happy to hear you will be coming back to our hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again to Toronto in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    371
    194
    98
    49
See reviews for
71
279
127
192
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I have stayed there in 2010 for a city break and I liked this hotel very much ! Overall everything was OK .Cleanliness was very good , the rooms was big enough , Stuff was friendly and helpful ! But I regretted using a phone I have been charged dearly even for the calling attempts.

Room Tip: DO NOT USE THE PHONE !!! Or make sure you ask the stuff for the charges! I have been trying to call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brendan C, Director of Sales at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind remarks about our hotel. We will investigate this telephone issue to ensure it does not happen in the future and we hope to welcome you back to Toronto in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

The other reviews are correct, the rooms are small, but that's how they all are. And yes you have to pay for WiFi or upgrade to another package. Those aren't are complaints as we expected it. Are complaints are with the management and poor notice given about holiday closures.

We had several issues during our stay and all but one went unresolved. Our first night there are door lock quit working and after 30 minutes of messing around with maids and master keys to unlock the door we were transferred to an adjacent room only after we were dissatisfied with the option to just not leave our room till the next day when the repair guy would be in?!? The next morning we were rudely treated to an alarm next door in an empy room going off for 45 mins before management would send someone to turn it off. Then the next evening we had a half drank bottle of wine taken from our room by the maid. When we called the front desk to complain they insinuated that we were lying and their staff would never do such a thing. When we asked to talk to the GM to express our disgust with the staff we were told they wouldn't be available to speak to us.

And as an added insult, the "Pub", which is part of the hotel, was closed for the holidays, our entire stay. And the in house breakfast was operating on abbreviated hours. Not that it was a huge deal but sometimes it's nice to unwind with a drink at the end of the day and not have to walk somewhere else. And subsequently all room service was unavailable for the entire stay. It would have been nice to know before booking.

We will never stay at a Strathcona again and I'd advise anyone considering to reconsider and spend your hard earned money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else! If you do stay, ask for a room near no one as you can hear everything through t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshokNarula, General Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Mr Brad

I am sorry that we were unable to meet with your expectations during your stay at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto.

During the X'Mas Holiday season we operate with minimal staffing to give an opportunity to our team members to enjoy the festive season with their family and loved ones. While we posted holiday hours information at the front desk, guest elevators, The Pub and The York Street Cafe, we failed to provide the same information on our website. We will do so in future. Thank you for your feedback. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawartha Lakes, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed here for a night out clubbing. When we arrived the staff were friendly. We were given room 311. Upon entering our room we realized they had given us a twin size bed when we had paid for a king online. We phoned the front desk and they tried to tell us we had paid for a queen. Luckily we had printed off our confirmation that clearly said king on it so they upgraded us to an executive suite as compensation. We got room 811. The room was very nice but fairly small compared to other hotels we have stayed at in the area. The ipod dock they advertise the room having was broken. The shower knob was installed wrong so you had to turn it to cold to get hot water. The bed was comfy. Overall the room was pretty good. Only downside was the lack of sound proofing so don't expect a good sleep. Noisy people at 2 a.m. coming to and from the elevator. Also the restaurants were closed for the holidays but there was no warning to anyone booking online. It was cheaper than most in the area but I would likely stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshokNarula, General Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Guest of The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry we did not meet upto your complete satisfaction. Being holiday season time the general profile of guests is leisure with many attending late night parties. The sound levels may sometimes be above normal but mostly its unintentional. We will explore a solution to minimise this disturbance. Thanks again. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Great location in downtown Toronto, the rooms were small in size and clean, but maintenance could be better. I didn't like that we had to pay for WIFI as smaller hotel chains offer this service for free. Excellent customer service, waiting area was nice and bright.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Canada
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Excellent location and within walking distance to many Toronto downtown attractions. The rooms are small but adequate. The bed was just ok and be prepared to walk to parking nearby. Confirm what they are charging for the room for multiple nights. They quoted a rate and raised it for the second night saying the quote they gave me was for the first night only....kind of tacky I thought. Would likely stay again because of the price and location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshokNarula, General Manager at The Strathcona Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Senior Reviewer

Thank you for being our guest during your recent visit to Toronto. We greatly appreciate your feedback. It is entirely our responsibility to ensure that we explain to you the rate changes during the period of your stay. I apologise that we failed to do so. We will provide further training to our associates to overcome this. Thanks once again. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

By "SMALL" I mean the TV was located inside the closet! But it was clean, quiet and was an excellent location for my business needs (right across the street from the Royal York Hotel, and a short walk to Union Station, and the Air Canada Centre). The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had all the amenities I needed -- I did not require WiFi, but I believe it was available for a fee. Don't settle for a high-priced alternative in downtown Toronto, this hotel is perfect for short stays.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 6th floor, and I had a view of an adjacent building. I wasn't there for a vacat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Strathcona Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Strathcona Hotel

Address: 60 York St. | At Wellington St., Toronto, Ontario M5J 1S8, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Strathcona Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Strathcona Hotel Downtown Toronto. Come home to the best location in Downtown Toronto. Imagine all the comforts of home combined with one of the best locations in downtown Toronto and you’ve got The Strathcona Hotel. Stay.Play.Work.Meet.Explore. We can handle it all. And just outside our doors is the best of downtown Toronto. Our downtown Toronto hotel is across the street from the historic Fairmont Royal York Hotel, Union Station / VIA Rail and within two blocks of the Air Canada Centre, Rogers Centre, Metro Toronto Convention Centre, CN Tower, and more located in the midst of the theatre and financial districts. The guest rooms and suite accommodations at The Strathcona Hotel downtown Toronto combine style and substance and have been designed for the contemporary wireless world. We provide easy access to all you need to do by day or night including dining at The York Street Café, dinner and drinks at The Strath Pub, or a workout followed by a massage at the Wellington Fitness Club located right next door. Life here is fresh, functional, friendly, and fun. Sure you can work here, but you’ll do it with a smile. As an independently managed hotel, the good news is that we can break all the rules to do what it takes to make you feel warm, welcome, and worry-free. We get that it’s all about best value for dollar, well-maintained rooms, functional meeting and event space, accommodating staff, and, of course, location, location, location! Come to play. Come to meet. Come to get down to business. We’re more than happy to welcome you home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Strathcona Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strathcona Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Strathcona Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.