We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and modern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown

Save Saved
You added Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   108 Chestnut St., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1R3, Canada (Formerly The Metropolitan Hotel) (Downtown Toronto)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Fun Package
Ranked #35 of 142 Hotels in Toronto
Buford
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Comfortable and modern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As a business traveler I look for comfort, safety and good internet. This place has it all. The staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms have all the amenities one needs... Hair dryer works very well and lots of power outlets. Bed and pillows are just right. Shower has good pressure. There is even a little fridge. Look forward to coming back.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umesh S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear melwhite10

Thank you so much for posting your review of our hotel and I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the hotel suited all of your needs. We are thrilled that you look forward to coming back and we are excited to have you as our guest again.


Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    118
    33
    14
    13
See reviews for
33
91
18
86
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel was above average, with great views of the CN town and associated buildings. It is a short 15 minute walk to both downtown, and the Younge St. shopping district. Chinatown is right around the corner as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umesh S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Michael T

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to suit your needs. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed in Doubletree Hilton for 4 nights in a leisure trip. First and foremost thing to compliment about the hotel is its perfect location. The whole street of Asian, Western & Fusion food is in 2 minutes walking distance. Another 5 mins walking will take you to Dundas Sqr, Eaton Center, subway, bus station. Almost all tourist attractions & high street are reachable within 10 mins taxi.
The hotel features 27 floors of modern designed accommodation, a built in swimming pool, fully equipped gym. Breakfast and lunch at the hotel restaurant are flavourful and delicious. Compliment snacks, and good quality tea & coffee
Downsides of Doubletree are:
- Small room for 2 people
- Terrible wifi signal, you should rather use your own mobile data
- Bad city view from the window - day or night
- Room service doesn't clean the bathroom everyday

Room Tip: Get the suite with whirlpool, totally worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umesh S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Louis T

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location to be great. We are so close to so many different cultures, restaurants, shopping and just plain fun things to do here in the amazing city of Toronto. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and I hope one day that we can welcome you back again.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The front desk staff was very welcoming! She actually made the stay alot better !! They gave us a complimentary upgrade to a suite that was amazing b.c they just let us know right away , that we have been upgraded and then to top it off we got breakfast !! I loved it !! and cookies at check in ! She was very welcoming and I would go there again!! Our room was great also, huge bed and nice clean washroom! Great place and awesome location , I stayed Aug 23,2014

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umesh S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear Evelina1220

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review and I am so happy that we had the chance to WOW you and that you really enjoyed your stay with us. We love when our team members suprise and delight our guests because it can make such a huge difference in their stay and it certainly seems that you caught our front desk team member at her best. Our Front Office Manager would love it if you remembered the name of the associate that checked you in because he would love to recognize her for a job well done. His email is matt.scriven@hilton.com. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

There are plenty of good things and not very many bad, to say about this hotel.

If you're looking to stay near the downtown core, there are few locations better. Right next to City Hall, essentially, it seemed as if were were a mere five block walk from nearly everything important. Even better, the Dundas Street neighborhood offered a diverse selection of food places, and several neighborhood markets contained additional selections for an extended stay.

The room itself had only two drawbacks. First, it was on the small side; the King sized bed took up nearly the entire room. Second, as with most hotel rooms, the air conditioning ran a bit on the loud side.

The washroom itself was excellent and adequate for persons of both height and size. The tub was a bit dated, and the shower head was very good but hot water limitations were evident.

The staff was friendly if not a bit slow during peak rush times.

The wifi is excellent. I logged in once, there were no drops at all throughout my three night stay.

The complimentary breakfast was adequate to a bit below par as compared to other Doubletree hotels. However, an actual meal from the restaurant/bar is an excellent alternative to going out.

The beds run a bit on the hard side, like most hotel beds do. Navigating one's car through the parking garage is an adventure. If you have a large vehicle, such as a Tahoe/Yukon, be advised this can be a bit difficult. The outside driveway in front of the facility is unmonitored (there is no valet) so if you're stuck in a line behind someone who just up and abandons their care, there isn't anyone to assist.

But don't let those limitations stop you from staying here. It will be my preferred place to stay in Toronto moving forward, and if you're Hilton Honors, it should be yours as well.

Room Tip: If you want a nice view of the city, and don't mind the sunrise, ask for a south facing upper fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umesh S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear cromartie

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of our hotel and I am so pleased that you had a great stay with us and that you will make us your perferred Toronto Hotel. Our location continually gets such positive response from our guests, we are so close to great shopping, restaurants, nightlife, Toronto's sporting venues and so much more. I have shared your comments with my department heads to review with their associates. Our Executive Chef is sorry that you were not thrilled with your breakfast but very happy you enjoyed your other dining selections. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to having you as our guest again.


Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Once you arrive at this hotel, you should know something is off as you see the parking lot crumble around you and the dirt in the hallways should be another indication.

