We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   108 Chestnut St., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1R3, Canada (Formerly The Metropolitan Hotel) (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #33 of 141 Hotels in Toronto
Halifax, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here recently for 4 nights while on a work trip. I received exceptional customer service at check-in and was treated with a warm cookie. The rooms were spacious and well appointed. The king size bed and sheets were super comfortable - almost like sleeping on a cloud. Loved it! The bathroom had excellent lighting and there were many electrical outlets well positioned throughout the room. The room was equipped with alot of storage space as well. The wi-fi was free and had excellent reception and the flat screen TV with an easy-to-use remote control was a nice feature as well. It is now my favorite hotel to stay at while in Toronto.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    181
    52
    19
    13
See reviews for
45
143
31
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grenoble, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here with my partner for a week , in the beginning of December. Well it's Canada so it wasn't very warm outside :-) the check-in was fast and friendly and both got a hot chocolate chips cookie (nice and tasty touch). Our room was a king size bed (21st floor - HHonors) - very nice view of downtown Toronto. The hotel is VERY well located in the city center (10 minutes walk from the Ontario art gallery- very recommended / 5 minutes walk from the city hall and Eaton center / 15 minutes walk from the CN tower / 2 minutes walk to the nearest subway - St. Patrick) The room was big and had a nice view of the city. Bed was very comfortable and the amenities in the shower included even a gentile facial soap :-) as the hotel is very close to the 'China town' area you can find lots of good Chinese restaurants just near the hotel (we really recommend the one on the corner of chestnut st. and Dundas st. All in all, if you're planning a weekend in Toronto, the doubletree is the hotel you're looking for :-)

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, NJ
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a business conference and fell in love with this hotel! The check in process was simple and the folks at the front desk were incredibly customer service oriented. So polite, so friendly! The room was nice, it was not the biggest room but that's what you should expect in a major city. I enjoyed the conference facilities a lot, the rooms were spacious and the food was excellent. The fitness center was also very nice, had good equipment in great working order.

The highlight of my experience at this hotel occurred when I received a knock at the door from room service - which I had not ordered - and was greeted with a plate of chocolates and a thank you card from the hotel manager! I am a Hilton HHonors member, but my status isn't really that high so I never expect perks like this. It was such a nice welcome!

And how can you resist those cookies?!

I loved this hotel, would highly recommend it to anyone, and would stay here again in a heartbeat if I return to Toronto.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie,
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Very nice hotel and friendly staff. Perfect for a visit to Eaton Centre, Theatres and Rogers Centre. All within walking distance. Room was very comfy and newly appointed. Indoor parking with in and out privileges was $29. Lot next door was $10 per 12 hours on weekends.

Room Tip: Hilton Honors card gets you to the upper floors and of course the delicious chocolate chip cookies o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Great location, close to the bus terminal and the subway. The room was well laid out and the bed was very comfortable. The staff that I dealt with were very pleasant and accommodating with the fact that my bus was a few hours after check-out.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford PEI, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I was extremely early for check in. The lady at check in could not have been more accommodating. Perfect location. Close to business meeting, sporting events, restaurants and theatre. Shopping beyond for those who like that sort of thing;)Ten minute walk to everywhere I had to be! I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here one night on a trip to Canada, and we wish we could have stayed longer. This is a wonderful hotel. The rooms were beautiful, the food was excellent. The staff was friendly, professional and attentive and the hotel is in an excellent location. Food, shopping, transportation and sightseeing were all easily accessible. As others have noted, the warm cookie on arrival was a neat treat. The very best part of the room was the mattress on the bed. We wanted to tie a string around it and have it shipped home! No such luck. I would recommend this Hilton property without hesitation. Loved the place and would not hesitate to go again..

Room Tip: As far as I know, all the rooms are similar. Pick anyplace in the hotel and enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown

Address: 108 Chestnut St., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1R3, Canada (Formerly The Metropolitan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
#32 Business Hotel in Toronto
#33 Family Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown. This full service hotel is located at the heart of the city’s financial, research, entertainment, dining and shopping districts. The hotel has a total of 486 modern contemporary fully renovated guest rooms including 34 suites and luxury suites with windows that open. In room amenities include high speed wireless internet access, in room work desk and voice mail, complimentary newspaper delivered to your room, on command in room movie, music and video games. The hotel boasts two 4 Diamond rated restaurants, namely Hemispheres Restaurant and Bistro and Lai Wah Heen. Additional hotel amenities include indoor pool, a brand new state of the art fitness center and business center. The hotel has 13,000 square feet of event space and is well known in the city for its exceptional and professional catering service for both business and leisure events including weddings. The hotel is walking distance to numerous Fortune 500 Companies, the University of Toronto, several world renowned hospitals including Mount Sinai, The Hospital for Sick Children and Toronto General, Queens Park, the Law Society of Upper Canada, Ontario Art Gallery, CN Tower, Royal Ontario Museum, Mars Center, US Consulate, Canadian Opera Company. Hockey Hall of Fame, Eaton Shopping Center, Rogers Center and Air Canada Center are also easily accessible. The hotel is minutes from Union Station, easily accessible off the Gardiner Expressway, Billy Bishop Toronto Island Airport as well as 40 minutes from Pearson International Airport. As one enters the grand lobby with its cascading staircase, one is immediately welcomed by the gracious staff, ready to offer the exceptional quality service for which the hotel is known. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.