We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   175 Wynford Drive, Toronto, Ontario M3C 1J3, Canada (Formerly Crowne Plaza)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #82 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Tottenham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I recently attended a course for work in Toronto and it was my great pleasure to stay at the Don Valley Hotel for five nights. The staff are very friendly, the hotel is clean and the food is terrific. My room was very comfortable and quiet.
The pool was wonderful, I had it to myself most of the time. It is kept very clean and at a pleasant temperature. The sauna in the woman's change room was a real bonus.
The bistro was very warm and comfortable. The servers were very friendly and the food was very good. Nothing to complain about here!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. I was on the second floor and it was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kevipor, Manager at Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We would like to personally thank you for making the Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites, your hotel of choice while visiting Toronto and we thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    112
    82
    42
    43
See reviews for
90
62
23
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I got a deal online with Groupon to stay at this hotel, obviously I checked the hotel out first and saw it was currently under renos. I hoped I would get a nice new room considering I was staying mid week, nope ended up getting an older one. There wasn't much wrong with the room but it clearly needed updating! Bathtub drain was clogged, the door to the balcony wouldn't fully close allowing outside noise to come in, but at least the bed was comfortable.
Overall I'd probably try out a different hotel next time unless I was offered a newly renovated room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the Toronto Don Valley Hotel over the November 9-11th weekend. While we were not happy with some aspects of the hotel (the pool could have used a bit more cleaning, as we saw a few bugs in the pool as well as in the pool showers), we were happily surprised with others.

We got a deluxe room, which had been recently renovated and was nicely furnished. The bed mattresses were a bit lopsided (down towards the telephone side, as usual). The bathroom was very clean, and the instant one brew coffee system was a nice touch.

The breakfast buffet was well worth the money, and the staff there was friendly and helpful. The staff at the restaurant during the day could have been a bit friendlier - I sat down with my four year old at one of the tables, and got promptly kicked out as she saw that I pulled out food for her. We could have been asked our intentions, which were initially to order food for me, and have her eat her home-prepared snack due to allergies. Instead, we left.

All in all, good value for the service (we paid $89 plus tax).

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for one of the recently renovated rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel is located a bit outside the city center. Outside the rush hours, the highway is a fast way to get to town (about 15-20 min drive). Also, there is a subway terminal in the area, although I am not sure exactly how close it is to the hotel. We stayed in the non-renovated rooms and we found them to be a little small, outdated (expected), but overall OK and certainly very good value for money. For a nominal surcharge you could get a renovated room with flat screen TV and marble top. Still, the non-renovated ones were comfortable, although it was obvious that the time has come for them to be renovated as well (and I am not tlaking about the carpet only). Parking and breakfast was included in the price, both of which were big pluses. The breakfast was really impressive for this type of hotel. It had everything: from cereal, fruits and chocolate milk for the kids to various types of pastries, fruits, antipasti, omelette bar and Starbucks coffee for the adults. All personnel was excellent. The hotel has an external swimming pool, which operates in the spring/summer. The hotel is also located very close (1.5 mi) to the Science Center with many activities for kids.

Room Tip: If you do not mind the surcharge, ask for the renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I booked this weekend to relax and relaxed I was in this beautiful cozy renovated hotel, first when I got in I told the clerk that I was in Toronto to rest and that I would be in my room a lot so he right away upgraded me without question. I was in a cozy renovated room on the 3rd floor it was modern and continued the color theme of the whole hotel the colors are spas like aqua grays browns and whites even the staff all wore the Aqua tops or ties, I spend the day enjoying the hotel went swimming at a beautiful indoor pool they just don't make them like this anymore. The hot tub jets were not working well but thats ok. After the swim I went for an amazing lunch at the restaurant in the lobby the food was out of this world so tasty and not bad prices. The air in the hotel is fresh and clean everything was perfect, I will be back thats for sure.

Room Tip: Make sure u are in a renovated room. And try the food at the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parry Sound, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

This is a very quiet hotel in a very good location. Easy access for the Don Valley Parkway both North and South. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Though this is not a new hotel. There was an issue with one elevator so we made sure to avoid it, there is a ceiling tile missing from the 5th floor, which looks horrible. The pool is very nice and warm, but the hot tub was not working.
We did ask for joint rooms when booking the hotel but where told at check in they were not available. The first room we were given was too far from the other room so we asked to change, this was done quickly and someone called after it was done to make sure everything was alright. This hotel is not the Ritz but you have to expect to get what you pay for.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in the winter and don't need a balcony go to the fifth floor. It is quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

I never write hotel reviews but this was the absolute worst experience I've ever had staying at a hotel.

Upon check in, we were greeted to a friendly receptionist. The lobby was exactly shown on the Expedia site. The room which was on the 4th floor was NOT what I imagined. It was a non-smoking room but it REEKED of cigarettes and there was noticeable dirt stains on the floor. I was disappointed but would have remained in the room had it not been for the 'kinder surprises' I found in the toilet. Clearly, the room was not given a thorough cleaning. I immediately requested a new room. Rishi, the onsite supervisor, was very sympathetic and immediately provided me with a room upgrade on the 6th executive floor. The room was definitely an upgrade. However, the people next door were very loud and appeared to be arguing. We heard things being thrown around, and thuds against the walls. The loud group continued their arguing in the hallway where they smoked and threw garbage everywhere. We were frightened to ask them to quiet down -- so, we called the front desk downstairs. Front desk went up to inspect immediately and even came to our door to apologize. But the loud fighting continued throughout the night. It was a sleep-less night.

I was very disappointed by our stay. The only saving grace was Rishi and the other receptionist. But the quality of the hotel was definitely shoddy and the cleanliness is left to be desired.

Bottom line: stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites

Address: 175 Wynford Drive, Toronto, Ontario M3C 1J3, Canada (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Location: Canada > Ontario > Toronto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 141 hotels in Toronto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Toronto Don Valley Hotel is a spa like resort located near downtown Toronto where guests can relax in comfort. This Toronto resort offers a variety of vacation packages to suit any budget, meeting facilities, wedding venues, and multiple dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toronto Don Valley Hotel North York
Toronto Don Valley Hotel And Suites
Crowne Plaza North York
North York Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toronto Don Valley Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.