We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable weekend stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   175 Wynford Drive, Toronto, Ontario M3C 1J3, Canada (Formerly Crowne Plaza)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 142 Hotels in Toronto
Barrie, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“enjoyable weekend stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

upon arrival we were upgraded to a junior suite. rooms were very nice and very clean. nice decorated and complete with a Keurig brewer.
spent some time in the lounge in front of the fireplace and enjoyed our breakfast the next morning which was a full breakfast included with our room price.
Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    113
    84
    47
    45
See reviews for
99
68
24
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, Canada
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I recently took advantage of a special internet offer for a night at the Toronto Don Valley Hotel. I'd read some mixed reviews so decided to take them up on their offer of a 30$ upgrade. The room had been recently renovated and included a docking station and flat screen tv. The bed seemed new and firm. Because it's an older building the walls were a bit thin and any hallway activity was easily overheard. Nice little bar/bistro downstairs that was fairly priced. Affordable pizza delivery to your room was a nice offering. Pool looked great, and though I didn't go in, others said it was warm. Best thing going would be the proximity to the 401. A few minutes after leaving the hotel, you could be rolling down the highway avoiding any of the traffic you'd encounter when staying closer to the city centre.

Room Tip: upgrade your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Lobby - Welcoming and holds true to their motto "urban resort". I feel like they could use some new speakers though... The music creates such an akward radio- music, which really did not suit the decor.

Rooms - We had the basic 2 Double Bed rooms situated on the 2nd floor. I think it was supposed to be a Queen sized bed but it looked more like Double beds. Which was pretty disappointing. The lighting was pretty dim, and the bathroom was really small. Also, the heater/ac switch was basically an on/off thing, but can't control how hot/cold it is... or at least the button/temperature thing was stuck on "wait"... whatever that meant.

Parking - Free for us since it was a part of the deal we got but the parking lot was pretty packed. I would've paid a little bit more if there was underground parking available (not offered)

Indoor Pool - The indoor pool looked so good in pictures and basically what made us want to celebrate new years eve here. But it's a little disappointing once you get there. First of all, we had issues locating the actual pool and you basically have to know that it's that it' a part of the R--something club. Then you get there and there was basically no lighting. Which, I guess is nice to have some dim lighting for the evening, but it's got that dim that's pretty much fine-line creepy.

Breakfast - For $13.95, they had the breakfast buffet from something like 7am-1pm (time may vary, but this was on for new years eve/day. Definitely worth it, the fresh croissants and the unlimited salmon and cottage cheese got me. I wish that they made fresh eggs benedict along with the customized omelettes. --not everyone wants a ham/meat eggs benedict.

Room Tip: If you had the extra $$, try and see if you can get one of the upgraded rooms. I never went but I he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed here with another couple. Very nice inside - décor. Very helpful at front desk. Rooms were nicely decorated, but could tell rooms were a bit dated. Bathtub was old, few things broken off wall in bathroom. Sliding door to balcony didn't work too well. Bed was very comfortable. We got a deal on WagJag (Jaunt) to stay here and also a deal for Toronto Dinner Cruise (please don't spend your money on the cruise!!!)
We had breakfast the next morning in the restaurant - very very expensive $70 for 4 - bacon/eggs!!! Food was not very good - not sure about lunch or dinner, but breakfast was terrible. Parking was included in the deal as well.

Room Tip: ask for balcony if you're a smoker
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ottawa canada
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

I signed up for their frequent stay club for free. This gave me $10 off the already low rate for this booking. Free Internet, free excellent breakfast, free parking. The hotel was clean, beds were comfortable. Location was great. Very near Eglington and don valley parkway. I'll go back.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room away from elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tottenham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I recently attended a course for work in Toronto and it was my great pleasure to stay at the Don Valley Hotel for five nights. The staff are very friendly, the hotel is clean and the food is terrific. My room was very comfortable and quiet.
The pool was wonderful, I had it to myself most of the time. It is kept very clean and at a pleasant temperature. The sauna in the woman's change room was a real bonus.
The bistro was very warm and comfortable. The servers were very friendly and the food was very good. Nothing to complain about here!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. I was on the second floor and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevipor, Manager at Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We would like to personally thank you for making the Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites, your hotel of choice while visiting Toronto and we thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I got a deal online with Groupon to stay at this hotel, obviously I checked the hotel out first and saw it was currently under renos. I hoped I would get a nice new room considering I was staying mid week, nope ended up getting an older one. There wasn't much wrong with the room but it clearly needed updating! Bathtub drain was clogged, the door to the balcony wouldn't fully close allowing outside noise to come in, but at least the bed was comfortable.
Overall I'd probably try out a different hotel next time unless I was offered a newly renovated room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites

Address: 175 Wynford Drive, Toronto, Ontario M3C 1J3, Canada (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 142 Hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto Don Valley Hotel is a spa like resort located near downtown Toronto where guests can relax in comfort. This Toronto resort offers a variety of vacation packages to suit any budget, meeting facilities, wedding venues, and multiple dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Don Valley Hotel And Suites
Toronto Don Valley Hotel North York
Crowne Plaza North York
North York Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.