We checked into our room and and found that it was dirty. Foot prints on the bed. Hairs on the toilet and in the tub. Since we are a Hilton member, we asked to be upgraded and was told that he were completely sold out, so I was worried we would be stuck in the room. We called the front desk and we were moved to another room which I thought would solve the problem. Oh no. They didn't even bother checking this room before we were moved into it. We found more hair in the sink of the new bathroom and these were not head hairs, we are talking about body hair. And the room was an upgraded room with a king bed, so it looks like that upgrade was available after all.

We got a call from the apologetic agent say that the manager would be calling us. A few minutes later he did. He starts by calling and saying "How can I help you?". Since he was calling me, it started the conversation off awkwardly. I explain the problem again, since apparently he didn't know what was happening. He apologizes with an indifferent tone and offers to send up a cheese plate or a bottle of wine. The tone of his voice so degrading that I declined and then he asks me what I wanted. You would think that rather than throwing it back onto me, he would come with a solution or genuine caring attitude to deal with me. He did not. We just left things along, obviously I was bothering this manger and was just another annoying guest that he had to deal with. The tone says it all.

Since the rooms here are tiny, it doesn't allow for much space for two people to work. We called the front desk (waiting for 10 rings at least) to ask if they have a laptop board we could us. We were told "No, we have a business centre" and that was the extent of the conversation. No assistance, no options, no care.

During the stay, we would call the front desk and it would ring, ring and ring. It would take 8-10 rings for someone to pick up the telephone. We just stopped trying.

When housekeeping came to actually clean the room, the toilet paper holder fell off the wall. They just left it there for us to deal with.

Then to top it all off, we asked for a late check out and was provided a extra hour. That would of been nice, but since it took us an hour to deal with the mess at check in, I would have assumed that would have been a given in any case.

We did mention this to the lady at check out and she did remove one night's parking. It was a nice afterthought, but doesn't make up for this experience. We will be moving our business from all Hilton brands and would recommend you NEVER stay at this hotel. It is not worth it.

One positive was the restaurant staff which actually seemed like they enjoyed their jobs and cared about their customers. It is like stepping into another world.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umesh S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear sjcan8119

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review of our hotel and it seems as if you did not Catch us at our Best and that we did not meet your expectations. Our Housekeeping Manager would appreciate if you emailed her to discuss some of the challenges that you had and also the room numbers you stayed in so she can look into the issues you had, this is certainly not the standard that she has set and not at all indicative of the job that her team does, her email is isabel.carreiro@hilton.com We never want our guest to leave here not satisfied and we want to do everything we can to Make it Right for our guests, so please contact Isabel and we will take things from there. Negative comments and feedback are very appreciated so that we can look at the areas we need to improve in for our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here August 5-10, our booking was for a standard room but there were none available on our arrival so we were upgraded to a suite for the full 5 nights. The room was fantastic!
The hotel was nice and clean and the staff were all very friendly.
We were a bit worried about booking this hotel as previous reviews were bad (before it was taken over by Hilton) but we can safely say we enjoyed every minute.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Umesh S, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear mcl68

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of our hotel and I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. I am so happy that you tried our hotel based on the reviews that you had read, we have now been a DoubleTree property since New Years and I am so glad that you saw a huge difference between the old Metropolitan days and the hotel now, we have gone through an extensive renovation and we are getting rave reviews now from our guests. Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Thank you,
Umesh Srivastava CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown

Address: 108 Chestnut St., Toronto, Ontario M5G 1R3, Canada (Formerly The Metropolitan Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto > Downtown Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Toronto
#33 Romantic Hotel in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown. This full service hotel is located at the heart of the city’s financial, research, entertainment, dining and shopping districts. The hotel has a total of 486 modern contemporary fully renovated guest rooms including 34 suites and luxury suites with windows that open. In room amenities include high speed wireless internet access, in room work desk and voice mail, complimentary newspaper delivered to your room, on command in room movie, music and video games. The hotel boasts two 4 Diamond rated restaurants, namely Hemispheres Restaurant and Bistro and Lai Wah Heen. Additional hotel amenities include indoor pool, a brand new state of the art fitness center and business center. The hotel has 13,000 square feet of event space and is well known in the city for its exceptional and professional catering service for both business and leisure events including weddings. The hotel is walking distance to numerous Fortune 500 Companies, the University of Toronto, several world renowned hospitals including Mount Sinai, The Hospital for Sick Children and Toronto General, Queens Park, the Law Society of Upper Canada, Ontario Art Gallery, CN Tower, Royal Ontario Museum, Mars Center, US Consulate, Canadian Opera Company. Hockey Hall of Fame, Eaton Shopping Center, Rogers Center and Air Canada Center are also easily accessible. The hotel is minutes from Union Station, easily accessible off the Gardiner Expressway, Billy Bishop Toronto Island Airport as well as 40 minutes from Pearson International Airport. As one enters the grand lobby with its cascading staircase, one is immediately welcomed by the gracious staff, ready to offer the exceptional quality service for which the hotel is known. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookIt.com, Otel, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropolitan Hotel Toronto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Toronto Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.